NYS Library Blog

Today, as families of all kinds gather to give thanks, you have an excellent opportunity to begin your genealogy journey!

Thanksgiving dishes are a delicious way to connect with family history, as recipes often carry the flavors of cultural traditions. Grandma’s famous pie or the secret to Uncle Joe’s stuffing may trace back generations. Exploring the origins of these recipes opens a window into the past, blending history and heritage with every bite.  

Thanksgiving isn’t just about sharing a meal—it’s about savoring the stories behind it.

The NYS Library’s local history and genealogy collections can help you with your family research. Read on for more Thanksgiving history, as well as ideas for sharing your own stories. Click on any image below to enlarge it.

What’s Cooking in the Collections? 

Need some recipe inspiration? Look at these interesting recipes from our collections! And don’t forget to check out our Tasting History series for more recipe ideas and reviews from our wonderful Taste Testers!  

Plain and Easy

Here’s Hannah Glasse’s instructions on how to roast a turkey taken from the 1765 edition of her cookbook, The Art of Cookery:

Don't Mock It Until You've Tried It

Perhaps you’re looking to try something really new this Thanksgiving? How about some mock recipes from Helen Watkeys Moore’s 1918 cookbook Camouflage Cookery. From the foreword of the book: 

Its [the cookbook’s] object is to bring together palatable and economical recipes, by the best known American cooks, for those who wish to prepare wholesome and appetizing dishes. 

Undeniable Star Power

Or, maybe, this year you want to go with a theme? What better theme could there be than bacon? In this 1920’s cookbook, Armour’s Star Bacon Recipes, bacon is the central ingredient for every recipe! 

Celebrations Past and Present  

What was Thanksgiving like in the past? Here’s an entry from the 1870 diary of Emma Waite, a young black woman who lived in Saratoga Springs, New York.  

Extract from Emma Waite’s Diary (BD18715):  

November, Thursday 24. 1870.  

quite plesant for thanksgiving.  
I had a very nice time  
today we had a nice dinner  
and beer and burbun to  
wash it down and then I took  
tea with Mrs Jackson, and  
afterwards attended the Opera  
House to see Les Brigands.  
Silly took the principal part  

Share Your Story

Do you have a Thanksgiving story, tradition, or recipe to share? You can contribute to the historical record by adding your own objects to the NYS Personal History Initiative!  The NYS Library’s Personal History Initiative collects and preserves stories from individual New Yorkers and New York communities. The NYS Personal History Initiative accepts submissions directly through the New York Experience prompts. Everyone has a story. Share yours today! 

However you choose to celebrate, we hope you have a safe and joyful Thanksgiving! 

Today we're sharing three images from the Neil B. Reynolds Photograph Collection (NYSL MSC PRI5151). This collection contains almost two hundred amazing photographs Neil Reynolds took, most of them of his family while vacationing in the beautiful Adirondack Mountain region. 

The first photo shows a group of people enjoying a picnic (1920).

The second photo has three people who appear to be preparing an outdoor meal (1920).

And the last photo shows a man in a boat holding a up a fish. The caption on the back of that picture says, "Good bait for a good catch"!

You can explore more information and additional images from the Neil B. Reynolds Photograph Collection on our website.

Bonus: You can also contribute to the historical record by adding your own outdoor dining memories to the NYS Personal History Initiative! Everyone has a story. Upload your memories to share with others! 

In the run up for the 250th anniversary of the American Revolution we've been going through our collections and rediscovering some amazing treasures!  

This commission, dated 19 June 1775, named Philip Schuyler a major general, third in command under George Washington and commander of the Northern Department of the Continental Army.  

The most eye-catching part of this commission, though, is the quite recognizable signature of John Hancock, president of the Second Continental Congress. His large, distinctive signature is as striking here as it is on the Declaration of Independence!  

From the Van Rensselaer (Rensselaerwyck) Manor Papers (NYSL MSC SC7079). 

It’s almost time for the 2024 Olympic games! Here at the NYS Library, we’re getting ready for the games the only way we know how, by bringing out some winning items from our collections.

These three postcards from the NYS Library’s Manuscripts and Special Collections unit show scenes from Lake Placid, NY, home of the 1980 Winter Olympic Games and probably best known for the ice hockey tournament, the Miracle on Ice!  

Whether you’re looking forward to Paris 2024 or just thinking ahead to winter weather, we’re sure these snowy postcards will add some Olympic-sized cool to your day.

The postcards are from the NYS Library’s Abele Transportation History Collection, SC22662 (Box 31, Folder 5). 

P.S. Don’t miss Roni, the 1980 Winter Olympics mascot, a raccoon who features on the back of each postcard. 

Here at the New York State Library, we have myriads of flowers. It all depends on the angle through which you choose to view them.  For instance, we have art books with paintings of flowers. We have photography collections with flowers from all over the world. Then, we have more specialized tomes on topics such as arrangement, gardening, and reproduction. There are flowers through the lens of New York State: past festival brochures, exhaustive accounts of state flora, and much more. Whatever your choice, please enjoy the colorful view of May Flowers at the New York State Library!

Barnhart, R. M. (1983). Peach blossom spring: Gardens and flowers in Chinese paintings. Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

Bayley, K. (1909). Easter lilies: Reverie [score]. Koninsky Music Company. *

Botanical fine art weekly. (1894). Wild flowers of America: flowers of every state in the American union. By a corps of special artists and botanists.  

The book of flowers: Flora and Thalia; or gems of flowers and poetry. (1836). Carey, Lea, and Blanchard. 

Dreier, T. (1918, Jan.). The blue flower: A monthly magazine for lovers of flowers. Gloeckner.

Dunthorne, G. (1938). Flower and fruit prints of the 18th and early 19th centuries, their history, makers and uses, with a catalogue raisonné of the works in which they are found. Author. 

Erickson, R., George, A. S., Marchant, N. G., & Morcombe, M. K. (1973). Flowers and plants of western Australia. A. H. & A. W. Reed. 

Gerdts, W. H. (1983). Down garden paths: The floral environment in American art. Fairleigh Dickinson University Press. 

Goodale, G. L. (1894). The wild flowers of America. Bradlee Whidden. 

Grandville, J. I. (1865). The flowers personified. (N. Cleaveland; Trans.) J. Miller. 

House, H. (1921). Wild flowers of New York. University of the State of New York. *

Line, L., & Hodge, W. H. (1978). The Audubon Society book of wildflowers. Harry N. Abrams, Inc. *

Meeuse, B. (1984). The sex life of flowers. Facts on File.

Mitchell, P. (1973). Great flower painters: Four centuries of floral art. The Overlook Press. 

New York State Department of Commerce. (1981-1983). I love New York spring flower festival. 

Osgood, F. S. L. (1841). The poetry of flowers and flowers of poetry: To which are added, a simple treatise on botany, with familiar examples, and a copious floral dictionary. J. C. Riker. 

Perleberg, H. C. (1938). Fleurs en couleur. Author.  

Pratt, R. (1942). The picture garden book and gardener’s assistant. Howell, Sockin, Publishers, Inc. 

Preininger, M. (1936). Japanese flower arrangement for modern homes. Little, Brown, and Company. 

Prentice, T. M. (1973). Weeds & wildflowers of eastern North America. Peabody Museum of Salem. *

Proctor, J. (1978). Color in plants and flowers. Everest House. *

Pryke, P. (1993). Flowers, flowers!: Inspired arrangements for all occasions. Rizzoli. 

Redouté, P. J. (1982). Lilies, and related flowers. Overlook Press.

Reed, C. A. (1912). Wild flowers of New York. Mohonk Salesrooms. 

Sprague, I. (1887). Flowers of the field and forest: From original water-color drawings after nature. Nims and Knight.

Throop, C. W. (1879). Water color studies taken during two summers in Switzerland, 1877 & 1879 (BD23582). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library. Albany, NY. 

Torrey, J. (1843). A flora of the State of New York: Comprising full descriptions of all the indigenous and naturalized plants hitherto discovered in the state; with remarks on their economical and medicinal properties. Carroll and Cook. 

James Vick’s Sons. (1869). Vick’s illustrated guide for the flower garden and catalogue of seeds. James Vick. 

Willsdon, C. A. P. (2004). In the gardens of Impressionism. Vendome Press. 

Yoshida, T. (2002). Portraits of Himalayan flowers. Timber Press. 
 

Happy Women’s History Month from the New York State Library! Did you know that our collections include many interesting items like stamps or magazines from different historical time periods? Visit us on the 7th floor of the Cultural Education Center to check out our exhibit which includes primary and secondary source documents about both the Suffrage and Anti-Suffrage movements.

Documents chosen for this exhibit present the power of voice with cultural elements. The exhibit shares how slogans, graphics and text can influence advocacy with either the Suffrage or Anti-Suffrage movements. For example, the Bloomer Schottisch score composed by William Dressler in 1851. The Bloomer Schottisch is in honor of Amelia Bloomer who was a strong advocate of the Women's Suffrage movement. Amelia Bloomer published the newspaper, the Lily in honor of women and was a supporter of women's clothes being less constrictive. Hence, the pantaloons or "bloomers" were created for women. The score has a great illustration of a woman highlighting her leg with a bloomer.

The exhibit also includes documents that highlight the art of persuasion. For example, the Baseball Schedule from the Women's Anti-Suffrage Association. The baseball schedule is quite detailed and relays information on how New York Women should be, that women and men were created differently to work in different spheres for the common good, how the husband in New York State pays the wife's bills, and how suffrage was defeated in twenty states. 

Selected items are from both the main Research Library and the Manuscripts and Special Collections unit. Unable to visit us in person? Join us virtually on Monday, March 25, 2024 for Celebrating the 19th Amendment. CTLE credit and educator’s guide will be provided with the 1 hour webinar on March 25, 2024.  

References for the Exhibit:

Blackwell, A. S. (1917). In the hands of her friends (cover). The Woman Citizen. 2(6).  

Blackwell, A. S. (1917). Keeping up with the plow. The Woman Citizen. 1(1), 10.

Bronson, M. (1920, November 13).  An Amendment to restore the rights of the people. The Woman Patriot, 4(46), 1-2.

Buckley, J. M. (1909?). The wrong and peril of woman suffrage. F. H. Revel company.

Burr, H. A. (1886). Woman suffrage cook book. Hattie A. Burr.

[Buttons]. (1895-1909). Gertrude Collier Papers (SC13804, folder 1). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Chapman Catt, C. (1912?). Do you know? In Woman suffrage, arguments and results. (2-3). National American Woman Suffrage Association.

[Collection of stamps supporting women’s suffrage]. (1915). (BRO2859). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.                                          

Coolidge, O. (1966). Women’s rights; the suffrage movement in America, 1848-1920. E. P. Dutton & Co., Inc.

Daniel, S. I. (1931). Women builders. Associated Publishers, Inc.

Dressler, W. (1851). The Bloomer Schottish [score]. William Hall and Son. (SCO344). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

DuBois, W. E. B. (1915, August). Votes for women (cover). The Crisis, 10(4).

Empire State Campaign Committee. (1915). A million women appeal to the voters of New York for justice. (BRO2856). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Empire State Campaign Committee. (1915). How to vote for woman suffrage amendment Election Day, November 2nd, 1915. (BRO2859). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Empire State Campaign Committee. (1915). Vote for women 1915 [envelope]. (BRO2859). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

Finnegan, M. M. (1999). The suffrage blouse. Selling suffrage: Consumer culture & votes for women. Columbia University Press. 127.

Gattey, C. N. (1967). The Bloomer girls. Coward-McCann.

Gitto, M. (2020). New York State Library educator guide for the 19th Amendment: New York State Library documents of the women's suffrage and anti-suffrage movements. The University of the State of New York, The State Education Department, The New York State Library.

Good Housekeeping. (1920, November). Campbell’s soup advertisement. 71(4). 69.

Hanna, P. (1915). The Anti-Suffrage Rose [score]. Women’s Anti-Suffrage Association (SCO SC12607-130). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. http://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/44691143

Harper’s Bazar. (1869, June 12). The champions of women’s suffrage. 2(24), 381.

Hart, H. (1909). Woman suffrage: A national danger. T. Murby & Co.

Jones, B. W. (1990). Quest for equality: the life and writings of Mary Eliza Church Terrell, 1863-1954. Carlson Pub.

The Literary Digest. (1913). The pro-suffrage number of life magazine advertisement. 46(17). 977.

Logan, S. W. (1999). We are coming: the persuasive discourse of nineteenth-century Black women. Southern Illinois University Press.

Luce, H. R. (1920, October 28). “Congratulations (cover).”  Life, 76(1982).

Luce, H. R. (1917, November 1). Some (as yet) untried ways of winning the vote. Life, 70(1827), 706-707.

Luce, H. R. (1913, May 15). Take down the barriers. Life, 61(1594), 986.

Metcalfe, A.G. (1917). United we differ. Woman's effort: a chronicle of British women's fifty years struggle for citizenship (1865-1914). B.H. Blackwell.

Miller, A. D. (1915). Are women people? A book of rhymes for suffrage times. George H. Doran Company.

National American Woman Suffrage Association. (1912?). Woman suffrage, arguments and results; a collection of eight popular booklets covering together practically the entire field of suffrage claims and evidence. Designed especially for the convenience of suffrage speakers and writers and for the use of debaters and libraries. National American Woman Suffrage Association.

National Woman Suffrage Publishing Co., Inc. (1917). Twelve reasons why women should vote [broadside]. (BRO1140). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (1915). Anti-suffrage baseball schedule book. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 23). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (1915, October 31). [Envelope with a "Vote NO on Woman Suffrage" sticker]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). He can’t hold on much longer [political cartoon]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Home! [political cartoon]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Women’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Official ballot. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, folder 27). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917. (SC13339). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.  

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). The red behind the yellow, socialists working on suffrage. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074             

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Red Riding Hood revised. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, folder 19). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Special privileges New York State women have secured under male suffrage. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Suffragist-feminist ideal family life [political cartoons]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). Think over these facts before voting on the Suffrage Amendment [broadside]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, EL). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman’s Suffrage. (n.d.). Votes for women [political cartoon]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 21). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (n.d.). We believe the men of the state capable of conducting the government [postcard]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC13339, Folder 8). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.

New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. (1915). Woman Suffrage has been defeated; Woman Suffrage is going, not coming [leaflet]. Publications collection, 1839-1921. Bulk 1914-1917 (SC 13339, folder 29). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.  https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

New York State Woman Suffrage Party. (1917). Suffrage as a war measure [broadside]. (BRO3054). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122487074

Severn, B. (1967). Free but not equal: How women won the right to vote. J. Messner.

Terborg-Penn, R. (1998). African American women in the struggle for the vote, 1850-1920. Indiana University Press.

Tracey, W. (1919). Why shouldn’t they be good enough now [score]. Shapiro, Bernstein & Co. (SCO13309). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library, Albany, NY.    

Readers can find just about anything in a library, and as library workers, we’re always happy to help patrons discover all kinds of things between the pages of a book. Sometimes we even discover some surprising finds ourselves! Check out these buried treasures recently found in books from the NYS Library’s collections: 

First up is this winsome 1879 doodle and signature found on a book's end paper. This feathered friend was resting in a copy of Contributions to the early history of the Northwest including the Moravian missions in Ohio, by Samuel. P. Hildreth, M.D. Call no. 977 H64c. 

This next one will probably feel familiar to some readers out there! This grocery receipt from the early 20th century was used as a bookmark at some point. This dispatch from the past was found in a copy of Great conflagration. Chicago: its past, present and future. Embracing a detailed narrative of the great conflagration in the north, south, and west divisions...Also, a condensed history of Chicago, its population, growth and great public works. And a statement of all the great fires of the world, by James Washington Sheahan, 977.31 C531.  

Before dawn on August 2, 1826, Alexander Stewart Scott stepped aboard the steamboat Chambly in Quebec City, Canada. He was on vacation from his studies at law school and was on his way to visit family in western New York. Fortunately for us, he kept a diary of his trip. 

Traveling by steamboat, stage, canal packet, and wagon, his journey took him, via land and water, along a route defined by Lake Champlain, Lake George, and the Erie Canal. 

Scott was 21 years old; the Erie Canal was not yet one year old. (In operation in parts since 1819, it was not officially “opened” until October 26, 1825.)  

He sampled the waters at Saratoga Springs, about which, on August 16, he wrote: “they may be of ‘The Waters of life’ but they have a most villainous taste, extremely saline, and strongly impregnated, as I am told with Carbonic acid – the Village itself is a very handsome place …” 

Walking around Albany on September 25, he visited the New York State Library, which was housed in the Capitol. Of the library he wrote that it had “a small, but as far as I am able to judge a very choice collection of Books.” 

In his second-to-last journal entry, on Saturday, November 18, as he traveled by steamboat on the last leg of his journey, he obviously was bored and so he wrote: 

“…a long passage this; and which is rendered the more dull by the want of Books or something else to help one to kill time; a small Library is a very desirable thing on board of these public Packets, in this respect we are far inferior to the Americans, who … even in their Canal Boats have generally got a pretty good collection of works of different natures for the use of the Passengers – for the reading of which they are commonly charged at the rate of a cent a volume, and often nothing at all …” 

The cherry on the top of this sundae of a book is the expense account of his trip, which lists the places he visited, how many miles it was between his starting point and his destination, his method of transportation, and how much it cost to travel two hundred years ago. 

Scott’s hand-written diary can be viewed as part of the New York State Library’s Digital Collections.  

For teachers: An annotated transcript – with drawings and maps from other New York State Library collections – was published in 2019: Schneider, Paul G., Jr. Everything Worthy of Observation: The 1826 New York State Travel Journal of Alexander Stewart Scott (Albany, N.Y. : SUNY Press/Excelsior Editions)