NOVELny Selected Web Resources

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Provides historical information for teachers and researchers by era and topic. Includes timelines, primary sources, voices, multimedia, general reference, active learning, resources for teachers, and exhibitions.

Provides access to the FDR Library’s document collections and photographs. Document collections include fully digitized collections or series and finding aids to all document collections. Fully digitized collections include Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, presidential press conferences, selected Eleanor Roosevelt correspondence, records of the War Refugee Board and more. Photographs can be browsed or searched. Photograph subjects include Franklin D. Roosevelt, Eleanor Roosevelt, the Great Depression, the New Deal and World War II.

Digital library provides access to selected collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies in Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester Counties. Collections may be searched or browsed. Collections cover local history, art, libraries, maritime history, genealogical records, and much more. Formats include photographs, postcards, ephemera, historical documents, maps, yearbooks, audio recordings and more. Site also includes many online exhibits, covering a variety of subjects such as poverty, textiles, cooking, atlases and the Civil War.

Collection contains catalog records for photographs, prints, drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings held by the Library of Congress. Images are included for 1.2 million items. Search by keyword, subject, title, creator/name or number.

Contains over 10,000 historical sound recordings from the Victor Talking Machine Company and other Sony-owned labels. Dates currently range from 1900 to 1925 but additional dates will be added. Search by artist, song, lyricist, genre, composer, year or place.

This Library of Congress project, supported by UNESCO, provides access to cultural treasures and historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints, photographs, sound recordings and film. The over 16,000 items are searchable. Items can also be browsed by place, time period, topic, type of item, language and institution.

Searchable archive has items categorized by subject, Library of Congress division, and original format. Collection includes books/printed material, newspapers, photographs, prints, maps, music, audio recordings, films, manuscripts, and more.

Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from approximately 1850-1877. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Provides access to digitized records of the federal government, along with transcripts and supplemental information. Documents include the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, U.S. Constitution, Emancipation Proclamation, Women’s Right to Vote, Brown v. Board of Education, Apollo 11 Flight Plan and more.

Find information on professional development, distance learning programs, teaching with records of Congress, National History Day resources, learning resources based on primary sources and more. Access DocsTeach, an online tool for teaching with primary source documents. Includes teaching activities and the ability to create your own interactive learning activities.

Provides access to New York collections from New York libraries, library systems, museums, archives and other institutions. Searchable collections include correspondence, directories, maps, newspapers, photographs, postcards, scrapbooks, and yearbooks. Browse by topic, region, time period or sub-collection. Site also includes lesson plans and activity ideas.

Searchable archive provides access to printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents and photographs from the New York Philharmonic. Some items date back to the Philharmonic’s founding in 1842.

The digital collections of New York Public Library contain maps, prints, photographs, streaming video and more.

Provides access to searchable collection of photographs, textual records, artifacts, government documents, manuscripts and other materials from the New York State Archives, New York State Library, New York State Museum and project partners across New York State. Browse by collections, places, repositories or state agencies.

New York State Historical Newspapers provides indexed access to selected historical newspapers from Albany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Clinton, Delaware Erie, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Monroe, Nassau Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Putnam, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Schenectady, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wyoming, and Yates counties. Newspapers include the Adirondack Record-Elizabethtown Post (1917-1971), Clarkson Integrator (1920-2007), Essex County Republican (1844-1973), Glens Falls Republican ((1843-1905) , Lake Placid News (1914-2008), Malone Farmer (1900-1936), Plattsburgh Republican (1866-1931), Potsdam Courier-Freeman (1861-1989), Pulaski Democrat (1834-1990), Saranac Lake Adirondack Daily Enterprise (1948-2007), Ticonderoga Sentinel (1874-1950), Tupper Lake Free Press and Herald (1911-2005), The Watertown Herald (1886-1918), and many more.

Provides access to New York State government documents from 1995 to the present and selected State publications from earlier years. Also includes some historical materials.

The New York State Library website, Historical Documents Available Online, provides access to a variety of historical documents, including items about the American Revolutionary War and Civil War, building and construction codes, the State Census, State Documents, Laws of New York State, Native American materials, New York State Constitutional Convention materials, items related to New York State government and history, and New York State Museum publications.

Includes records of over 35,000 slaving expeditions that took place between 1514 and 1866. The database is searchable but additional variables not shown in the online search can also be downloaded. Results include vessel name, captain’s name, year arrived with slaves, principal region of slave purchase and principal region of slave landing. Summary statistics, tables, custom graphs, timelines, maps and animations are also available.

Includes primary source documents that conform to the New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework. Covers 18th century and before; 19th century; 20th century; and geography, government and economics. Also includes links to assessment practices, New York State standards and lesson plans resources.