NYS Library Blog

We are one month away from the total solar eclipse! Many parts of New York state will be in the eclipse’s path of totality on April 8, which means that those areas will experience a total solar eclipse, if skies are clear. 

Schools, libraries, and cultural institutions across the state are busy planning many different eclipse-related events to engage learners of all ages in this rare phenomenon. The NYS Library's Eclipse Resources page includes virtual trainings, downloadable booklets, games, and activity and program ideas.  

The Eclipse Resources page also contains information on how to view an eclipse safely and where to obtain approved eclipse glasses before the big event.  

Don’t forget to check with your local public library to see what they have planned for the eclipse, and happy viewing! 

2023 tax forms are now available at the NYS Library. Federal 1040 and 1040 SR print forms and instruction booklets can be found on the 7th floor of the Cultural Education Center, just to the right of the Reference Desk. Look for New York State forms in the periodical displayer and federal forms on a table next to the periodical displayer. These materials are available in both English and Spanish. 

If you have questions about the forms available at the NYS Library, contact the NYS Library's Reference Desk by email or by phone during library hours. 

Are you looking for additional forms? Please contact the Department of Taxation and Finance for more information about obtaining NYS tax forms. You may also decide to download the forms. Contact the IRS for any information about federal forms and instructions. 

This information is available in the NYS Library FAQ. 

Happy Women’s History Month from the New York State Library! Did you know that our collections include many interesting items like stamps or magazines from different historical time periods? Visit us on the 7th floor of the Cultural Education Center to check out our exhibit which includes primary and secondary source documents about both the Suffrage and Anti-Suffrage movements.

Documents chosen for this exhibit present the power of voice with cultural elements. The exhibit shares how slogans, graphics and text can influence advocacy with either the Suffrage or Anti-Suffrage movements. For example, the Bloomer Schottisch score composed by William Dressler in 1851. The Bloomer Schottisch is in honor of Amelia Bloomer who was a strong advocate of the Women's Suffrage movement. Amelia Bloomer published the newspaper, the Lily in honor of women and was a supporter of women's clothes being less constrictive. Hence, the pantaloons or "bloomers" were created for women. The score has a great illustration of a woman highlighting her leg with a bloomer.

The exhibit also includes documents that highlight the art of persuasion. For example, the Baseball Schedule from the Women's Anti-Suffrage Association. The baseball schedule is quite detailed and relays information on how New York Women should be, that women and men were created differently to work in different spheres for the common good, how the husband in New York State pays the wife's bills, and how suffrage was defeated in twenty states. 

Selected items are from both the main Research Library and the Manuscripts and Special Collections unit. Unable to visit us in person? Join us virtually on Monday, March 25, 2024 for Celebrating the 19th Amendment. CTLE credit and educator’s guide will be provided with the 1 hour webinar on March 25, 2024.  

References for the Exhibit:

Blackwell, A. S. (1917). In the hands of her friends (cover). The Woman Citizen. 2(6).  

Blackwell, A. S. (1917). Keeping up with the plow. The Woman Citizen. 1(1), 10.

Bronson, M. (1920, November 13).  An Amendment to restore the rights of the people. The Woman Patriot, 4(46), 1-2.

Buckley, J. M. (1909?). The wrong and peril of woman suffrage. F. H. Revel company.

Burr, H. A. (1886). Woman suffrage cook book. Hattie A. Burr.

[Buttons]. (1895-1909). Gertrude Collier Papers (SC13804, folder 1). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Chapman Catt, C. (1912?). Do you know? In Woman suffrage, arguments and results. (2-3). National American Woman Suffrage Association.

[Collection of stamps supporting women’s suffrage]. (1915). (BRO2859). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.                                          

Coolidge, O. (1966). Women’s rights; the suffrage movement in America, 1848-1920. E. P. Dutton & Co., Inc.

Daniel, S. I. (1931). Women builders. Associated Publishers, Inc.

Dressler, W. (1851). The Bloomer Schottish [score]. William Hall and Son. (SCO344). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

DuBois, W. E. B. (1915, August). Votes for women (cover). The Crisis, 10(4).

Empire State Campaign Committee. (1915). A million women appeal to the voters of New York for justice. (BRO2856). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Empire State Campaign Committee. (1915). How to vote for woman suffrage amendment Election Day, November 2nd, 1915. (BRO2859). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Empire State Campaign Committee. (1915). Vote for women 1915 [envelope]. (BRO2859). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Finnegan, M. M. (1999). The suffrage blouse. Selling suffrage: Consumer culture & votes for women. Columbia University Press. 127.

Gattey, C. N. (1967). The Bloomer girls. Coward-McCann.

Gitto, M. (2020). New York State Library educator guide for the 19th Amendment: New York State Library documents of the women's suffrage and anti-suffrage movements. The University of the State of New York, The State Education Department, The New York State Library.

Good Housekeeping. (1920, November). Campbell’s soup advertisement. 71(4). 69.

Hanna, P. (1915). The Anti-Suffrage Rose [score]. Women’s Anti-Suffrage Association (SCO SC12607-130). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. http://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/44691143

Harper’s Bazar. (1869, June 12). The champions of women’s suffrage. 2(24), 381.

Hart, H. (1909). Woman suffrage: A national danger. T. Murby & Co.

Jones, B. W. (1990). Quest for equality: the life and writings of Mary Eliza Church Terrell, 1863-1954. Carlson Pub.

The Literary Digest. (1913). The pro-suffrage number of life magazine advertisement. 46(17). 977.

Logan, S. W. (1999). We are coming: the persuasive discourse of nineteenth-century Black women. Southern Illinois University Press.

Luce, H. R. (1920, October 28). “Congratulations (cover).”  Life, 76(1982).

Luce, H. R. (1917, November 1). Some (as yet) untried ways of winning the vote. Life, 70(1827), 706-707.

Luce, H. R. (1913, May 15). Take down the barriers. Life, 61(1594), 986.

Metcalfe, A.G. (1917). United we differ. Woman's effort: a chronicle of British women's fifty years struggle for citizenship (1865-1914). B.H. Blackwell.

Miller, A. D. (1915). Are women people? A book of rhymes for suffrage times. George H. Doran Company.

National American Woman Suffrage Association. (1912?). Woman suffrage, arguments and results; a collection of eight popular booklets covering together practically the entire field of suffrage claims and evidence. Designed especially for the convenience of suffrage speakers and writers and for the use of debaters and libraries. National American Woman Suffrage Association.

National Woman Suffrage Publishing Co., Inc. (1917). Twelve reasons why women should vote [broadside]. (BRO1140). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (1915). Anti-suffrage baseball schedule book. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 23). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (1915, October 31). [Envelope with a "Vote NO on Woman Suffrage" sticker]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). He can’t hold on much longer [political cartoon]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Home! [political cartoon]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Women’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Official ballot. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, folder 27). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917. (SC13339). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.  

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). The red behind the yellow, socialists working on suffrage. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074             

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Red Riding Hood revised. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, folder 19). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Special privileges New York State women have secured under male suffrage. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Suffragist-feminist ideal family life [political cartoons]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Think over these facts before voting on the Suffrage Amendment [broadside]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, EL). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Votes for women [political cartoon]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). We believe the men of the state capable of conducting the government [postcard]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (1915). Woman Suffrage has been defeated; Woman Suffrage is going, not coming [leaflet]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC 13339, folder 29). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.  https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Woman Suffrage Party. (1917). Suffrage as a war measure [broadside]. (BRO3054). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

Severn, B. (1967). Free but not equal: How women won the right to vote. J. Messner.

Terborg-Penn, R. (1998). African American women in the struggle for the vote, 1850-1920. Indiana University Press.

Tracey, W. (1919). Why shouldn’t they be good enough now [score]. Shapiro, Bernstein & Co. (SCO13309). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.    

This month, we’d like to take a moment to mark a special occasion in the nearly 40-year history of the NYLINE email list. On May 10, 2023, one of the most replied to and celebrated threads on the list began with a late afternoon inquiry about spice lending policies in public libraries.  

Over the next 48 hours and 30 posts, library workers from across New York State and beyond joined the conversation. Contributions included fantastic food puns and jokes, clever literary and cultural references, and the supportive words and camaraderie that subscribers can expect from the NYLINE list and the New York library community. Most importantly, the original poster received helpful examples for implementing a spice library in their community! 

We’d also like to address a spicy topic of our own related to the email lists. Recent changes to email authentication policies have caused some disruption across the NYLINE list, including automatic removals from the list. We thank you for your patience as we work through a solution and invite you to ask questions and seek support by emailing the NYLINE list manager.  

Revisit the Spice Library thread in the NYLINE list archives. 

Each month, the NYS Personal History Initiative posts a different challenge inviting New Yorkers to share their stories around a central theme. We’re excited to announce that the March theme is Going Green! 

March may still be at the tail end of winter, but we are seeing green in all the ways we can help the environment. We want to hear from you, too! Do you take part in your local recycling program? Do you like to plant your own vegetables or contribute to a community garden?  

Tell us how you are planning a greener future! Share your story!