NYS Library Blog

You may have heard that the Division of Library Development, working in partnership with New York’s 72 library systems, brings cost-effective, modern library services to the millions of people who use the state’s 7,000 academic, public, school, and special libraries.  

Librarians, trustees, public officials, and community leaders depend on the Division of Library Development to help find new ways of making library services and resources available to people of all ages. But do you know what DLD is up to each day in support of this mission?

Check out the programs below for announcements, trainings, and other resources from Division of Library Development staff.  

Literacy at New York Libraries 

At the New York State Library, our team is committed to ensuring every New Yorker has access to literacy services to become proficient readers, writers, and communicators. Libraries provide critical access to reading materials, inclusive learning environments, and accessible technology to develop individuals’ literacy skills and help New York’s communities thrive.

Learning to read is a skill that parents and caregivers start to teach children beginning at birth. While public libraries provide literacy programs, reading materials, and comfortable spaces to support parents and caregivers, the NYS Library bolsters these efforts through the research-based training and collaboration through the Ready to Read at New York Libraries program. For older patrons, the Transforming Teen Services program focuses on supporting library staff working with and for teens to better understand their emotional and social development and understand how connected learning and computational thinking can work together.

In the summer months, public libraries work to foster a love of reading through programs and services geared for all readers. With the training, resources, and partnerships that make up Summer Reading at New York Libraries, libraries can help increase successful reading experiences. All year round, the NYS Library seeks to support all libraries in their efforts to increase Digital Equity and inclusion in their libraries. 

State Aid for Library Construction 

Any public or association library or public library system chartered by the Regents of the State of New York or established by an act of the New York State Legislature is eligible to apply for State Aid for Library Construction to cover approved costs for the acquisition, construction, renovation, or rehabilitation of public libraries or public library system headquarters, as well as broadband infrastructure projects.

On the State Aid for Library Construction website, libraries can explore construction project guidelines and begin the process of preparing an application for a project.  

State Aid for Library Construction funds help ensure that library buildings are accessible, sustainable, and state-of-the-art, connected to the community and the world beyond! Looking for some data? Check out previously funded projects or explore the projected construction needs for libraries across New York State on the Allocations, Projects, and Program Data page. 

Funding for Libraries in NYS 

In addition to providing statewide leadership and advisory services, Division of Library Development staff administer over $100 million in State and Federal aid for library services and programs.

State Aid programs such as Services to State Correctional Facility Libraries and County Jails, Coordinated Collection Development for Academic Libraries, and the NYS Program for the Conservation and Preservation of Library Research Materials help libraries meet the needs of all New Yorkers by supporting essential library system activities.  

Federal aid initiatives such as E-Rate and the Federal Library Services and Technology Act program provide funding assistance to local libraries for the enhancement of modern, quality library services across the state. 

NOVELny

NOVELny is an online library available to every New Yorker, free of charge. It includes full text of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books.

Any New Yorker can get started with searching the databases, no login required! For library staff, NOVELny provides technical support through the NOVELny Help Desk, and makes a robust Marketing Toolkit available to help libraries get the word out about NOVELny! 

4/9/2025: Update

On Friday, March 14, the White House issued an Executive Order aimed at "Continuing the Reduction of the Federal Bureaucracy," which affects the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). Due to the uncertainty caused by this Executive Order, the State Library must delay the NYSL Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) Competitive Grant Program which we announced on March 7.

We are closely monitoring the situation. Additional updates will be provided if there are status changes. 

March 7, 2025: Announcement

The New York State Library (NYSL) is developing a new grant program with the intent of improving the capacity of library systems and public and association libraries to offer services and information resources in their communities in the areas of outreach and community engagement; best practices in literacy; and social wellbeing and improving the lives of New Yorkers. Project components may include outreach, programming, consultations from outside experts, and the purchase of supplies and technology which support a larger library initiative.

Funds will be available to library systems and public and association libraries chartered by the Regents. Library systems include public library systems, reference and research library resources systems, and school library systems. The minimum grant award is $5,000 and the maximum grant award is $20,000. No financial match is required.

The grant application will be released soon.

Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) requirement for all applicants

In order to receive federal funds through this grant program, a library or system must have a Unique Entity Identifier (UEI). Libraries or systems that intend to receive federal grant subawards through this program should go to SAM.gov to obtain a UEI if they do not already have one. Applicants can request a UEI through SAM.gov without needing to complete a full entity registration process for the purposes of receiving an LSTA grant subaward.

Prequalification requirement for non-profit organizations

New York State has implemented a statewide prequalification requirement for not-for-profit organizations applying for grants. This applies to all association libraries and library systems that are registered as not-for-profits. To become prequalified, a nonprofit must register with the Statewide Financial System (SFS) and complete an online prequalification application. Find more information about the prequalification process.

The SFS prequalification registration process requests information about an organization’s capacity, legal compliance, and integrity. This process may take up to a few weeks to complete. Begin the prequalification registration process immediately if you are considering applying for an LSTA Grant. Detailed information is available on the Grants Management website.

A very well-known and popular program of the Division of Library Development is State Aid for Library Construction. Funding for this program comes through the New York State annual budget and provides much needed funding for public and association libraries and public library systems across the state. In FY2024-2025, funding was appropriated for $44 million, an increase of $10 million over the prior fiscal year. A needs assessment conducted by DLD collected data from libraries across the state and indicates an additional $1.75 billion in essential library construction costs for 2023-2027.

Review of the FY2024-2025 projects is continuing, and we hope to have the projects sent to DASNY for review in March. As part of regular communications with the field, Program Manager Natalie McDonough has begun regularly scheduled meetings to discuss questions, updates, and suggestions from our partners in New York’s 23 public library systems. Response to these meetings has been very positive and system contacts have expressed appreciation for this new opportunity to collaborate. 

Smokey Bear

Throughout 2024, New York State partnered with the Collaborative Summer Library Program and the USDA/Forest Service to promote and support the Smokey Bear Reading Challenge in libraries across the state and the country. A survey offered in fall 2024 was responded to by 134 libraries. These public libraries indicated that during the summer and fall of 2024 over 6,000 people engaged with the challenge at their libraries. Libraries used the free materials, resources, and reading lists made available through this partnership with the USDA/Forest Service and CSLP in many different events and learning activities for all ages. Libraries found creative ways to promote the challenge and raise awareness and appreciation of nature and outdoor activities as well as fire safety and prevention.  

Youth Services Basics Course

A new and comprehensive Youth Services Basics online course will be available soon on the NYS Library’s Moodle platform. This course is appropriate for public library staff who are brand new to Youth Services or for staff who are looking for a refresher in specific areas. There are four different sections in the online course, and staff will have an opportunity to complete selected modules or take the entire course at their own pace. Staff will be able to earn a certificate of completion that can be used towards professional development hours by taking a short quiz and completing a brief survey after each section. The course is designed so that it can be updated as needed and appropriate content can be included or changed.  

Additional Opportunities

Update on training and professional development opportunities for public libraries: the State Library is coordinating a Transforming Teen Services in-person workshop training to occur April 15 at Mid York Library System – attendees will learn about Connected Learning and ways to reach underserved teens in their communities. A 5-week session of Supercharged Storytimes for All early literacy training will be held online this spring, for public library staff working with young children and their families.  An early literacy statewide webinar on sensory storytimes is being planned for April 2025.  

On February 11, the NYS Library will host a statewide webinar on the Erie Canal bicentennial taking place in 2025. This webinar is intended to help libraries with program planning at their libraries and in their communities and will share information on Erie Canal resources to engage youth and families to learn more about this important transportation route in American history. Full details and a link to register can be found on the NYS Library Calendar of Events.  

The NYS Program for the Conservation and Preservation of Library Research Materials grant program funds the preservation of library materials in collections across New York State. Museums, libraries, historical societies, zoos, and other not-for-profit organizations that have research materials are eligible for funding. Types and formats that are eligible are bound books, archives, photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and audio and moving images.  

Applications are due March 31, 2025, for the 2025-2026 grant year. 

Some important updates regarding wi-fi hotspots, cybersecurity pilot program participants, and Supreme Court decisions affecting New Yorkers, in particular:

Wi-Fi Hotspots Initial Interest and Potential Threats for FY2025 

Early data coming in shows a strong initial interest in wi-fi hotspots and/or hotspot services. Over 700 applicants (including 34 from New York) were received. You can read more at Funds for Learning's website.

E-Rate Central's Win Hemsworth covers the potential threats to E-Rate eligibility in the E-Rate Central Newsletter. 

FCC Cybersecurity Pilot Participants Selected

In January, the FCC released their selection of 707 participants in the Cybersecurity Pilot Program. Of the 707, 62 are from New York. Read the FCC's Public Notice.

New York's Affordable Broadband Act in Effect

The U.S. Supreme Court declined to hear the case against NY State's Affordable Broadband Program, which means it has become effective as of January 15th by action of the NYS Public Service Commission. The new law requires internet service providers to provide access to monthly broadband rates of 25mbps for $15 or 200mbps for $20 to qualifying households. 

Please contact Christine Filippelli, State E-Rate Coordinator for Libraries (christine.filippelli@nysed.gov) with any questions.