NOVELny Selected Web Resources

DK is a publishing company which produces illustrated reference books for children. Their website contains a searchable encyclopedia for children. Teachers can sign up for lesson plans, worksheets, and other tools to be used with the website and reference books.

Edutopia contains articles and videos to help teachers implement project-based learning, social and emotional learning, comprehensive assessment, teacher development, integrated studies, and technology integration.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, the ERIC database contains article citations and full text educational materials from 1966 to the present. Journal articles, reports, documents, and more are included. A thesaurus allows the user to browse the database by subject; keyword searching and personalized features are available as well.

Includes a variety of resources for students and lifelong learners. Resources for teachers include classroom materials, lesson plans, primary source sets and professional development. Classroom materials can be searched by standard.

Find information on professional development, distance learning programs, teaching with records of Congress, National History Day resources, learning resources based on primary sources and more. Access DocsTeach, an online tool for teaching with primary source documents. Includes teaching activities and the ability to create your own interactive learning activities.

Contains information for teachers about group visits and teacher workshops, for students about afterschool programs and volunteering, and for families about the Discovery Place and family programs.

Contains lesson plans, videos and other resources in a variety of topics. Search content by grade level, subject or type. Browse standards to find related resources. Includes links to classroom content, outreach programming for schools, professional development for teachers and educational family events on local PBS stations.

This website contains lesson plans, online guides, and digital resources (such as music or portraits) which can be used to provide classroom activities. Many are aligned with national standards.

Includes primary source documents that conform to the New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework. Covers 18th century and before; 19th century; 20th century; and geography, government and economics. Also includes links to assessment practices, New York State standards and lesson plans resources.

Unite for Literacy is an organization which works to provide books for children in areas where books may not be readily available. They work with nonprofit partners such as zoos to get books which are high interest, illustrated and easy to read. Narration is available in a wide variety of languages including Spanish and Chinese.

The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services has developed a list of questions, flash cards, audio and video files, and practice tests which can be used both by teachers and as self study tools for both civics courses and for the naturalization test.