NOVELny Selected Web Resources

Explore careers, find education and training and search for jobs. Site also includes information on salaries and benefits, how-to information for resumes and interviews, and a list of local job services.

Designed by the New York State Department of Labor for middle and high school students. Provides information on almost one thousand occupations, including job descriptions, work activities, required skills, education needed, suggested school programs, wages, and job outlook.

Site includes a list of local One-Stop Career Centers, job seeker resources, upcoming job fairs, and a tool box (includes quick resume, reference list, cover letter, budget, and job application tool). Search for jobs, explore careers, and find the occupations that best suit you.

Includes New York’s Job Bank and links to many other job listings sites in the state. This site also contains facts and figures on employment and unemployment rates and wages, unemployment insurance information for employers and employees, and information on health and safety laws affecting employers and employees.

Includes job and employment sites in the following areas: general, Albany and the Capital District, career guidance, federal government, job sites, national classified, and New York State.

Search occupational information by keyword, career cluster, industry, job zone, bright outlook, green economy sector, job family or STEM discipline.

Offers career information on a number of professions in management, sales, construction, transportation, professional and technical jobs, as well as a career guide to industries, etc. It also includes job opportunities in the armed forces. Revised every two years, it provides information on what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations, etc.

Provides guidance and information for adults, youth, dislocated workers, and workforce development professionals about available Employment and Training Administration (ETA) services (labor exchange, unemployment insurance, senior employment program, disaster unemployment aid, extended benefits, trade readjustment allowances, and more) and training for the labor market. Also includes information useful for employers (tax credits and hiring incentives, assistance with plant closures and downsizing, legislation texts, ETA grants and contracts, and more).