Collection Development Policy

After determination of the funding required for the Core Collection, the Library's Collection Development Committee (CDC) reviews the allocation formula annually. This formula takes into account the levels of collection development in this collection development policy. Subject areas assigned a higher collection level are allocated a higher percentage of the acquisitions budget. The CDC forwards the recommendations for the allocation formula to the Library's Executive Group for final approval.

The Library does not collect recordings, with the exception of:

• recorded books acquired and maintained for the use of people who are blind or physically handicapped (see entry under TBBL),
• recordings received as part of manuscript or archival collections,
• recordings which are documents of New York State agencies,
• recordings which are documents of US government agencies.

The Core Collection consists of titles that comprise a core list of monographs, journals, and electronic resources essential to the goals of the New York State Library. Funding for the Core Collection will be allocated before allocations for specific subject areas are determined.

As a general rule, the Research Library purchases materials in all formats (e.g., paper, microform, electronic). However, unless there are compelling reasons to collect a title in multiple formats, only one format will be available for each title. For the purchase of multiple formats of core titles, the requesting subject area will be responsible for allocating funds from its budget for the second format. For the purchase of multiple formats of non-core titles, the entire funding will be charged to the subject area allocation.

eContent (databases, eJournals, eBooks) available for searching at the State Library or for searching remotely are acquired through contractual agreements with vendors. Databases are acquired based on subject area and availability of content. Some content is only available through databases that is high importance to research related to state activities.

Items we don’t collect

• Audio recordings
• Films and videos

Items we collect

• Standards and specifications
• Online Resources
• Films and videos that meet the following criteria:
  • that result from a program or workshop sponsored by the Library
  • Are useful for staff or customer training,
  • Are documents of New York state Government agencies
  • US Government agencies
• Newspapers

Current acquisitions include selected major New York State newspapers including a comprehensive historical collection. Newspapers are acquired and may be retained in paper until microfilm or digital format are available.

• Government Documents: We have established programs outlined in detail below that includes the collection of Federal and NYS Government documents. Documents of other states, municipalities, the United Nations and foreign countries are acquired and added to the collection when appropriate in content, scope, and level.

Although duplication of materials is generally avoided, there are some instances when the Library may acquire two or more copies of a title. Examples include government documents, titles in great demand, titles dealing with New York state and local history, and titles in both print and microform, or electronic format.