Internet Bibliographies

The Afro-American Newspaper Company of Baltimore's Web site which presents news from around the nation that is of interest to the African American community, as well as a virtual gallery of contemporary artists, an online community discussion, a Black History museum, and multicultural myths and fables for kids.
http://www.afro.com/

The NAACP provides advocacy information on a variety of cultural, educational, business, labor, and political issues.

A premier social service and civil rights organization, this web site includes programs, news, events, and local branches.

This web site provides information on business, finance, stocks, and technology as well as information on conferences and print subscription details for Black Enterprise magazine.

A one-stop career and self-development site for minorities.

An interactive, multimedia web course on the basics of investing from a partnership of the National Urban League and the Investment Company Institute Education Foundation.

A bi-monthly magazine on minority-and women-owned businesses, this web site includes the table of contents and subscription information.

This organization provides background and contact information for minorities.

Interactive maps, reports and statistics for the 2010 census. The Black Population Census Brief contains graphs and tables and is available as a PDF.

Information about the society, including its membership, board, and affiliated groups, as well as announcements on upcoming conferences, meetings, and publications are provided on this website.

History, objectives, and contacts for professional and student chapters.

Information on membership, regional conferences, careers, events, and scholarships.

United Negro College Fund (UNCF) awards scholarship, internship, fellowship and institutional grants to support students at the undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels. This website also includes a directory of historically black colleges and universities in the United States.

Excellent resource on African American genealogy. Features an e-mail newsletter, genealogy news, book recommendations and links to Web sites on African American cemeteries and African-Native American genealogy.

From MedlinePlus, this website contains information about health issues affecting African Americans, including the latest news, videos, journal articles, and statistics. MedlinePlus is administered by the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine.

From The Office of Minority Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website includes statistical data organized by health topic and links to full Census reports.

African American Studies subject guide from the University of Delaware including repositories, collections in several repositories and single repositories, and individual collections.

A resource guide for the study of African American history and culture from the Library of Congress.

This Library of Congress exhibition, The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the Library's incomparable African American collections. The special presentation is not only a highlight of what is on view in this major history exhibition, but also is a glimpse into the Library's vast holdings of African American materials. Both include a wide array of important and rare books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.

Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection (1818-1907) at the Library of Congress. Spans almost 100 years of African American history and culture.

For teachers, students and researchers, this website includes links to resources from the National Archives. Resources are organized by topic. Links to outside sources and bibliographies by other institutions, such as the Smithsonian and the Library of Congress, are also provided.

Comprehensive index of information concerning the Leagues, including histories, books, collectibles, player profiles and more.

An online reference guide to African American history with an encyclopedia of people, places and events in African American history, Global African history and the history of African Americans in the West. There is a directory of historically black colleges and universities. Full text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 1700s to the present are also available. It is maintained by Quintard Taylor, the Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History at the University of Washington, Seattle.

Part of the Library of Congress American Memory Project containing over 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery as well as 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

Located in Detroit, Michigan, the Charles H. Wright Museum is the world's largest on African American history and culture.

From the Library of Congress American Memory Project with 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, by African American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.

Virtual exhibitions and details about the museum with links to travel and tourism.

The National Park Service's Web site about its Underground Railroad project. Historic places and educational or interpretive programs associated with the Underground Railroad will become part of a network, eligible to use or display a uniform network logo, receive technical assistance and participate in program workshops.

One of the Research Libraries of the New York Public Library, the Schomburg Center promotes the study of the histories and cultures of people of African descent. This excellent resource includes a digital library of images of 19th century African Americans.

Duke University's library exhibit probing the life experiences of slaves from the late 18th century through the 19th century.

Balanced, reliable information about the people and places of New York that were involved in the activities of the Underground Railroad.

The full text of published works selected by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, one of the Research Libraries of the New York Public Library.

News for the African American community, including entertainment updates, business reports, and opinion pieces.

Savvy features on computers, health, home-buying tips, money, music, and more.

Online edition of the popular magazine for African American women with features on health, careers and lifestyle.

Online articles based on the current newsstand edition of this magazine which promotes healthy living for black women and their families.

A leading online source of black news, opinion, politics and culture. This site is owned by The Washington Post Company.

News, travel, arts, and business in Africa and the United States. Includes details of paper version.

From Columbia College Chicago, this site provides information for researchers, teachers and students, including podcasts, bibliographies and music lists, job listings, and several albums available for free online streaming.

A guide to rhythm and blues, rap, and traditional African American entertainment. Founded by Quincy Jones.