News and Announcements

Don't miss the Egg's OPEN House a free (RSVP), all-ages hangout with games, movies (including the 1995 version of Jumanji starring Robin Williams), and music on Saturday, June 21 from 2PM–6PM. 

The urge to play games is not restricted to any particular time or place. Board games were played in Ancient Egypt and playing cards appeared in 9th century China. Edmond Hoyle began by tutoring British high society in card games but went on to codify the rules and write manuals. His treatises on various games were collected in 1748, making his name synonymous with playing by the rules. The edition of Hoyle included in this Mini bibliography covers more than two hundred fifty games.

Today games have a variety of purposes. Some are designed to entertain children. Others are amusements to be played at home, alone or with friends and family. Some people play games in a tournament circuit. This Mini bibliography includes manuals for those who want to play friendly games and accounts of professional players for people who want to participate vicariously in high-stakes tournaments.

Books About Games!

We’ve put together a list of books about games to whet your appetite before this event.

• Jumanji, DB050700 and BR005317, by Chris Van Allsburg. Left on their own for an afternoon, two bored and restless children find more excitement than they bargained for in a mysterious and thrilling jungle adventure board game. For grades K-3. Caldecott Medal. 1981.
• Zathura: A Space Adventure, DB055280, by Chris Van Allsburg. While their parents are out for the evening, Walter and his brother, Danny, find a second board game in the Jumanji (DB050700 and BR005317) box. This one forces the boys to stop quarreling and work together to survive dangers from spaceships and alien life forms. For grades K-3. 2002.
• Wreck-it Ralph, DB093618, adapted by Irene Trimble. When Ralph, a video game villain, finally gets his chance to be a good guy, he discovers that being the hero isn't as easy as it looks. Soon the entire video game world is at stake! Adapted from the Walt Disney Animation Studios film. For grades 2-4. 2012.

General

• Hoyle’s Rules of Games: Descriptions of Indoor Games of Skill and Chance, with Advice on Skillful Play; Based on the Foundations Laid Down, DB053859 and BR014229, by Edmond Hoyle, 1672–1769 edited by Albert H. Morehead and Geoffrey Mott-Smith. Revised and updated guide to rules, strategies, and odds for more than two hundred fifty games. Card games include bridge, cribbage, pinochle, poker, and solitaire—and their variations. Also contains instructions for backgammon, dominoes, Scrabble, children’s games, and some computer games. 2001.
• Your Move: What board games teach us about life, DB102133, by Joan Moriarity and Jonathan Kay. Two avid gamers look at the resurgence of non-digital tabletop gaming in recent years. They notice that games often reflect the concerns and values of the society in which they were created. Examples explored include popular family board games as well as more complicated strategy games. Some strong language. 2019. 
• Seven Games: A human history, DB107948, by Oliver Roeder. Checkers, backgammon, chess, Go. Poker, Scrabble, and bridge. These seven games, ancient and modern, fascinate millions of people worldwide. The author charts their origins and historical importance, the delightful arcana of their rules, and the ways their designs make them pleasurable. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. 2022.

General—Children

• The Out-of-Sync Child Has Fun: Activities for Kids with Sensory Processing Disorder, DB075803, by Carol Stock Kranowitz. In this companion to The Out-of-Sync Child (DB75079), the author presents activities such as Touch Pantry, Paw Prints, and Tapping Tunes for kids with Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD). Groups games by touch, balance, body position, sight, hearing, and smell. Lists materials, preparation, and directions for each. 2003.
• Card Games, DB016642, by John Belton. Step-by-step directions explain the rules and strategy of nine card games including Speed, Fan Tan, Crazy Eights, Kings in the Corner, and Rummy. For grades 4-7 and older readers. 1976.
• The Ultimate Indoor Games Book: The 200 Best Boredom Busters Ever! DB061944, by Veronika Alice Gunter. Games to play by yourself or with others. Some require ordinary household objects—paper and pencil, a deck of cards, marbles, coins, dice, balls, or pillows. Others, such as brainteasers, races, or physical activities, require no equipment at all. For grades 3 - 6. 2005.
• Let’s Clap, Jump, Sing, & Shout; Dance, Spin, and Turn It Out! Games, Songs and Stories from an African American Childhood, DB087070, by Pat McKissack. Treasury of African American children’s games, songs, poetry, stories, and jump-rope rhymes. Discusses the coded language in the songs of the Underground Railroad, and the superstitions and fables that served to keep children from harm. For grades K - 3 and older readers. 2017.
• Play with Us: 100 Games from around the World, DB062766, by Oriol Ripoll. Covers a broad variety of indoor and outdoor activities, from board games to chases. Includes the number of players and materials required, rules, and step-by-step instructions for each game. Also provides the game’s country of origin and cultural variations. For grades 3 - 6. 2002. 
• Games (and How to Play Them), DB016494, by Anne F. Rockwell. Instructions for 43 games for all kinds of occasions and all kinds of children—noisy games, quiet games, team games, traveling games, outdoors games, and rainy-day games. For grades 1 - 4. 1973.

Backgammon

• Backgammon: The Quick Course to Winning Play, BR002614, by Don Stern. An introduction to the game known originally as the King of Games. Explains the theory, strategy, and psychology of the game. Includes raised line drawings. 1973.

Bridge

• The Fundamentals of Contract Bridge, DB025243, by Charles Henry Goren. A recognized bridge authority offers a simplified and condensed instruction manual, including his famous quizzes. 1950. 
• The Art of Card Reading at Bridge, BR002323, by Fred L. Karpin. Concentrates on counting out a hand, or card reading, and consists of drawing correct inferences from the bidding, the fall of the cards, or both, and the nature of an opponent’s high card holding or distribution. 1973. 
• The Backwash Squeeze & Other Improbable Feats: A Newcomer’s Journey into the World of Bridge, DB066133, by Edward McPherson. Author’s homage to the card game he describes as one of “deep complexity and infinite mystery.” McPherson discusses bridge’s history and development, famous players, and the gaming circuit as he recounts his personal efforts to learn its intricacies before competing in a national tournament. Provides a brief tutorial. 2007. 
• The Bridge Bum: My Life and Play, DB015263, by Alan Sontag. Account of a successful professional bridge player. Includes stories about the great masters, Sontag’s own most fascinating hands, cheating and hustling and the game itself. 1977. 
• Bridge for People Who Don’t Know One Card from Another, BR001627, by Ray Young. Easy-to-follow instructions for the beginning bridge player. 1964.

Checkers

• Play Winning Checkers: Official American Mensa Game Book, BR012569, by Robert W. Pike. Explains the basic rules and moves in the multigenerational, interactive game of checkers. Intended for beginners and experienced players who want to improve their performance. Provides guidance for conducting tournaments. Also offers variations on the standard American game. For junior and senior high and older readers. 1999.

Chess

• Logical Chess, Move by Move, DB021110, by Irving Chernev. Move by move analysis of thirty-three great chess games that illustrate the basic concepts of good chess play. The emphasis is on positional play from which winning opportunities and decisive combinations are derived. 1957. Bobby Fischer Goes to War: How the Soviets Lost the Most Extraordinary Chess Match of All Time, DB058717, by David Edmonds.
• Authors of Wittgenstein’s Poker (DB55828) chronicle the 1972 chess contest between the Soviet world champion Boris Spassky and twenty-nine-year-old American upstart Bobby Fischer. Presents the match not simply as a game but also as a clash of Cold War political ideologies. 2004. 
• Chess for Beginners: Know the Rules, Choose Your Strategy, and Start Winning, DB093603, by Yelizaveta Orlova. A nationally ranked chess player presents a guide for those new to the game. Includes an overview of the board, pieces, and rules, along with basic strategies and tactics that allow a player to control the board, think multiple moves ahead, and achieve checkmate. 2018. 
• The Immortal Game: A History of Chess or How 32 Carved Pieces on a Board Illuminated Our Understanding of War, Art, Science, and the Human Brain, BR017706, by David Shenk. Journalist explores the fifteen-hundred-year history of chess from antiquity and the Middle Ages to modern Western culture. Discusses influence on military strategy, mathematics, and the arts. Provides move-by-move analyses of six famous matches including the 1851 contest between Anderssen and Kieseritzky that is dubbed the “immortal game.” Explains rules. 2006. 
• Searching for Bobby Fischer: The World of Chess, Observed by the Father of a Child Prodigy, DB028575, by Fred Waitzkin. Despite its title, this is not a book on Bobby Fischer. Instead, it is the story of child prodigy Josh Waitzkin, who at age seven was playing tournament chess. The story reveals not only the relationship of father and son, but also the world of chess clubs, impoverished chess wizards who sleep on park benches, and the compulsive players who fight constant battles against financial ruin. 1988. 
• The Road to Chess Improvement, BR014284, by Alex Yermolinsky. Champion player and coach offers advice and strategy tips by analyzing actual games. Discusses a variety of opening set-ups, trend-breaking tools, the value of exchanges, and computer chess. Revisits classic games and instructions. 1999.

Chess—Children

• Opening Moves: Michael Thaler, the Making of a Very Young Chess Champion, BR013379, by Barry Berg. Describes kindergartner Michael Thaler’s rise to the national chess championship for his age group. Recalls how he developed his talent and learned to handle winning and losing. Views lessons gained from playing, recaps decisive moves in several tournaments. For grades 3–6. 2000. 
• The Story of Chess, DB049244, by Horacio Cardo. Long ago a man named Sissa devises a game in tribute to a war. Beginning with the squares on the board and the king as the key figure, Sissa explains the basic movements of each chess piece and the overall strategy of the game. For grades 3–6 and older readers. 1998. 
• Chess: From First Moves to Checkmate, BR13828, by Daniel King. Introduces chess basics. Explains how to set up the board, move individual pieces, place an opponent in check, and secure a checkmate. Discusses the shapes of the pieces, history, rules, and strategies of the game. Describes some of the great players and matches. For grades 4–7 and older readers. 2000.
• Winning Chess: Tactics & Strategies, DB052571, by Ted Nottingham. Presents tactics and techniques for playing this ancient board game. Discusses openings, middlegame and endgame strategies, forks, pins, skewers, and examples from the games of world champions. For grades 5–8 and older readers. 1999.

Cribbage

• All about Cribbage, BR001911, by Douglas Anderson. A brief history on the origin of cribbage, along with a description of the cribbage board and three, four, and five card games. A basic work that includes scoring, penalties, and probabilities that may occur. 1971.

Dominoes

• Dominoes around the World, BR011785, by Mary D. Lankford. Explains the basic rules of dominoes and describes how the game is played in Cuba, France, Malta, the Netherlands, Spain, Ukraine, the United States, and Vietnam. Also includes rules for playing solitaire dominoes. For grades 3–6. 1998.

Dungeons and Dragons

• Dungeon Master’s Guide: Dungeons & Dragons, DB091839. One of the core rule books for Dungeons and Dragons game play for both new and experienced Dungeon Masters. Contains world-building tools, tips, and tricks for creating memorable dungeons and adventures, optional game rules, hundreds of classic D&D magic items, and more. 2014. 
• Player’s Handbook: Dungeons & Dragons, DB091838. Essential reference guide for fans of Dungeons and Dragons role-playing games. Contains rules for creating and equipping characters, exploration, combat, spellcasting, and more. 2014. 
• Monster Manual: Dungeons & Dragons, DB091840. One of the core rule books for Dungeons and Dragons, this volume presents a wide range of monsters culled from the history of the game. Each entry contains a description of the monster and easy-to-use statistics for game play. 2014. 
• The Elfish Gene: Dungeons, Dragons and Growing Up Strange, DB069284, by Mark Barrowcliffe. Comedian and journalist looks back on his adolescent obsession with the role-playing game Dungeons and Dragons. Discusses the effects of gaming on his social life and the compulsion to prove he was smarter than the next nerd. Also describes his struggle to overcome addiction to playing the game. 2008. 
• Fantasy Freaks and Gaming Geeks: An Epic Quest for Reality among Role Players, Online Gamers, and Other Dwellers of Imaginary Realms, DB71358, by Ethan Gilsdorf. Former Dungeons and Dragons addict explains the allure and popularity of role-playing games through youth into adulthood. Describes his findings from his global interviewing quest of gamers, fantasy fans, scholars, conventioneers, and others. 2009. 

Dungeons and Dragons—Children

• Dungeons & Tombs: Dungeons & Dragons, DB98488, by Jim Zub. Guide to six lethal lairs role-players encounter in the world of Dungeons & Dragons, and the dangerous beasts that live within. Includes instructions on how to build your own dungeon. For grades 4–7 and older readers. 2019. 
• Monsters & Creatures: Dungeons & Dragons, DB098259, by Jim Zub. Guide to the creatures role-players encounter in the world of Dungeons & Dragons. Grouped by locations, each beast profile includes a description of their traits, lair, special powers, and level of danger. For grades 4–7 and older readers. 2019. 

Monopoly

• The Monopoly Book: Strategy and Tactics of the World’s Most Popular Game, DB009753, by Maxine Brady. Traces the history of the game, its impact on the game-playing public, and explores many of the madcap marathons that have taken place. Includes clarifications and explanations of official rules. 1974.
• The Monopolists: Obsession, fury, and the scandal behind the world's favorite board game, DB081188, by Mary Pilon. The surprising origins and politics of the popular board game Monopoly. While the invention is claimed by Charles Darrow, who sold it to Parker Brothers in 1935, the game can be traced to a progressive feminist named Lizzie Magie who created her version thirty years earlier. 2015.

Poker

• Poker Strategy: Winning with Game Theory, DB017895, by Nesmith C. Ankeny. A mathematician shows how to win at draw poker by understanding and applying the probabilities and the tool of game theory. Offers practical rules for the draw, the bet, and the bluff. 1981. 
• Molly’s Game: From Hollywood’s Elite to Wall Street’s Billionaire Boy’s Club, My High-Stakes Adventure in the World of Underground Poker, DB93083 and DB93363 (Spanish language), by Molly Bloom. A high-stakes poker player recounts how she came to run the most exclusive underground poker games in the world, hosting celebrities, moguls, and millionaires. She enjoyed the finest luxuries, until it all came crashing down. Basis for the 2017 movie. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. 2014. 
• The Professor, the Banker, and the Suicide King: Inside the Richest Poker Game of All Time, DB061937, by Michael Craig. Author of The Fifty Best (and Worst) Business Deals of All Time (DB53243) chronicles a three-year poker game, begun at the Bellagio casino in Las Vegas, which had more than fifteen million dollars on the table. Depicts some of the world’s greatest poker players, including banker Andrew Beal. 2005. 
• Big Deal: A Year as a Professional Poker Player, DB033791, by Anthony Holden. A British biographer, obsessed with his weekly poker game, decides to take a stab at professional poker. Starting in Las Vegas, he spends a year playing with Johnny Moss and other major players on the worldwide pro circuit. He describes the thrill of the game and the characters on the circuit and delves into poker history and philosophy. Some strong language. 1990. 
• Poker Night: Winning at Home, at the Casino and Beyond, DB061797, by John Vorhaus. A renowned poker strategist and commentator offers a guide to all aspects of home poker: hosting a party, understanding variations of the game, recruiting players, establishing house rules, and setting betting limits. Explains what beats what; basic games such as stud, Omaha, and Texas hold’em; and playing in casinos. 2004.
• The Noble Hustle: Poker, Beef Jerky & Death, DB079473, by Colson Whitehead. Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Nickel Boys (DB095925 and BR022817) chronicles his 2011 assignment from ESPN’s blog Grantland to experience the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas. Colson reports on studying Texas Hold’em and undergoing personal training for sitting in twelve-hour stretches and observes the differences between gambling in Atlantic City and Las Vegas. Strong language. 2014.

Puzzles

• Conundrum, BR magazine code COU. Crossword and logic puzzles, anagrams, word searches and general knowledge quizzes. 
• The Puzzlemaster Presents 200 Mind-Bending Challenges, DB049284, by Will Shortz. Audio puzzles from National Public Radio’s Weekend Edition Sunday. Includes word games that take some thought. For example, “change one letter in each word to name a color” and “every answer in this puzzle is a word or name that ends in the letters que.” 1996.
• Sudoku Easy to Hard: 100 Wordless Crossword Puzzles, BR016796, by Will Shortz. Provides four levels—easy, moderate, demanding, and challenging—of the popular logic-driven, wordless crossword puzzles. Explains the objective, which is to fill in the grid with numbers so that every row, every column, and every box contains the digits one to nine, without repeating. Includes instructions and solutions. 2005.

Scrabble

• Everything Scrabble, DB055326, by Joe Edley and John D. Williams, Jr. A national Scrabble champion and the executive director of the National Scrabble Association present information to increase skill in every aspect of the game. Includes basic board strategies; use of letters J, Q, X, and Z; seven-letter plays; bonus squares; and secrets to getting better tiles. 2001. 
• Word Freak: Heartbreak, Triumph, Genius, and Obsession in the World of Competitive Scrabble Players, DB54488, by Stefan Fatsis. As he progresses from living-room Scrabble player to expert, the author examines the subculture of people devoted to championship tournament play. Discusses the game’s history, its international variants, and its controversial elements. Some strong language. 2001.
• Word Nerd: Dispatches from the Games, Grammar, and Geek Underground, DB82637, by John D. Williams. The former executive director of the National SCRABBLE Association recounts stories from his years among the hard-core players of the game. Includes chapters on the official SCRABBLE dictionary (both how new words make it in and controversies over “bad” words) and the world of competitive tournaments. Strong language. 2015.

Join us on a fun and colorful Summer Reading Program journey from June 16 to August 15, 2025! Throughout the summer, the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled will host storytelling, activities, music, author events, and more! 

The program begins on June 16 with a virtual event for all ages. Events will be held online, and every program is open to all! Please visit the NLS Summer Reading 2025 Program to register for each event or contact the Talking Book and Braille Library for more information. Looking for some related reading lists? Check out our Summer Reading book lists with age appropriate titles for kids and adults. 

NLS Programs

The following four programs are provided by the NLS and require pre-registration. 

NLS Summer Reading Kickoff (all ages)

Monday, June 16 at 1:00 PM

Hear picture book author Mac Barnett read his book “Extra Yarn” (DB127239)." This year’s theme is “Color Our World”—and in addition to this amazing storyteller, we will have more information on how you can join us all summer long. Get ready to dive into summer reading and color our world with books!

NLS Event: Master Gardener Program with Roger Erpelding

Monday, June 23 at 4:00 PM

Master Gardener Roger Erpelding, a patron of the Iowa Library for the Blind and Print Disabled, provides tips and tricks for sighted and blind gardeners alike.

NLS Event: Storytelling with Donna Washington

Thursday, June 26 at 4:00 PM

This one’s for the kids—or kids at heart. Donna Washington will lead an inclusive storytelling hour for children, engaging with participants in a fun and accessible way. Kids will find fun and inspiration in this hour of creativity and be encouraged to color their world with summer reading. 

NLS Event: Master Chef and author Christine Ha

Monday, July 14 at 7:00 PM

When Christine Ha won the third season of MasterChef, she was the first blind contestant on the show! Join us for a night of conversation about cooking, reading, and everything in between. Christine will tell us her story and maybe even share a recipe or two. Check out her books “Recipes from My Home Kitchen: Asian and American Comfort Food from the Winner of MasterChef Season 3 (DB76676)” in audio and “Recipes from My Home (BR20085)” in braille. 

NLS Event: Musician Jono Manson

Thursday, July 24 at 7:00 PM

Color your world with music! Jono Manson has been playing his brand of music for decades, collaborating and touring with some of the biggest names in the business. Join us for a lighthearted interview that captures some of Jono’s stories and memories, as well as what he’s got planned for his next project.

Take a virtual tour of the Library of Congress

Here’s one highlight from the 2024 Summer Reading Program that you can still enjoy: a virtual tour of the historic Thomas Jefferson Building at the Library of Congress! The Thomas Jefferson Building is the oldest and grandest of the three buildings that make up the Library of Congress campus on Capitol Hill. You can discover artwork and architecture that connect to knowledge and creativity, past and present, through our audio tour of this magnificent building. If you’re an NLS patron with BARD, you can download this Audio Described Tour of the Thomas Jefferson Building at the Library of Congress (DB121189), or you can request a digital cartridge from your local NLS library. 

June 1-7 is Pet Appreciation week. To celebrate, the staff at the NYS Talking Book and Braille Library would like to introduce our beloved furry (and otherwise) babies to you. Below you will find stories each of us wrote describing our cats, dogs, and other pets. Enjoy!

The stories of My Crazy Pets: Denise

One of my fellow readers’ services ladies calls me Dr. Dolittle because I have so many animals, and I even talk to them like the famous vet.
I used to read books to my chickens.
Below is a description of my zoo.

Old Man Sam (orange cat) loves to chase mice and bring them to you. He is always playing with the dogs. He likes cuddles and being held like a baby. In the picture, he is sitting in front of me while I am working from home. He likes to hear about all the books TBBL patrons' request.

Gracie May (big brown dog). She is my grand pup. She loves to play with toys that squeak.  And loves to play with Old Man Sam. She also loves going outside and playing in the yard with Pepper and Royal.

Royal (white and brown dog). He is also a grand pup. He is a big pitapotamus.  He loves to cuddle and lie around sleeping all day and night. If he is not sleeping, he is playing with his cousin Gracie May.

Pepper (big black Dog). She was dropped on the streets of Troy. We adopted her, and now she is a big, spoiled pup. She loves Pumpkin and playing with Gracie and Royal.

Pumpkin (small brown dog). She is the ruler of the house. She is always keeping an eye on Dad. She lets him know when he needs to stop doing what he is doing and sit down. She will even get one of the humans to help Dad when she needs an extra hand.

Flash Man (bearded dragon). He is so much fun. He likes to splash the water in his cage. He likes to come out and cuddle with Mom under the blanket. He even likes to play with Pepper.

Joker (snake). He is my grand snake. He loves to cuddle with you and snuggle in the pocket of your hoodie. When I work from home, he likes to help. In the picture, that is what he is doing: helping me work from home. He thinks TBBL is awesome.

Chronicles of Jasmine: Jamie  

Spring is Jasmine’s favorite time of year; she sits in the early morning sun and watches the birds on our patio. Jasmine does get in our kitchen sink, but it is usually to lap water out of the dirty dishes. Jasmine is the elderly cat that doesn’t eat much and has always had stomach problems. Luckily, she is on some medicine that helps, and she is eating more and gaining some much-needed weight. Last August she was so sick that she only weighed five pounds.

Ginny, our Beloved Princess of Mayhem, and Mischief: Quinn

Ginny is a solidly black cat. She was adopted when she was six months old and, though she has doubled in weight, she is still small. Ginny likes to steal my husband’s seat as soon as he stands up, prefers human food to dry kibble, and has mastered the art of reading braille by sitting on the book.

Memories of Pets Past: Gabby

I do not currently have any pets. Over the course of my lifetime, I have had 4 different cats, 3 guinea pigs, goldfish, and tropical fish.  When I first moved into the apartment complex where I am now, they had a strict “no pets” policy. I wasn’t even allowed to have goldfish, so I had to give them away! After a lot of complaints from people, my landlord finally loosened the restrictions and now allows cats and small dogs (and probably fish and guinea pigs too).  However, there is a monthly fee to have pets and a yearly charge. That is the main reason I haven’t gotten a pet yet.  If I ever move to a house, I will probably get a cat.

One funny thing that my last cat that I had named “Kitty” did was to play fetch like a dog. I would crumple up a piece of aluminum foil into a ball and throw it and she would bring it back to me, carrying it in her mouth!

Dolly and Max: Kim S.

This is Dolly Dearest. In the picture, she is lying on me, looking right into the camera. Dolly is a tawny tiger with green-gold eyes. She was rescued as a stray in a trailer park and gave birth to a healthy litter a few days after rescue. She's very vocal (I recorded her meowing and use it as a ring tone) and a snuggle bug who likes to walk on a leash in a harness.

Max is a medium-orange tiger. In the photo he is snuggled tight against my chest, his eyes closed. Max was rescued when my downstairs neighbors moved out without telling anyone and left him in the apartment.   We saw him in the front window and called our repairperson. When he isn’t stampeding around like a typical orange maniac, he's a snuggle bunny who likes to play games with me by stealing the pieces.

Princess and Lady: Laurenne

I have 2 pets that were both adopted from shelters.  My cat, Princess, is a pretty calico who is a bit shy, but has a nice loud purr.  She loves to catch bugs and mice.  Her favorite activity is eating and talking to the birds outside.  She makes a funny twittering trilling sound and hits the window with her paws trying to get the birds.  

My dog, Lady, is a Norwegian Elkhound and loves to jump up and give a full body hug while standing on her hind legs.  She loves to dig holes in the yard and be around her family. She rarely barks and is the center of attention whenever we go for walks. People love her floofy tail and smiling face.

Nieman Kitty: Shawn

Nieman is 12 years old and still acts like a kitten. She has Cerebellar hypoplasia, which makes her a bit wobbly, and has trained her humans to pick her up and down from the bed. Her nickname is Nieman Kitty. In this picture she is laying on the freshly made bed surveying her house. She rules the house and comes from a rescue.  

We invite you to attend these Free online Events at the Braille Institute of America!

Looking for meaningful conversations, thought-provoking author talks, and vibrant book groups—all accessible from home? Join our friends at Braille Institute Library for The Reading Room Sessions, a free, weekly virtual series designed for readers who are blind, visually impaired, or print-disabled.

Happening All Summer, Tuesdays, June 10 to August, 1 PM to 2 PM Eastern Time
– Online & Free!

Participants can access specially curated reading lists through their local NLS regional library and receive personalized support from expert library staff.

Featured Guests:

Renowned Authors: Susan Orlean, Catherynne M. Valente, Tananarive Due, Mary Robinette Kowal

Forward-Thinking Academics: Raymond Mar, Karla Nielson, Rebecca Solnit

Fascinating Creators: Chris Downey, Nina Cooke John, John Lee Clark

Registration

Register by phone, email or online. 

Online: The Reading Room Sessions: Author Talks and Book Chats 
Phone: 800-808-2555
Email: bils@brailleinstitute.org

June is Pride month. Join us as we celebrate the diverse voices of individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, intersex, asexual and more.  We’ve gathered a collection of books featuring individuals who identify as LGBTQIA+, discussing issues that affect their lives, and highlighting some relevant history.

'Twas the Night Before Pride, DB112189, by Joanna McClintick

A glittering celebration of queer families puts Pride gently in perspective--honoring those in the LGBTQ+ community who fought against injustice and inequality. Pride Day is a day that means "Together, we are strong!" With bright, buoyant illustrations and lyrical, age-appropriate rhyme modeled on "'Twas the Night Before Christmas," it tackles difficult content such as the Stonewall Riots and the AIDS marches. For grades K-3. 2022.

This Day in June, DB085949, by Gayle E. Pitman

A rhyming Pride parade experience. Includes end matter to serve as a primer on LGBT history and culture and to explain references made in the story. Stonewall Book Award. For grades K-3. 2014.

I Am Jazz, DB085028 and BR021044, by Jessica Herthel, Jazz Jennings and Shelagh McNicholas

Autobiography of Jazz Jennings, a transgender child, who recounts her early awareness that she is a girl despite male anatomy and the acceptance she finds through a wise doctor who explains her natural transgender status. PRINT/BRAILLE. For grades K-3 and older readers. 2014.

Rick, DB113692, by Alex Gino

Eleven-year-old Rick Ramsey has generally gone along with everybody, just not making waves, even though he is increasingly uncomfortable with his father's jokes about girls, and his best friend's explicit talk about sex; but now in middle school he discovers the Rainbow Spectrum club, where kids of many genders and identities can express themselves--and maybe among them he can find new friends and discover his own identity, which may just be to opt out of sex altogether. For grades 3-6. 2020.

The Passing Playbook, DB0105272, by Isaac Fitzsimons

After transitioning at his old school that led to a year of isolation and bullying, Spencer, who is transgender, gets a fresh start at the most liberal private school in Ohio. But when a discriminatory law forces Spencer’s coach to bench him, Spencer must make several important decisions. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. For senior high and older readers. 2021.

Two Boys Kissing, DB078286 and BR020465, by David Levithan

A chorus of men who died of AIDS observes and yearns to help a cross-section of today's gay teens who navigate new love, long-term relationships, coming out, self-acceptance, and more. Descriptions of sex, some strong language, and some violence. For senior high and older readers. 2013.

All boys aren't blue: a memoir-manifesto, DB099758, by George M. Johnson

In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIAP+ activist George M. Johnson explores his youth, and ties together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys. Violence, strong language, and some explicit descriptions of sex. Commercial audiobook. For senior high and older readers. 2020.

Dear Wendy, DB121007, by Ann Zhao

Aromantic and asexual students Sophie and Jo, engaged in an online feud as the creators of popular relationship advice accounts "Dear Wendy" and "Sincerely Wanda," unwittingly become real-life friends and navigate their shared aroace identities as they face the challenges of college life. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. For senior high and older readers. 2024.

Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 people who changed the world, DB089594, by Sarah Prager

World history has been made by countless lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals -- and you've never heard of many of them. Queer author and activist Sarah Prager delves deep into the lives of 23 people who fought, created, and loved on their own terms. From high-profile figures like Abraham Lincoln and Eleanor Roosevelt to the trailblazing gender-ambiguous Queen of Sweden and a bisexual blues singer who didn't make it into your history books, these true stories uncover a rich queer heritage that encompasses every culture, in every era. Some violence, some strong language, and some descriptions of sex. For senior high and older readers. 2017.

Choosing Family: A Memoir of Queer Motherhood and Black Resistance, DB0114746, by Francesca T. Royster

Royster's memoir takes place in her multiracial household in Rogers Park, Chicago, where race deeply influences her family's life and understanding of family. The memoir focuses on Royster, her white wife Annie, and their adopted Black daughter Cecilia, highlighting their journey to motherhood and the complexities of adoption from a Black, queer, and feminist viewpoint. Royster reflects on her childhood matriarchs in Chicago’s South Side, emphasizing the fluid and inclusive nature of family. By referencing queer thinkers, she discusses how many Black families, including hers, approach family outside traditional norms, celebrating joy and acceptance. Unrated. 2023.

Lavender House, DB110675, by Lev AC Rosen

Lavender House, 1952: The family seat of recently deceased matriarch Irene Lamontaine holds not only the secret recipes for the family’s soap empire, but also the secrets of the residents and staff. To keep their unique freedoms, they’ve kept strangers out. But now they’re worried a murderer might be amongst themselves and hire Evander Mills to uncover the truth. Andy, with his own secret, is seduced by the safety and freedom found behind the estate gates. But he quickly finds that seeming openness hides a family game of old money, subterfuge and jealousy. When your existence is a crime, everything you do is criminal, and the gates of Lavender House can't lock out the real world forever. Unrated. 2022.

Transgender History, The Roots of Today’s Revolution, DB110858 and BR024638, by Susan Stryker

Transgender History covers American transgender history from the mid-1900s to today. Taking a chronological approach, it details major movements, writings, and events. The book includes chapters on post-World War II trans communities, trans radicalism from 1966 to the early 1970s, identity politics from the mid-'70s to 1990, and gender issues from the '90s through 2000s. Informative sidebars highlight quotes from major texts and speeches, brief biographies of key figures, excerpts from memoirs, and discussions of transgender representation in media. Some strong language. 2017.

Mothers and Sons: a novel, DB126793, by Adam Haslett

At forty, Peter, an asylum lawyer in New York City, is overworked and isolated. He spends his days immersed in the struggles of immigrants only to return to an empty apartment and occasional hook-ups with a man who wants more than Peter can give. But when the asylum case of a young gay man pierces Peter's numbness, the event that he has avoided for twenty years returns to haunt him. Ann, his mother, who runs a women's retreat center she founded after leaving his father, is hurt by the estrangement from Peter but cherishes the world she has built. She long ago put behind her the decision that divided her from her son. But as Peter's case plunges him further into the fraught memory of his first love and the night of violence that changed his life, he and his mother must confront the secret that tore them apart. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. 2025.

We Could Be So Good, DB117042 and BR025424, by Cat Sebastian

Nick Russo has progressed from a tough Brooklyn area to a reporting position at a major city newspaper. In the late 1950s, being gay is dangerous, so Nick keeps his life private. He doesn’t expect to meet someone like Andy. Andy Fleming’s father wants him to take over the family newspaper, but Andy has no interest and struggles with adult responsibilities. He agrees to work in the newsroom for a year, where Nick helps him. Their friendship grows into deeper feelings, but they must decide if they are ready to fight for their relationship. Unrated. 2023.

Appealing for Justice: One Colorado Lawyer, Four Decades, and the Landmark Gay Rights Case: Romer v. Evans, DBC03264, by Susan Berry Casey

This is the true story of Jean Dubofsky, who made history in 1979 when she was the first woman appointed to the Colorado Supreme Court, then made history again in 1996 at the U.S. Supreme Court when she argued and won the landmark gay rights case, Romer v. Evans. Dubofsky's journey from helping to shape and implement the strategy that led to the passage of the 1968 Civil Rights Act, to bringing the first slavery lawsuit since the Civil War, and finally winning at the U.S. Supreme Court is not simply her story, it also is the story of an entire generation. 2021.
 

In the month of May we take time to reflect on and celebrate the important role that Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders (AANHPIs) have played in our shared history. The month of May was chosen to mark the arrival of the first Japanese immigrant to the United States on May 7, 1843, as well as the anniversary of the completion of the transcontinental railroad, largely built by Chinese immigrants, on May 10, 1869.

The AANHPI population represents over 30 countries and ethnic groups that speak over 100 different languages. There is considerable internal group variation and great diversity in experiences among the different ethnic groups, including migration history, socioeconomic status, and political status. These are some of their, and our, stories.
 

The Mochi Makers, DB123988, by Sharon Fujimoto-Johnson

A girl and her grandmother spend the day making mochi together in this gentle and joyous celebration of family, tradition, and the memories that matter most. Includes information on mochi and a recipe. For Preschool-grade 2. 2024.

Gung hay fat choy = Happy New Year, DB042638, by June Behrens

Gung Hay Fat Choy is the Chinese New Year, a festival that may last for many days with family reunions, ceremonies honoring ancestors, and rituals thanking the gods for their blessings. It is also a grand birthday party, for the Chinese add a year to their age on Gung Hay Fat Choy, no matter the day of their birth. This book explains the Chinese New Year and describes its celebration by Chinese Americans. For grades K-3 and older readers. 2008.

A Life of Service: The Story of Senator Tammy Duckworth, DB110769, by Christina Soontornvat

Senator Tammy Duckworth has logged a long list of "firsts" during her tenure as the first Thai American woman elected to Congress, including being the first woman with a disability to serve in the House and Senate. But while she dreamed of serving her country from an early age, Tammy's path was not without its challenges. From her childhood fight to keep her family from homelessness to her service in the US Army, to her recovery from grievous injuries sustained in the line of duty, Tammy never lost her determination to keep going against staggering odds. For grades K-3. 2022.

Gigi and Ojiji, DB113413 and BR024980, by Melissa Iwai

Gigi can't wait for her Ojiji--Japanese grandpa--to move in. Gigi plans lots of things to do with him, like playing tag, reading books, and teaching Roscoe, the family dog, new tricks. But her plans don't work out quite the way she'd hoped. And her grandpa doesn't seem to like Roscoe. Will Gigi find a way to connect with her Ojiji? Contains complete text in uncontracted and contracted braille. For grades K-3. 2023.

Yes, We Will: Asian Americans Who Shaped This Country, DB108260, by Kelly Yang

A lyrical nonfiction picture book featuring eighteen Asian American changemakers and two pivotal moments in Asian American history, illustrated by fifteen renowned Asian and Asian American artists. For grades K-3. 2022.

Grandfather's Journey, BR009907, by Allen Say

A Japanese American tells of his grandfather's journey to America. Grandfather loves California, but he also loves Japan and later returns there to live. In Japan, however, he is homesick for America. The narrator, born in Japan, moves to California as a young man. Yet he often returns to visit his birthplace. When in one country, he feels homesick for the other--just like his grandfather. PRINT/BRAILLE. Caldecott Medal. For grades K-3 and older readers. 1995.

We Who Produce Pearls, DB123617, by Joanna Ho and Amanda Phingbodhipakkiya

An anthem for Asian America that celebrates the richness and diversity within the Asian American identity and serves as a reminder of our self-worth, our legacy and most of all, our destiny. For grades 2-4. 2024.

Generation Misfits, by DB104119, Akemi Dawn Bowman

Eleven-year-old Millie Nakakura joins her performing arts school's J-Pop club. The members form an imitation band of their favorite girl group and help support one another along the way. For grades 5-8. 2021.

Heart of a Samurai: based on the true story of Manjiro Nakahama, DB072560 and BR019327, by Margi Preus

1841. Marooned on a remote island and near starvation, fourteen-year-old Manjiro and four fishing companions are rescued by an American whaling ship. Manjiro joins the crew and is the first Japanese man to come to America. Still, he dreams of going home to be a samurai. Newbery Honor. For grades 5-8. 2010.

We Belong, DB102976, by Cookie Hiponia Everman

A novel in verse. As sisters Stella and Luna get ready for bed, their mama spins two tales: that of her youth as a strong-willed middle child and Filipino refugee; and that of the young life of Mayari, the mythical daughter of a god. For grades 5-8. 2021.

Angel Island: Gateway to Gold Mountain, DB085189, by Russell Freedman; Chinese poems translated by Evans Chan

Recounts the history of the Angel Island Immigration Station, the ‘other Ellis Island.’ The San Francisco Bay Island served as an entry point for half a million Asian immigrants to the United States in the early twentieth century. Highlights life in the detention barracks, interrogations, and the hardships the immigrants endured. For grades 5-8. 2013.

Dragonwings, DB062295 and BR009550, by Laurence Yep

Eight-year-old Moon Shadow sails from China in 1903 to join his father in San Francisco, in the Land of the Golden Mountain. The two endure poverty and ridicule while making the father's dream of a flying machine come true. Newbery Honor Book. For grades 6-9. 2007.

Acts of Faith: The Story of an American Muslim, the struggle for the soul of a generation, DB075032, by Eboo Patel

Author recounts the founding of the Chicago-based Interfaith Youth Core, a movement to bring young people of different faiths together for community service and to share their common values. Discusses his own religious and cultural identity issues while growing up as a Muslim. For senior high readers. 2012.

When can we go back to America? Voices of Japanese American Incarceration during WWII, DB105514, by Susan H. Kamei

An oral history about Japanese internment during World War II, after the bombing of Pearl Harbor, from the perspective of children and young people affected. For the first time, why and how these tragic events took place is interwoven with more than 130 individual voices of those who were unconstitutionally incarcerated, many of them children and young adults. Now more than ever, their words will resonate with readers who are confronting questions about racial identity, immigration, and citizenship, and what it means to be an American. Unrated. For senior high and older readers. 2021.

All You Can Ever Know: A Memoir, DB094833 and BR022560, by Nicole Chung

The Korean author reflects on the story of her adoption by a white family, the sacrifices her biological family made, the prejudice she faced growing up, and her curiosity about her origins. Recounts her search for her biological family while starting a family of her own. 2018.

We Too Sing America: South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh Immigrants Shape Our Multiracial Future, DB084289 and BR021631, by Deepa Vasudeva Iyer

 Former executive director for an advocacy group highlights incidents of racially motivated tension and violence directed at South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh communities across America since 2001. Discusses these events within the context of the history of American xenophobia and the intersection with activist movements like Black Lives Matter. 2015.  

House of Sticks: A memoir, DB118136, by Ly Tran

Ly Tran is just a toddler in 1993 when her family immigrates from Vietnam to a two-bedroom apartment in Queens. Her father, a former South Vietnamese army lieutenant, spent years as a POW, and they resettle through a US humanitarian program. To make ends meet, Ly helps her parents, and three older brothers sew ties at home and later works as a manicurist with her mother in a nail salon. Struggling with her identity, she feels pressure to blend in at school while dealing with her father's strict beliefs and paranoia about her poor vision. Who is she outside of everything her family expects of her? An "unsentimental yet deeply moving examination of filial bond, displacement, war trauma, and poverty" (NPR), House of Sticks is a timely and powerful portrait of one girl's coming-of-age and struggle to find her voice amid clashing cultural expectations. 2024.

Dark Harbor: Building house and home on an enchanted island, BR015118, by Ved Mehta

In this continuation of his Continents of Exile memoir series, Mehta, a blind writer, recounts his undertaking to build a house on a small Maine island in 1984 and the importance of this home in his marriage and family life. 2003.

Mott Street: A Chinese American Family's story of Exclusion and Homecoming, DB118436, by Ava Chin

As the only child of a single mother in Queens, Ava Chin found her family's origins to be shrouded in mystery. She had never met her father, and her grandparents' stories didn't match the story she read at school. In Mott Street, Chin shares her journey to understand her Chinese American family. Over decades of painstaking research, she finds not only her father but also the building that provided a refuge for them all. She confronts the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, which restricted immigration based on race. Chin tells the story of her pioneering ancestors who worked on the transcontinental railroad and faced racism, ultimately leading to their lives in New York City's Chinatown and a building on Mott Street, where so many of her ancestors would live, begin families, and craft new identities. 2024.

Here We Are: American Dreams, American Nightmares (A memoir), DB097334 and BR022975, by Aarti Namdev Shahani

An NPR correspondent recounts the legal troubles faced by her family, even after they received their green cards as immigrants from India and thought they had made it. Follows the lives of the author and her father, who mistakenly sold watches and calculators to a notorious drug cartel. Here We Are is a coming-of-age story, a love letter from an outspoken modern daughter to her soft-spoken Old-World father. She never expected they'd become best friends. Some strong language. 2019.

Making of Asian America: A History, DB082946, by Erika Lee

Historian, and the granddaughter of Chinese immigrants, explores the history of Asian immigration to the United States. Discusses ethnic strongholds such as Chinatown in San Francisco and Japantown in Seattle, social organizations formed to ease transition, and laws created to prevent full integration into American society. 2015.

A Man of Two Faces: A Memoir, a History, a Memorial, DB122406 and BR in process, by Viet Thanh Nguyen

The highly original, blistering, and unconventional memoir by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer, which has now sold over one million copies worldwide. At four years old, he and his family fled Vietnam, eventually resettling in the USA. He faced separation from his family and later discovered the violence that lay beneath American life, marked by the shooting of his parents on Christmas Eve while they worked in their grocery store. As a teenager, the drama of Vietnam War films creates confusion about his identity as both American and Vietnamese. Nguyen’s journey to understand his past and the scars it leaves is central to the memoir, which examines the importance of memory and the complexities of cultural promises. Strong language, some violence, and some descriptions of sex. 2024.

The Pepper Thai Cookbook: Family recipes from everyone's favorite Thai mom, DB104027 and BR023784, by Pepper Teigen with Garrett Snyder

Mother of model Chrissy Teigen and mother-in-law of singer John Legend presents a collection of recipes drawing on her childhood growing up in Thailand and cooking for her American-born children and grandchildren. In her debut cookbook, the author shares more than 80 fun and flavorful recipes, along with stories about her early days in the U.S. and learning how to cook Thai dishes with American ingredients and substitutes. Recipe categories include snacks, salads, family specialties, vegetables, leftovers, curries and stews, and dessert. 2021.

Not Yo' Butterfly: My Long Song of Relocation, Race, Love, and Revolution, DB105413, by Nobuko Miyamoto

Life story of this artist, activist, and mother, from facing discrimination as a Japanese American child during World War II to releasing the first Asian American folk album, to raising an Afro-Asian son during the 1992 Rodney King riots. Strong language and some violence. 2021.

Paradise of the Pacific: Approaching Hawaii, DB084058, by Susanna Moore

The author of The Life of Objects (DB075816) pieces together the history of Hawaii in the late eighteenth century. She examines the royalty, mythology, religion, missionaries, migrants, and explorers, as the islands experienced a time of abrupt transition and confrontation after many years of isolation. 2015.

Beautiful Country: A memoir, DB105816 and BR024250, by Qian Julie Wang

The author reflects on the highs and lows of her experiences immigrating to New York City and growing up as an undocumented and impoverished child. She recounts her parents' stresses, her struggles in school, and the joys that she found alongside the fears. Unrated. Bestseller. 2021.

Homeseeking, DB126911, by Karissa Chen

Separated by war and reunited after 60 years, Haiwen and Suchi navigate decades of love, loss, and survival across continents, as their shared past clashes with their hopes for a second chance at life. Unrated. 2025.

Filipinx: Heritage recipes from the diaspora, DB108841 and BR024334, by Angela Dimayuga and Ligaya Mishan

In her debut cookbook, acclaimed chef Angela Dimayuga shares her love for Filipino food with home cooks. Filipinx includes 100 personal recipes that reflect her childhood and the experiences of over four million Filipinos in the U. S. Dimayuga grew up in an immigrant family in northern California, trained in various cuisines in New York City, and returned to her roots, finding the same dedication to cooking in her family’s recipes. Here are the punches of flavor and inspired recipes that home cooks have been longing for. A modern, welcoming resource for this essential cuisine, Filipinx shares exciting and approachable recipes everyone will wholeheartedly embrace in their own kitchens. 2023.

Asian American Histories of the United States, DB111234, by Catherine Ceniza Choy

In an urgent social history of the fastest growing group of Americans, historian Catherine Ceniza Choy covers nearly 200 years of Asian migration, labor, and community in the US. She reckons with the COVID-19 pandemic and the rise in anti-Asian hate, and highlights the diverse experiences and voices of immigrants, refugees, and US-born Asian Americans. While there have been significant achievements in arts, politics, and popular culture in the 21st century, American culture still lacks understanding of Asian American history. Choy emphasizes themes of anti-Asian violence, erasure of experiences, and resistance. This book is essential for understanding the current American experience. 2023.

Join us in recognizing and celebrating the wide-ranging influence of Jewish immigrants and their descendants on the history and culture of the United States, enriching the broader American experience.

I Lift My Lamp: Emma Lazarus and The Statue of Liberty, BR006684, by Nancy Smiler Levinson

Part biography and part history, this work deals with the brief life of Emma Lazarus, author of the lines engraved on the Statue of Liberty, as well as with the statue's creation, and the plight of the Jewish immigrants fleeing pogroms in Eastern Europe. For junior and senior high readers.

Growing Up Jewish in America: an oral History, DB043468, by Harvey and Myrna Frommer

Childhood memories of Jewish men and women of all ages from across the country. They describe their urban and suburban experiences and discuss long-held traditions and religious rituals. Presents a kaleidoscopic view of twentieth-century life from immigrant and minority perspectives. 1995.

Jewish Times: Voices of the American Jewish Experience, DB031738, by Howard Simons

Howard Simons spent four years gathering these personal accounts of the Jewish experience in America. Two hundred Jews, from across the United States, tell of their persistent search for the American Dream, despite anti-Semitism. Their stories ring with warmth and humor. 1988.

One Hundred and One Classic Jewish Jokes: Jewish Humor from Groucho Marx to Jerry Seinfeld, DB046681 and BR011731, by Robert Menchin

An explanation of the origins of Jewish humor followed by sample jokes. Includes some common Yiddish terms and birth names of famous Jewish comedians. 1998.

Orphan In History, BR006459, by Paul Cowan

The author chronicles his quest for Jewish roots after a posh New York City upbringing as an assimilated "Jewish WASP." When Cowan's father, a TV executive, and his mother, a Spiegel heir, die in a hotel fire he begins a search for communal Judaism. 1982.

Koshersoul: The Faith and food journey of an African American Jew, DB110343 and BR024554, by Michael W. Twitty

In Koshersoul, Michael W. Twitty explores the blend of African Atlantic and global Jewish food traditions. He highlights that African-Jewish cooking represents a dialogue between migrations and diasporas, leading to creative recipes and cultural significance. Twitty emphasizes the importance of Jews of Color in both Black and Jewish communities and shares how food has influenced many cooks’ journeys, including his own in Judaism. The book is intimate and profound, providing nourishment for the soul. Some strong language. 2023.

But you look so normal: lost and found in a hearing world, BR025599, by Claudia Marseille

When four-year-old Claudia Marseille was diagnosed with severe hearing loss and received her first hearing aid, her lifelong journey to fit in began. Here, she reveals how she overcame loneliness and isolation and carved out a fulfilling life for herself somewhere between the mainstream culture and the Deaf world. 2024.

Tablets Shattered: The End of an American Jewish century and the future of Jewish life, DB125235, by Joshua Leifer

From esteemed journalist and scholar Joshua Leifer, a definitive look at the history and future of American Jewish identity and community from the tipping point we are living in. 2024.

The Last Ships from Hamburg: Business, rivalry, and the race to save Russia's Jews on the eve of World War I, by Steven Ujifusa

Over thirty years, from 1890 to 1921, 2.5 million Jews fled discrimination and violence in Eastern Europe to the United States. Many traveled on steamships from Hamburg. This mass exodus was supported by three businesspeople: Jacob Schiff, who used his wealth to help Jews leave; Albert Ballin, who built a transportation network; and J. P. Morgan, who aimed to control the steamship industry. Despite their differing goals, they helped millions escape persecution, leaving a legacy that includes notable descendants, ranging from Ruth Bader Ginsburg to Estee Lauder, from Lauren Bacall to the author’s own great-grandparents.

The Jews in America Trilogy: Our Crowd, The Grandees, and The Rest of Us, DB124721, by Stephen Birmingham

Three New York Times bestsellers detail the journey of influential Jewish families in America from poor immigrants to prominent figures. In his trilogy, Stephen Birmingham offers a rich narrative of Jewish American life from the colonial period to the twentieth century, blending captivating storytelling with thorough research. The most recognized book, "Our Crowd," focuses on 19th-century German immigrants like Loeb, Sachs, and Goldman who transformed small businesses into major financial institutions. Excluded from the gentile elite due to their religion, they formed their own exclusive social circle. "The Grandees" looks back to 1654, chronicling the first Jewish community in America, which produced influential descendants. Finally, in "The Rest of Us," Birmingham highlights Eastern European immigrants who arrived between 1880 and 1924, highlighting their rise from rags to riches through stories of figures like Samuel Goldwyn and Irving Berlin. This collection offers a detailed view of the Jewish American upper class and their impact on society. 2025.

Billy Wilder: Dancing on the Edge, DB114817, by Joseph McBride

The director and cowriter of many famous films like Double Indemnity and Sunset Boulevard, Billy Wilder is recognized as one of America's greatest social satirists. Despite his success and influence in Hollywood, Wilder felt like an outsider. His worldview was shaped by his background in the Austro-Hungarian Empire and work as a journalist in Berlin during Hitler's rise to power, and his perspective as a Jewish refugee from Nazism lent his films a sense of the peril that could engulf any society.  Joseph McBride's critical study explores Wilder's work, from his early days in Europe to his achievements in Hollywood. McBride portrays Wilder not just as a cynic but as a disappointed romantic, showing his films' blend of satire and deep compassion for humanity. The book includes biographical insights and film analysis, illuminating Wilder's complex vision. Strong language. 2023.

Jewish Women Pioneering the Frontier Trail: A History in the American West, DBC013134, by Jeanne E. Abrams

Jewish women in the West took advantage of the region's unsettled nature to "open new doors" for themselves in the public sphere. The author discusses Western Jewish women's level of involvement at the vanguard of social welfare and progressive reform, commerce, politics, higher education, and the professions. 2006.

Houdini: The Elusive American, DB101495, by Adam Begley

Biography of the famous magician. Examines how Houdini was influenced by his Jewish heritage, and gives details about his early life in Hungary, immigration to America, and pursuit of a life in show business that led him to learn magic tricks and seemingly impossible feats of escape and illusion. Unrated. 2021.

The Incorruptibles: a true story of kingpins, crime busters, and the birth of the American underworld, DB122572, by Dan Slater

This harrowing tale of early twentieth-century New York reveals the true stories of an immigrant underworld, a secret vice squad, and the rise of organized crime. In the early 1900s, before World War I, New York City was filled with vice and corruption. On the Lower East Side, Eastern European Jews created a network of crime syndicates. Gangs fought for control while their families and neighbors worked in the unregulated garment industry. After a murder drew attention, wealthy German-Jewish uptowners formed an off-the-books vice squad, the Incorruptibles, to combat crime. Their actions led to the unforeseen rise of a new mobster class, reshaping history. Unrated. 2024.

Democratic Justice: Felix Frankfurter, the Supreme Court, and the making of the liberal establishment, DB111191, by Brad Snyder

The common view of Felix Frankfurter, a Harvard law professor, and Supreme Court justice is that he struggled in his role after replacing Oliver Wendell Holmes. Scholars often see him as a judicial failure, depicting him as a liberal who became conservative and as the main antagonist of the Warren Court. However, these views are inaccurate. Frankfurter was a pro-government, pro-civil rights liberal who believed in judicial restraint, favoring change through the democratic process. He knew many American presidents and guided his students toward public service. This biography details his influential life, from his friendships with prominent figures to his role in major legal reforms, displaying his commitment to democracy and his significant legacy. Unrated. 2023.

Once we were slaves: The extraordinary journey of a multiracial Jewish family, DB105536, by Laura Arnold Leibman

Blanche Moses, heir of a prominent Jewish family, uncovers a surprising twist in their history. Rather than the Sephardic roots she expected, she learns that her grandmother and great-uncle were poor Christian slaves in Barbados. She traces their route to free, Jewish, wealthy, and white citizens. 2022.
 

The last Monday in May each year is Memorial Day. On this day, America pauses to honor and remember those who have served and sacrificed their lives for our country. Since Flag Day, a day to honor the American flag and what it represents, is coming up on June 14 we are also including books related to our flag.  

Memorial Day Surprise, DB058420, by Theresa Martin Golding

Marco's mother promises him a surprise at the Memorial Day parade. He thinks all the participants are the special treat until he spots his abuelo, or grandfather, in a wheelchair and uniform leading the rest of the veterans. For preschool-grade 2. 2004.

A Day for Rememberin': Inspired by the True Events of the First Memorial Day, DBC16497, by Leah Henderson

Today is a special day for Eli, who understands its importance since he's allowed to miss school. The story, inspired by true events, focuses on the first Memorial Day on May 1, 1865, through a young boy's eyes. Eli's family joins crowds in Charleston, South Carolina, honoring those who fought for freedom. With heartfelt writing and vibrant illustrations, A Day for Rememberin' highlights the holiday's history and honors the sacrifices made for the country. For grades K-3. 2021.

Flag Day, BRC00968, by Sally Speer Leber

Simple text explains why and how Americans celebrate Flag Day. For grades K-3. 2006.

The First American Flag, BR019091, by Lori Mortensen

Presents facts about United States flag history from the earliest one for the thirteen colonies during the Revolutionary War to the banner representing the fifty states. Discusses the legend of Betsy Ross and explains the flag's real origins. For grades K-3. 2010.

A New Flag for A New Country: The First National Flag--A Play, BR003198A, by June Behrens

A short play dramatizes the legend of how Betsy Ross came to make the first United States flag. For grades 2-4.1975.

Twenty-one steps guarding the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, BR023725 and DB104395, by Jeff Gottesfeld

A tribute to the unidentified fallen soldiers and the Tomb Guard, a special military unit that keeps vigil at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Arlington National Cemetery. The sentinels have respectfully guarded and honored the nameless soldiers around the clock since midnight on July 2, 1937. For grades 2-4 and older readers. 2021.

Memorial Day, BRC00916, by Helen Frost

Explains how and why Memorial Day came to be celebrated as a holiday. For grades 3-6. 2006.

The Flag, The Poet, and the Song: The Story of The Star-Spangled Banner, BR013894 and DB053453, by Irvin Molotsky 

Relates the history of the United States flag, how it inspired the poem written in 1814 by Francis Scott Key, and how the poem was set to music and later adopted as the national anthem. Discusses the myths and facts surrounding these events. 2003.

A grateful nation the story of Arlington National Cemetery, DB033251, by Brent K. Ashabranner

Taking his readers on a tour of Arlington National Cemetery near Washington, D.C., the author deftly weaves factual information on the cemetery's rich history and operation. He provides vignettes about the people buried there, as well as personal anecdotes from visitors, staff, and members of the military honor guard. For grades 4-7 and older readers. 2009.

Red, White, And Blue Letter Days: An American Calendar, DB055134, by Matthew Dennis

A professor describes the history and origin of American civic holidays and how they reflect the politics and values of this country. Includes the Fourth of July, Thanksgiving, Presidents' Day, Memorial Day, Columbus Day, Labor Day, and Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday. 2002.

So proudly we hail the history of the United States flag, DB017862, by William Rea Furlong

Interweaves the evolving design of the U.S. flag with its historical context in a chronological narrative. Appendixes include the flag code, the American's creed, the meaning of the flag's colors, and other information. 1981.

Arlington National Cemetery, shrine to America's heroes, Guide to America's shrine to its fallen heroes, DB064313, by James Edward Peters

Includes a brief history of the cemetery, short biographies of some people buried there, a list of its major monuments and memorials, and visitor tips. Appendixes cover headstone markings; American military rank, decorations, and medals; and tombstone and burial regulations. 2000.

Flag: An American Biography, DB061466, by Marc Leepson

A look at what's behind the special feeling Americans have for their flag. Traces its history from the Revolutionary War to its twenty-first-century role in the war against terrorism. Leepson describes the events and personalities that created the flag and made it a symbol of pride for the nation. 2005.

Sacred duty: a soldier's tour at Arlington National Cemetery, BR023725 and DB095547, by Tom Cotton

Veteran and senator offers a portrait of the "Old Guard," the US Army unit whose role is to honor those fallen in battle and see them laid to rest at Arlington National Cemetery. Describes how they conduct military-honor funerals and the daily requirements of their roles. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. Bestseller. 2019.

Final Salute: A Story of Unfinished Lives, DB067110, by Jim Sheeler

Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter Sheeler recounts the two years he spent shadowing marine major Steve Beck, an officer whose job is to notify the families of fallen soldiers. Sheeler portrays the lives of the deceased, Beck's efforts to comfort the grieving relatives, and the toll on surviving kin. 2008.

To hell and back, DB029460, by Audie Murphy

Writing in diary form and sparing no detail, the most decorated soldier in World War II recounts his experiences and those of other foot soldiers. Murphy makes no mention of his many honors, but rather focusses on his fallen comrades who did not make it home. Some strong language. 2013.
 

The Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library will be hosting an author talk on Thursday, June 26 at 6:30 PM. You are invited to join via livestream. Please register in advance for this event, or you may attend in person at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library at 455 5th Ave, New York, NY 10016.

The featured guest will be Scientist Joshua Miele, (Connecting Dots: A Blind Life, DB127356 and coming soon in braille), in conversation with fellow writer and professor Andrew Leland, (The Country of the Blind: a Memoir at the End of Sight, BR025166, and DB115575).

Dr. Miele will share insights about life and disability from his extraordinary memoir.

We encourage TBBL members to attend this 7 Stories Up series event, made possible by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation. If you cannot attend, in person or virtually, we recommend listening to Connecting Dots: a Blind life, and listening to and reading The Country of the Blind: A Memoir at the End of Sight.

Looking for further reading about living with blindness? We suggest The Blind Woodsman: One Man's Journey to Find his Purpose on the Other Side of Darkness, DB122631 and BR025567, by John and Anni Furniss. John, the “Blind Woodsman” and his wife Anni, live in Washington State.

Spring is here and summer is just around the corner. What a fun time to enhance a child’s reading time with a related activity or tactile experience! 

Many books in our collection can be paired with a book box or a field trip to your backyard or city park. Book boxes may be created using items from the story, like eggshells or leaves, or you might consider adding texture to the pages of a book you own using such items as felt, cloth, or sandpaper. Go on nature walks to explore and collect different items from outdoors such as soil, grass, leaves, tree branches or flowers. You could also go to a zoo or an animal shelter and let your child interact with animals, including reptiles, birds, and fish.  

Below are just a few ideas for books you can use for these projects to enhance the experience for a child who has low vision or is blind. These activities will add objects that the child can feel, hear, smell, or even taste!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar, BR006130, by Eric Carle

A hungry caterpillar eats holes through plums, cheese, sausage, and other food and gets a stomachache. Then something wonderful happens to the fat caterpillar. For grades K-2. 1999.

(Create a book box containing the food items from the story and nibble along. Ask your child to identify the foods by feel and smell as well as taste.)

Leaf Man: StoryWalk edition, DBC19977, by Lois Ehlert

A man made of leaves blows away, traveling wherever the wind may take him. For preschool to grade 2. 2021.

(Take the child outside so they can feel and smell the wind as you read this book. Find leaves and help your child identify which trees those leaves come from according to their shapes. Create your own leaf man with sticks, leaves, and a bit of glue.)

Rrralph, DBC05433, by Lois Ehlert

The narrator describes discovering how Ralph the dog can talk, appropriately saying words such as "roof," "rough," "bark," and "wolf." For preschool-grade 2. 2012.

(This one would be a fun lesson about the different things animals say. Cats: meow, yowl, hiss, purr. Pigs: oink! Horses: neigh, nicker, whinny. Cows: moo! Ducks; quack! You could also take the child to a farm to find and touch each animal.)

A Drop of Water, BR017016, by Gordon Morrison

A drop of water on a child's fingertip leads to the exploration of its source, from clouds to rainwater flowing down the mountain. Describes the animals and flowers at the places where water passes through woods and ponds to reach the child. Includes nature notes. PRINT/BRAILLE. For grades K-3. 2006.

(Make a book box of nature objects like leaves, grass, stones, tufts of fur and flowers. Or take an intentional nature walk, stopping to touch the grass, feel the tree bark, sniff the flowers, etc.)

The Little Red Hen, BR017017, by Jerry Pinkney

Classic fable of barnyard animals who refuse to help the little red hen plant or harvest wheat but who want to eat the bread she bakes. PRINT/BRAILLE. For grades K-3. 2006.

(If you don’t want to bake bread at home, visit a bakery to see and smell the bread there. You can also create a book box containing little bags of items like flour and grain, and some clay to simulate the kneading process. Expand this to include other items used in baking, like measuring spoons, bowl, yeast, etc.)

Touch The Universe: A Nasa Braille Book of Astronomy, BR017021, by Noreen Grice

Highlights the journey of the Hubble Space Telescope and combines photographs taken by the telescope in outer space with embossed shapes that represent astronomical objects such as planets, nebulae, and stars. PRINT/BRAILLE. For grades 4-7 and older readers. 2002.

(This nifty book provides its own textural elements!)