Collection Development Policy
Definition of Collection Levels
0=Out of Scope;
1a=Minimal level (uneven coverage);
1b=Minimal level (even coverage);
2a=Basic Information level (introductory);
2b=Basic Information level (advanced);
3a=Basic Study or Instructional Support level;
3b=Intermediate Study or Instructional Support level;
3c=Advanced Study or Instructional Support level;
4=Research level;
5=Comprehensive level
Detailed Schedules
The "Detailed Schedules" are arranged in Dewey Decimal Classification order. Nearly one- thousand sections of the ten main Dewey classes have been described as they are listed in the Dewey Decimal Classification and Relative Index, Edition 21 (Forest Press, 1996).
The current collection level, as explained in the "Definition of Collection Levels" above, is indicated. (The collection level key is also repeated at the bottom of each schedule page.) When there is a variation of collecting levels within a subject group, the collection level for the more specific subject is provided immediately following the general information for the subject group. The legend at the bottom of each page indicates the hierarchical order of the five collection levels.
A distinguishing feature of the "Detailed Schedules" is the emphasis on aspects of subject areas that deal with New York State. Throughout the schedules, the New York State Library's responsibility to collect materials that record the history and culture of New York State is clearly evident. Even where it may not be indicated in the schedules, aspects of subject areas which relate directly to New York State should be collected at a higher collection level. (Throughout the schedules, "New York State" is abbreviated as "NYS".)
Generalities
000 Generalities
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
001 |
Knowledge |
2A |
|
001.9 |
Controversial knowledge |
1A |
|
002 |
The book |
2A |
|
003 |
Systems |
2A |
|
004 |
Data processing |
2B |
|
010-019 |
Bibliography |
2A |
|
020-028 |
Library and information sciences |
3A |
|
030 |
General encyclopedic works |
2A |
|
033-039 |
General encyclopedic works in specific languages and language families |
1A |
|
050 |
General serial publications |
2A |
|
051 |
American English-language serial publications |
2A |
|
052 |
General serial publications in English |
1B |
|
053-059 |
General serial publications in other languages |
0 |
|
060 |
General organizations and Museology |
2A |
|
061 |
General organizations in North America |
2A |
|
062 |
General organizations in British Isles |
1B |
|
063-068 |
General organizations in other countries |
0 |
|
069 |
Museology (Museum science) |
3A |
|
070 |
Documentary media, educational media, news media; journalism; publishing |
2B |
|
071 |
Journalism and newspapers in North America |
2A |
072 Generalities
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
072 |
Journalism and newspapers in British Isles |
1B |
|
073-079 |
Journalism and newspapers in other countries |
0 |
|
080 |
General collections |
1B |
|
081 |
American English-language collections |
1B |
|
082 |
General collections in English |
1A |
|
083-089 |
General collections in other languages |
0 |
|
090 |
Manuscripts, rare books, other rare printed materials |
2A |
|
080 |
General collections |
1B |
|
081 |
American English-language collections |
1B |
|
082 |
General collections in English |
1A |
|
083-089 |
General collections in other languages |
0 |
|
090 |
Manuscripts, rare books, other rare printed materials |
2A |
|
091 |
Manuscripts |
2A |
|
092 |
Block books |
1A |
|
093 |
Incunabula |
1B |
|
094 |
Printed books |
1A |
|
095 |
Books notable for bindings |
1B |
|
096 |
Books notable for illustrations and materials |
1A |
|
097 |
Books notable for ownership or origin |
1A |
|
098 |
Prohibited works, forgeries, hoaxes |
1A |
|
099 |
Books notable for format |
1A |
Philosophy and Psychology
100 Philosophy
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
100 |
Philosophy, paranormal phenomena, psychology |
1B |
|
101 |
Theory of philosophy |
1B |
|
102-108 |
Standard subdivisions of philosophy |
1B |
|
109 |
Historical and collected persons treatment of philosophy |
1B |
|
110-119 |
Metaphysics |
1A |
|
120-129 |
Epistemology, causation, humankind |
1A |
|
130-139 |
Paranormal phenomena |
1A |
|
140-149 |
Specific philosophical schools and viewpoints |
1A |
|
150-159 |
Psychology |
2A |
|
160-169 |
Logic |
1A |
|
170 |
Ethics (Moral philosophy) |
2A |
|
171 |
Ethical systems |
2A |
|
172 |
Political ethics |
3A |
|
173 |
Ethics of family relationships |
1A |
|
174 |
Occupational ethics |
2B |
|
175 |
Ethics of recreation, leisure, public performances, communication |
1 |
|
176 |
Ethics of sex and reproduction |
3 |
|
177 |
Ethics of social relations |
3 |
|
178 |
Ethics of consumption |
3A |
|
179 |
Other ethical norms |
1A |
180 Philosophy
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
180-189 |
Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy |
1A |
|
190-199 |
Modern western and other non-Oriental philosophy |
1A |
Religion
200 Religion
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 200 | Religion | 2A |
| 200.973
|
History of Religion in the United States |
2A |
|
200.9747 |
History of Religion in New York State |
4 |
|
201-209 |
Philosophy and theory of Christianity |
1A |
|
210-219 |
Philosophy and theory of religion |
1A |
|
220-229 |
Bible |
1A |
|
230-279 |
Christianity (specific elements of Christianity) |
1A |
|
200.973 |
History of Religion in the United States |
2A |
|
200.9747 |
History of Religion in New York State |
4 |
|
201-209 |
Philosophy and theory of Christianity |
1A |
|
210-219 |
Philosophy and theory of religion |
1A |
|
220-229 |
Bible |
1A |
|
230-279 |
Christianity (specific elements of Christianity) |
1A |
|
277.4 |
Christian Church in the Northeastern United States |
2A |
|
277.47 |
Christian Church in New York State |
4 |
|
280-289 |
Denominations and sects of Christian church |
1A |
|
289.8 |
Shakers |
4 |
|
290-299 |
Comparative religion and religions other than Christianity |
1A |
|
296.47 |
Judaism in New York State |
4 |
Social Sciences
300 Social Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
300 |
Social sciences |
2A |
|
301 |
Sociology and anthropology |
2A |
|
302 |
Social interaction |
2A |
|
303 |
Social processes |
2A |
|
304 |
Factors affecting social behavior |
2A |
|
305 |
Social groups |
2A |
|
306 |
Culture and institutions |
2A |
|
307 |
Communities |
2A |
|
308-309 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
310 |
Collections of general statistics |
2A |
|
311-313 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
313.17 |
General statistics of North America |
2A |
|
313.73 |
General statistics of the U.S. |
3C |
|
314-319 |
General statistics of specific continents, countries, localities in modern world |
1B |
|
320 |
Political science (Politics and government) |
2A |
|
321 |
Systems of governments and states |
2A |
|
322 |
Relation of the state to organized groups and their members |
2A |
|
|
" as related to NYS |
3C |
|
323 |
Civil and political rights |
2A |
|
|
" as related to NYS |
3C |
|
324 |
The political process |
2A |
|
|
" as related to NYS |
3C |
324.2 Social Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
324.2 |
Political parties |
2A |
|
|
" as related to NYS |
4 |
|
324.5 |
Nominating candidates |
2A |
|
|
" as related to NYS |
4 |
|
324.6 |
Election systems and procedures; suffrage |
2A |
|
|
" as related to NYS |
4 |
|
324.7 |
Conduct of election campaigns |
2A |
|
|
"as related to NYS |
4 |
|
325 |
International migration and colonization |
2A |
|
326 |
Slavery and emancipation |
2A |
|
327 |
International relations |
1B |
|
328 |
The legislative process (U.S. and NYS only) |
4 |
|
329 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
330 |
Economics |
1B |
|
331 |
Labor economics |
2A |
|
|
" " " as related to US & NYS |
3C |
|
332 |
Financial economics |
3A |
|
333 |
Economics of land and energy |
2A |
|
|
" " " as related to Northeast bioregion |
3C |
|
334 |
Cooperatives |
1A |
|
335 |
Socialism and related systems |
1A |
|
|
NYS movements |
2B |
|
336 |
Public finance |
1A |
|
|
" " " as related to US |
3A |
|
|
" " " as related to NYS |
4 |
|
337 |
International economics |
2A |
338 Social Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
338 |
Production |
2A |
|
|
" as related to US/NYS |
3B |
|
339 |
Macroeconomics and related topics |
2A |
|
340 |
Law |
3A |
|
340.3 |
Law reform |
2B |
|
341 |
International law |
2B |
|
341.026 |
Treaties and cases |
3A |
|
|
except Native Americans of NYS |
4 |
|
342 |
Constitutional and administrative law |
4 |
|
343 |
Military, defense, public property, public finance, tax, trade (commerce), industrial law |
4 |
|
344 |
Labor, social service, education, cultural law |
3B |
|
345 |
Criminal law |
3A |
|
346 |
Private law |
3B |
|
347 |
Civil procedures and courts |
4 |
|
348 |
Laws (Statutes), regulations, cases |
3B |
|
349 |
Law of specific jurisdictions, areas, socioeconomic regions |
2B |
|
350 |
Public administration and military science (US & NYS) |
2A |
|
351 |
Public administration |
3C |
|
351.91 |
Grievances and claims against the state including ombudsman system |
3A |
|
352 |
General considerations of public administration |
3C |
|
353 |
Specific fields of public administration |
4 |
354 Social Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
354 |
Public administration of economy and environment |
4 |
|
355 |
Military science |
1A |
|
356-359 |
Specific kinds of military forces and warfare |
1A |
|
360 |
Social problems and services; associations |
3C |
|
361 |
Social problems and social welfare in general |
3C |
|
362 |
Social welfare problems and services |
3C |
|
363 |
Other social problems and services |
3C |
|
364 |
Criminology |
3C |
|
365 |
Penal and related institutions |
2B |
|
365.9747 |
Penal institutions in NYS |
4 |
|
366 |
Associations |
1A |
|
367 |
General clubs |
1A |
|
368 |
Insurance |
2B |
|
369 |
Miscellaneous kinds of associations |
1B |
|
370 |
Education (General) |
3C |
|
371 |
Schools and their activities; special education |
4 |
|
372 |
Elementary education |
4 |
|
373 |
Secondary education |
4 |
|
374 |
Adult education |
4 |
|
375 |
Curricula |
3C |
|
375.747 |
Curricula (NYSED only) |
5 |
|
376 |
Education of women - relocated to 371.822 |
|
377 Social Sciences
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 376 | Religious schools - relocated to 371.07 | |
| 378 | Higher education | 4 |
|
379 |
Public policy issues in education |
4 |
|
380 |
Commerce, communications, transportation |
2B |
|
381 |
Internal commerce (Domestic trade) |
3C |
|
382 |
International commerce (Foreign trade) |
3C |
|
383 |
Postal communication |
2B |
|
384 |
Communications Telecommunication |
2B |
|
385 |
Railroad transportation |
2B |
|
386 |
Inland waterway and ferry transportation |
2B |
|
387 |
Water, air, space transportation |
2B |
|
388 |
Transportation Ground transportation |
2B |
|
389 |
Metrology and standardization |
2B |
|
390 |
Customs, etiquette, folklore |
1A |
|
391 |
Costume and personal appearance |
1B |
|
392 |
Customs of life cycle and domestic life |
1A |
|
393 |
Death customs |
1A |
|
394 |
General customs |
1A |
|
395 |
Etiquette (Manners) |
1A |
|
396-397 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
398 |
Folklore |
1A |
|
398.747 |
Folklore (as related to NYS) |
4 |
|
399 |
Customs of war and diplomacy |
1B |
Language
400 Language
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 400 | Language (General) | 1B |
| 401 | Philosophy and theory | 1B |
| 402 | Miscellany | 1A |
| 403 | Dictionaries, encyclopedias, concordances | 3A |
| 404 | Special topics | 1A |
| 405-406 | Standard subdivisions | 1A |
| 407 | Education, research & related topics | 2B |
| 408 |
Treatment of language with respect to kinds of persons |
1A |
|
409 |
Geographic & persons treatment |
1A |
|
410 |
Linguistics |
1B |
|
411 |
Writing systems |
1A |
|
412 |
Etymology |
1A |
|
413 |
Dictionaries (Polyglot) |
1A |
|
414 |
Phonology and phonetics |
1A |
|
415 |
Grammar |
1A |
|
416 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
417 |
Dialectology and historical (diachronic) linguistics |
1A |
|
418 |
Standard usage (Prescriptive linguistics) |
1B |
|
419 |
Structured verbal language |
1B |
420 Language
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
420 |
English and Old English (Anglo-Saxon) |
2A |
|
421 |
Writing system, phonology, phonetic of standard English |
2A |
|
422 |
Etymology of standard English |
2A |
|
423 |
Dictionaries of standard English |
3B |
|
424 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
425 |
Grammar of standard English |
2B |
|
426 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
427 |
Historical and geographic variations, modern nongeographic variations |
1A |
|
428 |
Standard English usage (Prescriptive linguistics) |
|
|
|
Applied linguistics |
2A |
|
429 |
Old English (Anglo-Saxon) |
1A |
|
430-439 |
Germanic (Teutonic) languages (German) |
0 |
|
|
Except 433 Dictionaries |
1A |
|
|
Except 439.1 Dutch |
3A |
|
440-449 |
Romance Languages French |
0 |
|
|
Except: 443 Dictionaries |
1A |
| 445
|
Grammar of standard French |
1A |
|
450-459 |
Italian, Sardinian, Dalmatian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic languages (General) |
0 |
|
|
Except: 453 Dictionaries |
1A |
| 455 | Grammar of standard Italian | 1A |
460 Language
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
460-469 |
Spanish and Portuguese language (General) |
1A |
|
|
Except: 463 Dictionaries |
1A |
| 465
|
Grammar of standard Spanish |
1A |
|
470-479 |
Italic languages, Latin |
0 |
|
|
Except: 473 Dictionaries |
1A |
| 475
|
Grammar of classical Latin |
1A |
|
480-489 |
Hellenic languages, Classical Greek (General) |
0 |
|
|
Except: 483 Dictionaries |
1A |
| 485
|
Grammar of classical Greek |
1A |
|
490-496 |
Other Languages (General) |
0 |
|
497 |
North American native languages (as related to NYS) |
4 |
|
498 |
South American native languages |
1A |
|
499 |
Non-Austronesian languages of Oceania, Austronesian languages, miscellaneous languages |
0 |
Natural Sciences and Mathematics
500 Natural Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
500 |
Natural sciences and mathematics |
1A |
|
501 |
Philosophy and theory |
1A |
|
502 |
Miscellany |
1A |
|
503-506 |
Standard subdivisions |
|
|
507 |
Education, research, related topics |
1A |
|
508 |
Natural history |
2B |
|
508.747 |
Natural history (NYS and environs) |
3B |
|
509 |
Historical, geographic, persons treatment |
1A |
|
510 |
Mathematics |
1A |
|
511 |
General principles of mathematics |
1A |
|
512 |
Algebra, number theory |
1A |
|
513 |
Arithmetic |
1A |
|
514 |
Topology |
1A |
| 515 | Analysis | 1A |
| 516 | Geometry | 1A |
| 517-518 | (Unassigned) | |
| 519 |
Probabilities and applied mathematics |
1A |
| 520 |
Astronomy and allied sciences |
1A |
| 521 | Celestial mechanics | 1A |
| 522 | Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, Materials | 1A |
523 Natural Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
523 |
Specific celestial bodies and phenomena |
1A |
|
524 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
525 |
Earth (Astronomical geography) |
1A |
|
526 |
Mathematical geography |
1A |
|
527 |
Celestial navigation |
1A |
|
528 |
Ephemerides |
1A |
|
529 |
Chronology |
1A |
|
530 |
Physics |
1A |
|
531 |
Classical mechanics Solid mechanics |
1A |
|
532 |
Fluid mechanics Liquid mechanics |
1A |
|
533 |
Mechanics of gases |
1A |
|
534 |
Sound and related vibrations |
1A |
|
535 |
Light and paraphotic phenomena |
1A |
|
536 |
Heat |
1A |
|
537 |
Electricity and electronics |
1A |
|
538 |
Magnetism |
1A |
|
539 |
Modern physics |
1A |
|
540 |
Chemistry and allied sciences |
1A |
|
541 |
Physical and theoretical chemistry |
1A |
542 Natural Sciences
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 542 |
Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, materials |
1A |
| 543 | Analytical chemistry | 1A |
| 544 | Qualitative chemistry | 1A |
| 545 | Quantitative chemistry | 1A |
| 546 | Inorganic chemistry | 1A |
|
547 |
Organic chemistry |
1A |
|
548 |
Crystallography |
2B |
|
549 |
Mineralogy |
2B |
|
549.0974 |
as related to NYS |
3B |
|
550 |
Earth sciences |
1A |
|
550.0974 |
as related to NYS |
3B |
|
551 |
Geology, hydrology, meteorology |
1A |
|
551.0974 |
as related to NYS |
3B |
|
552 |
Petrology |
1A |
|
552.0974 |
as related to NYS |
3B |
|
553 |
Economic geology |
1A |
|
554-559 |
Earth sciences by specific continents, countries, Localities in modern world; extraterrestrial world |
1A |
|
560 |
Paleontology Paleozoology |
1A |
|
560.0974 |
Paleontology (NYS and environs) |
3B |
|
561 |
Paleobotany; fossil microorganisms |
1A |
|
561.0974 |
Geographic treatment of fossil plants (NYS and environs) |
3B |
|
562 |
Fossil invertebrates |
1A |
|
563 |
Miscellaneous fossil marine and seashore invertebrates |
1A |
564 Natural Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
564 |
Fossil Mollusca and Molluscoidea |
1A |
|
565 |
Fossil Arthropoda |
1A |
|
566 |
Fossil Chordata |
1A |
|
567 |
Fossil cold-blooded vertebrates |
1A |
|
68 |
Fossil Aves (birds) |
1A |
|
569 |
Fossil Mammalia |
1A |
|
570 |
Life Sciences Biology |
3A |
|
571 |
Physiology and related subjects |
2A |
|
572 |
Biochemistry |
3A |
|
573 |
Specific physiological systems in animals, Regional histology, and physiology |
3A |
|
574 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
575 |
Specific parts of and physiological systems in plants |
2B |
|
576 |
Genetics and evolution |
3A |
| 577 | Ecology | 3A |
| 577.0974 |
Ecology (NYS and Northeast environs) |
4 |
| 578 |
Natural history of organisms and related subjects |
2A |
| 579 | Microorganisms, fungi, algae | 2A |
| 580 | Plants | 2B |
| 580.0974 | Plants (NYS and Northeast environs) | 4 |
| 581 |
Specific topics in the natural history of plants |
2B |
581.0974 Natural Sciences
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
581.0974 |
Specific topics in the natural history of plants (NYS) |
4 |
|
582 |
Plants noted for specific vegetative characteristics |
2B |
|
583-588 |
Specific taxonomic groups of plants |
3A |
|
589 |
Thallophyta - relocated to 579 |
|
|
590 |
Animals |
2B |
|
590.0974 |
Animals (NYS and Northeast environs) |
4 |
|
591 |
Specific topics in natural history of animals |
2B |
|
591.0974 |
Specific topics in natural history of animals (NYS) |
4 |
|
592 |
Invertebrates |
2B |
|
593 |
Miscellaneous marine and seashore invertebrates |
2B |
|
594 |
Mollusca and Molluscoidea |
3C |
|
595 |
Arthropoda |
3A |
|
596 |
Chordata |
3A |
|
597 |
Cold-blooded vertebrates Piscea (Fish) |
3A |
|
598 |
Aves (Birds) |
3A |
|
599 |
Mammalia (Mammals) |
3A |
Technology (Applied Science)
600 Technology
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 600 | Technology | 2B |
|
601 |
Philosophy and theory |
2A |
|
602 |
Miscellany |
1A |
|
602.75 |
Trademarks and service marks |
4 |
|
603 |
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, concordances |
3A |
|
604 |
Technical drawing, hazardous materials technology, history and description with respect to kinds of persons |
2B |
|
604.7 |
Hazardous materials technology |
3C |
|
605 |
Serial publications |
2A |
|
606 |
Organizations |
2A |
|
607 |
Education, research, related topics |
1A |
|
608 |
Inventions and patents (U.S.) |
4 |
|
609 |
Historical, geographic, persons treatment |
2A |
|
610-619 |
Medical serials |
3A |
|
610 |
Medical sciences Medicine (standard subdivisions, medical personnel, nursing) |
2A |
|
611 |
Human anatomy |
2A |
|
612 |
Human physiology |
2B |
|
613 |
Promotion of health |
2A |
|
614 |
Forensic medicine, incidence of disease, public preventive medicine |
3A |
|
615 |
Pharmacology and therapeutics |
2A |
|
616 |
Diseases |
3A |
617 Technology
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
617 |
Miscellaneous branches of medicine Surgery |
3A |
|
618 |
Other branches of medicine, Gynecology and obstetrics |
3A |
|
619 |
Experimental medicine |
2A |
|
620 |
Engineering and allied operations |
2A |
|
620.4 |
Engineering for specific geographical regions (NYS and environs) |
4 |
|
620.8 |
Human factors and safety engineering |
3C |
|
621 |
Applied physics |
2A |
|
622 |
Mining and related operations |
2A |
| 623 | Military and nautical engineering | 2A |
| 624 | Civil engineering | 3A |
| 625 | Engineering of railroads and roads | 3A |
| 626 | (Unassigned) | |
| 627 | Hydraulic engineering | 3A |
| 628 |
Sanitary and municipal engineering Environmental protection engineering |
3B |
| 629 | Other branches of engineering | 1B |
| 629.04 | Transportation engineering | 3A |
| 629.895 | Computerized process control | 2A |
| 630 | Agriculture and related technologies | 3A |
| 631 |
Specific techniques, apparatus, equipment, materials |
2A |
| 632 | Plant injuries, diseases, pests | 3C |
633 Technology
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
633 |
Field and plantation crops |
2A |
|
634 |
Orchards, fruits, forestry |
3A |
|
635 |
Garden crops (Horticulture) Vegetables |
2A |
|
636 |
Animal husbandry |
3A |
|
637 |
Processing dairy and related products |
3A |
|
638 |
Insect culture |
2A |
|
639 |
Hunting, fishing, conservation, related technologies |
1A |
|
|
" (NYS and environs) |
3A |
|
640 |
Home economics and family living |
1A |
|
641 |
Food and drink |
1A |
|
641.5974 |
Cooking characteristics of specific geographic Environments, ethnic cooking (as related to NYS and the Shakers) |
3A |
|
642 |
Meals and table service |
0 |
|
643 |
Housing and household equipment |
0 |
|
644 |
Household utilities |
0 |
|
645 |
Household furnishings |
0 |
|
646 |
Sewing, clothing, management of personal and family living |
0 |
|
647 |
Management of public households (Institutional housekeeping) |
1A |
| 648 | Housekeeping | 0 |
| 649 |
Child rearing and home care of sick and infirm |
0 |
| 650 | Management and auxiliary services | 2B |
651 Technology
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
651 |
Office services |
2B |
|
652 |
Processes of written communication |
1A |
|
653 |
Shorthand |
0 |
|
654-656 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
657 |
Accounting |
2A |
|
658 |
General management |
3A |
|
659 |
Advertising and public relations |
2A |
|
660 |
Chemical engineering and related technologies |
2A |
|
661 |
Technology of industrial chemicals |
2A |
|
662 |
Technology of explosives, fuels, related products |
2A |
|
663 |
Beverage technology |
2A |
|
664 |
Food technology |
2A |
|
665 |
Technology of industrial oils, fats, waxes, gases |
2A |
|
666 |
Ceramic and allied technologies |
2A |
|
667 |
Cleaning, color, coating and related technologies |
2A |
|
668 |
Technology of other organic products |
2A |
|
669 |
Metallurgy |
2A |
|
670 |
Manufacturing |
3A |
|
671 |
Metalworking processes & primary metal products |
2A |
|
672 |
Iron, steel, other iron alloys |
2A |
|
673 |
Nonferrous metals |
2A |
|
674 |
Lumber processing, wood products, cork |
2A |
|
675 |
Leather and fur processing |
2A |
676 Technology
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 676 | Pulp and paper technology | 2A |
| 677 | Textiles | 2A |
| 678 | Elastomers and elastomer products | 2A |
|
679 |
Other products of specific kinds of materials |
2A |
|
680 |
Manufacture of products for specific uses |
1A |
|
681 |
Precision instruments and other devices |
1A |
|
682 |
Small forge work (Blacksmithing) |
1A |
|
683 |
Hardware and household appliances |
1A |
|
684 |
Furnishings and home workshops |
1A |
|
685 |
Leather and fur goods, and related manufactures |
1A |
|
686 |
Printing and related activities |
1A |
|
687 |
Clothing and accessories |
1A |
|
688 |
Other final products, and packaging technology |
1A |
|
689 |
(Unassigned) |
|
|
690 |
Buildings |
2A |
|
691 |
Building materials |
2A |
|
692 |
Auxiliary construction practices |
2A |
|
693 |
Construction in specific types of materials and for Specific purposes |
2A |
|
694 |
Wood construction |
2A |
|
695 |
Roof covering |
2A |
|
696 |
Utilities |
2A |
697 Technology
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
697 |
Heating, ventilating, air-conditioning engineering |
2A |
|
698 |
Detail finishing |
2A |
|
699 |
(Unassigned) |
|
The Arts
700 The Arts
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 700 | The Arts - Fine and decorative arts | 1A |
| 701 | Philosophy and theory of fine and decorative arts | 0 |
| 702 |
Miscellany of fine and decorative arts |
0 |
| 703
|
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, concordances of fine and decorative arts |
1A
|
|
704 |
Special topics in fine and decorative arts |
1A |
|
705-706 |
Standard subdivisions of fine and decorative arts |
1A |
|
707 |
Education, research, related topics of fine and decorative arts |
A |
|
708 |
Galleries, museums, private collections of fine and decorative arts |
1A |
|
708.747.1 |
Galleries, museums, private collections of fine and decorative arts in NYS (especially outside NYC) |
3A |
|
709 |
Historical, geographic, persons treatment of fine and decorative arts |
1A |
|
709.747 |
Fine and decorative arts of NYS (especially outside NYC) |
3A |
|
710 |
Civic and landscape art |
1B |
|
711 |
Area planning (Civic art) |
2B |
|
712 |
Landscape architecture (Landscape design) |
1B |
|
713 |
Landscape architecture of trafficways |
2B |
|
714 |
Water features in landscape architecture |
1B |
715 The Arts
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 715 | Woody plants in landscape architecture | 1B |
| 716 |
Herbaceous plants in landscape architecture |
1B |
| 717 | Structures in landscape architecture | 1B |
| 718 | Landscape design of cemeteries | 1B |
| 719 | Natural landscapes | 1B |
| 720 | Architecture | 1B |
| 721 | Architectural structure | 1B |
| 722 |
Architecture from earliest times to ca. 300 |
0 |
| 723 | Architecture from ca. 300 to 1399 | 0 |
| 724 | Architecture from 1400 | 1A |
| 725 | Public structures | 1B |
|
726 |
Buildings for religious and related purposes |
1A |
|
727 |
Buildings for educational and research purposes |
2B |
|
728 |
Residential and related buildings |
1B |
|
729 |
Design and decoration of structures and accessories |
1A |
|
730 |
Plastic arts - sculpture |
0 |
|
731 |
Processes, forms, subjects of sculpture |
0 |
|
732 |
Sculpture from earliest times to ca. 500, sculpture of nonliterate peoples |
0 |
|
733 |
Greek, Etruscan, Roman sculpture |
0 |
|
734 |
Sculpture from ca. 500 to 1399 |
0 |
735 The Arts
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
735 |
Sculpture from 1400 |
0 |
|
736 |
Carving and carvings |
0 |
|
737 |
Numismatics and sigillography |
1A |
|
738 |
Ceramic arts |
1A |
|
739 |
Art metalwork |
1A |
|
740 |
Drawing, and decorative arts |
1A |
|
741 |
Drawing and drawings |
1A |
|
742 |
Perspective in drawing |
1A |
|
743 |
Drawing and drawings by subject |
1A |
|
745 |
Decorative arts |
1A |
|
745.974 |
Folk art of NYS |
3A |
|
746 |
Textile arts |
1A |
|
747 |
Interior decoration |
1A |
|
748 |
Glass |
1A |
|
748.974 |
Glassmakers, glassware (as related to NYS) |
3A |
|
749 |
Furniture and accessories |
1A |
|
749.974 |
Furniture and accessories (as related to NYS) |
3A |
|
750 |
Painting and paintings |
1A |
|
751 |
Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, materials, forms |
1A |
|
752 |
Color in painting |
1A |
|
753 |
Symbolism allegory, mythology, legend in painting |
1A |
754 The Arts
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
754 |
Genre painting |
1A |
|
755 |
Religion and religious symbolism in painting |
1A |
|
757 |
Human figures |
1A |
|
758 |
Other subjects in painting |
1A |
|
758.10974 |
Paintings of NYS landscapes |
3A |
|
759 |
Painting and paintings: Historical and geographical treatment |
1A |
|
760 |
Painting and painters: Historical and geographical treatment (as related to NYS) |
3A |
|
760 |
Graphic arts Printmaking and prints |
1A |
|
761 |
Relief processes (Block printing) |
1A |
|
763 |
Lithographic (Planographic) processes |
1A |
|
764 |
Chromolithography and serigraphy |
1A |
|
765 |
Metal engraving |
1A |
|
766 |
Mezzotinting, aquatinting, related processes |
1A |
|
767 |
Etching and drypoint |
1A |
|
769 |
Prints |
1A |
|
769.974 |
Printmaking and prints (as related to NYS) |
4 |
|
770 |
Photography and photographs |
1A |
|
770.974 |
Photography and photographers (as related to NYS) |
3A |
|
771 |
Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, materials |
1A |
|
772 |
Metallic salt processes in photography |
1A |
773 The Arts
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 773 | Pigment processes of printing | 1A |
| 774 | Holography | 1A |
| 778 |
Specific fields and special kinds of photography, cinematography and video production; related activities |
1A |
| 779 | Photographs | 1A |
| 779.974 | Photographs (as related to NYS) | 3A |
| 780 | Music | 1A |
|
781 |
General principles and musical forms |
1A |
|
782 |
Vocal music |
1A |
|
782.974 |
Vocal music (as related to NYS, especially outside NYC) |
3A |
|
783 |
Music for single voices |
1A |
|
784 |
Instruments and instrumental ensembles and their music |
1A |
|
785 |
Ensembles with only one instrument per part |
1A |
|
786 |
Keyboard, mechanical, electrophonic, percussion instruments |
1A |
|
787 |
Stringed instruments |
1A |
|
788 |
Wind instruments |
1A |
|
790 |
Recreational and performing arts |
1A |
|
791 |
Public performances |
1A |
792 The Arts
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
792 |
Stage presentations |
1A |
|
793 |
Indoor games and amusements |
1A |
|
794 |
Indoor games of skill |
1A |
|
795 |
Games of chance |
1A |
|
795.974 |
Games of chance (as related to NYS) |
3A |
|
796 |
Athletic and outdoor sports and games |
1A |
|
797 |
Aquatic and air sports |
1A |
|
798 |
Equestrian sport and animal racing |
1A |
|
798.974 |
Horse racing Flat racing (as related to NYS) |
3A |
|
799 |
Fishing, hunting, shooting |
0 |
|
799.974 |
Fishing, hunting, shooting (as related to NYS) |
2B |
Literature
800 Literature
| Dewey Class | Subject Group | Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 800 |
Literature (Belles-lettres) andrhetoric |
1A |
| 801 | Philosophy and theory | 1A |
| 802 | Miscellany about literature | 1A |
|
803 |
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, concordances for literature |
1A |
|
805 |
Serial publications for literature |
1A |
|
806 |
Organizations for literature |
1A |
|
807 |
Study and teaching of literature |
2B |
|
808 |
Rhetoric and collections of literary texts from more than two literatures |
1A |
|
809 |
History, description, critical appraisal of more than two literatures |
1A |
|
810-819 |
American literature in English |
2A |
|
810-819 |
American literature in English with NY themes |
3C |
|
820 |
English and Old English (Anglo-Saxon) literatures |
1A |
|
821-829 |
English literary forms |
1A |
|
830 |
Literatures of Germanic (Teutonic) languages, German literature |
1A |
|
831-839 |
German literary forms |
0 |
|
840 |
Literature of Romance languages French literature |
1A |
|
841-849 |
French literary forms |
0 |
850 Literature
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
| 850 | Literatures of Italian, Sardinian, Dalmatian, Romanian, Rhaeto- Romanic languages Italian literature | 1A |
|
851-858 |
Italian literary forms |
0 |
| 859 | Romanian and Rhaeto-Romanian literatures | |
|
860 |
Literatures of Spanish and Portuguese languages Spanish literature |
1A |
|
861-868 |
Spanish literary forms |
0 |
|
869 |
Portuguese literature |
0 |
|
870 |
Literatures of Italic languages Latin literature |
1A |
|
871-878 |
Latin literary forms |
0 |
|
879 |
Literatures of other Italic languages |
0 |
|
880 |
Literatures of Hellenic languages, Classical Greek literature |
1A |
| 881-888 | Classical Greek literature | 0 |
| 889 | Modern Greek literature | 0 |
| 890-899 | Literature of other specific languages and language families | 0 |
| Except | ||
| 897 | Literatures of North American native languages | 3A |
| 897.3 | Algonquin (NYS/Northeast) | 4 |
| 897.3 | Iroquois (NYS/Northeast) | 4 |
Geography and History
900 History
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
900-902 |
General history and philosophy and theory of history |
2a |
|
903 |
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, concordances of general history |
3a |
|
904-909 |
General history; serials, organizations, study and teaching |
2a |
|
910 |
General geography including travel |
2b |
|
911 |
Historical geography |
2a |
|
912 |
Graphic representations of surface of earth and extraterrestrial worlds |
3a |
|
912.747 |
Atlases/maps of NYS |
4 |
|
913-916 |
Geography and travel in Europe, Asia, Africa |
1a |
|
917 |
Geography of and travel in North America |
3a |
|
917.3 |
Geography of and travel in the United States |
3a |
|
917.47 |
Geography of and travel in NYS |
4 |
|
918 |
Geography of and travel in South America |
1a |
|
919 |
Geography of and travel in other parts of the world and extraterrestrial worlds |
1a |
|
920-928 |
General biography of persons in various fields |
1b |
|
929 |
Genealogy, names, insignia |
3a |
|
929.2 |
Genealogy, NYS families |
4 |
|
929.3 |
Genealogical sources |
4 |
|
930-969 |
General history of various countries of the world ex. North and South America |
1b |
931 History
|
Dewey Class |
Subject Group |
Collection Level |
|---|---|---|
|
970 |
General history of North America |
3A |
|
970.3 |
Iroquois and Algonquin Indians |
4 |
|
971 |
Canada |
2a |
|
972 |
Middle America including Mexico |
2a |
|
973 |
United States |
3a |
|
973.3 |
American Revolution and confederation, 1775-1789 [ex. as related to NYS and environs] |
2b (4) |
|
973.4 |
Constitutional period, 1789-1809 [ex. as related to NYS and environs] |
2b (4) |
|
973.7 |
Administration of Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865 (Civil War) [ex. as related to NYS and environs) |
2b (4) |
|
974 |
Northeastern United States (New England and Middle Atlantic states) |
2b |
|
974.7 |
New York State including New York City |
4 |
|
975-979 |
History of states other than New York State, New England or Mid- Atlantic states |
1b |
|
980-999 |
History of South America, Australia New Zealand, Polynesia and extraterrestrial worlds |
1a |
- Last Updated: Sep 16, 2024 11:52 AM
- URL: https://nyslibrary.libguides.com/collections
- Print Page