October 16 has been designated as National Dictionary Day. TBBL has put together a list of all the different dictionaries we have available. It is a fun and eclectic collection!
The Charlie Brown Dictionary, BR003930, by Wendell W. Wright and Charles M. Schulz
This is a new dictionary designed for children to enjoy. Entries reflect the language children hear, speak, and read. For grades 2-4. 1975.
The dictionary of difficult words: with more than 400 perplexing words to test your wits, BR024414, by Jane Solomon
What is a bumbershoot? Or a moonbow? And what does it mean when someone absquatulates? All the words in this book are difficult to spell, hard to say, and their meaning is obscure to most children (and most adults)! Written with simple, easy-to-understand definitions, this dictionary celebrates the beauty of the English language for family trivia time spent around the printed page. For grades 2-4 and older readers. 2019.
The story of the dictionary, DB009587, by Robert Kraske
Lively account tracing the history of the dictionary and describing what goes into compiling a book that everybody uses. For grades 5-7. 2015.
Biographical dictionary of the world's inventors, DBF01050, by Jian Zho Xu
A biographical dictionary of many of the world's inventors throughout history. Chinese language, Cantonese dialect. 2021.
The Cook's Companion: A Dictionary of Culinary Tips and Terms, BR000790, by Frieda Arkin
Information on preparing, cooking, and storing numerous foods is presented in alphabetical order, along with a dictionary of cooking and menu terms, including some in French, German, and Italian. The many suggestions will help to prevent kitchen disasters. 1997.
The dictionary people: the unsung heroes who created the Oxford English Dictionary, DB119060, by Sarah Ogilvie.
A history and celebration of the many far-flung volunteers who helped define the English language, word by word. Unrated. Commercial audiobook. 2023.
The Dictionary of Clichés: a Word Lover's Guide to 4,000 Overused phrases and almost-pleasing platitudes, BR024435, by Christine Ammer
The largest, most comprehensive, and most entertaining reference of its kind features more than four thousand unique clichés and common expressions. Explores the phrases and terms that enliven our language and uncovers expressions that have long been considered dead. Each entry includes a thorough definition, origin of the term, and an insightful example. 2023.
The disheveled dictionary: A curious caper through our sumptuous lexicon, BR011545 and DB046298, by Karen Elizabeth Gordon
An alphabetical list of the author's favorite words, which she includes for their rhythm and rich sound. Some entries are well-known words while others are obscure. 1997.
Word by word the secret life of dictionaries, DB088482, by Kory Stamper
Recounts the process of creating dictionaries. Discusses questions of usage, the reasons why small words often are the most difficult to define, and how it can take nine months to define a single word. Presents a variety of small facts about the words that make up English. 2017.
Word mysteries and histories: from quiche to humble pie, BR007052, Houghton Mifflin Company
Offers a repast for the etymological gourmand. Inspired by queries from the dictionaries' readers, the book discusses the origin and usage of such unusual words as fizzle, jackanapes, posh, and sunbeam. 1986.