NOVELny Selected Web Resources

Several New York repositories have formed a partnership with Ancestry.com to digitize family history records and make them available online for free to New York State residents. The list of records available is located in the bottom left corner of the Ancestry.com New York web page. Descriptions of the records as well as the holding organizations are provided through the links and logos on the page. Access requires a free Ancestry.com New York account. First-time users should visit the page and enter their zip code to get started.

Site contains a search engine for searching the Ellis Island database of passengers arriving in New York 1892-1924. Initial information includes name, residence, arrival date and age at arrival. Free registration allows access to the full record for passengers (name, ethnicity, place of residence, date of arrival, age on arrival, gender, marital status, ship of travel and port of departure). Site also includes information on the immigrant experience.

Searchable database of the Family History Department of the Church of Latter-day Saints. Includes their Ancestral File, International Genealogical Index and Web sites.

This USGenWeb site is organized by county. Also includes New York military links, geography, cemeteries, land records, vital records and more.

Includes records of over 35,000 slaving expeditions that took place between 1514 and 1866. The database is searchable but additional variables not shown in the online search can also be downloaded. Results include vessel name, captain’s name, year arrived with slaves, principal region of slave purchase and principal region of slave landing. Summary statistics, tables, custom graphs, timelines, maps and animations are also available.