NOVELny Selected Web Resources

A not for profit directory of open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital searchable repository for public domain and in copyright books and materials from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and universities. Copyrighted material may only be presented as a single page or as a bibliographic reference and some material is only available full text at the partner institution which owns the book or document.

The International Children's Digital Library's goal is to build a collection of books representing outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. The books are for children from three to thirteen, are in a wide variety of languages, and include both fiction and nonfiction.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of free books, movies, software, audiobooks, digitized documents, music, websites, and more.

JURN is a multidisciplinary index for open access articles, including subjects such as ecology, nature, palaeontology, business, law, economics and other sciences.

Provides access to free public domain audiobooks. Most texts come from Project Gutenberg. Search by author, title or reader, or browse by author, title, genre/subject or language. Listen via your browser; download MP3, M4B or torrent files; download the whole book as a zip file; or subscribe via iTunes or RSS Feed.

Open Library is an online project intended to create "one web page for every book ever published.” It provides access to many public domain and out-of-print books, which can be read online. Requires free registration.

Nonprofit open access science, technology and medicine publisher with a library of open access journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.

Unite for Literacy is an organization which works to provide books for children in areas where books may not be readily available. They work with nonprofit partners such as zoos to get books which are high interest, illustrated and easy to read. Narration is available in a wide variety of languages including Spanish and Chinese.