NOVELny Selected Web Resources

Census.data.gov is a platform to access data from the census. It includes the American Community Survey 1 and 5 year tables, Economic Census, decennial census, county business patterns, non-employer statistics, survey of business owners, and 113th Congressional district summary files. If you have difficulty connecting to the website, try the Explore Census Data advanced search.

This U.S. government resource provides detailed information on countries and non-self-governing territories around the world. The online edition of the World Factbook provides detailed information on a country's economy, government, people, and geography. It also provides information on abbreviations, selected international environmental agreements, international organizations, weights and measures and more.

This site contains searchable interfaces to federal bills, public laws, the Congressional Record, and federal committee reports. Bill summaries and public laws are available from the 93rd session of Congress (1973-74) to the present session of Congress. Bill text is available from the 101st session of Congress (1989-90) to the present. Information about members of Congress is also included.

Partnering with many digitization projects such as Empire State Digital Network, New York Public Library, Digital Maine, U.S. GPO, National Archives, the Smithsonian and more, the Digital Public Library of America provides materials such as photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, the ERIC database contains article citations and full text educational materials from 1966 to the present. Journal articles, reports, documents, and more are included. A thesaurus allows the user to browse the database by subject; keyword searching and personalized features are available as well.

FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels. Monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). Access U.S. Government information from all three branches of the federal government by category, date, committee or author. Documents are also searchable and browsable. Documents include bills, laws, regulations, Federal Register, Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Hearings, Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, the United States Government Manual and much more.

Begun in 1996 to archive the Internet, it now includes over 20 years of web history. Identifies, reviews, and saves important web pages of all types.

Provides access to the Cultural Resource Survey Program (CRSP) Series, Education Leaflets, Map and Chart Series, Museum Bulletin, Museum Record and staff publications.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States provides extensive statistical facts on broad topics, such as health, education, employment, prices, income, and science. This site includes the statistics from 1878 to 2012.

Succinct overview of recent history with each foreign nation. Also provides many links to additional State Department sites for each country.

Portal to U.S. Government

The OCLC Online Union Catalog contains 40 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings and bibliographic information.