Governor Sulzer Impeached

Library Collections

Irving G. Vann Papers (SC11393): This collection contains a quantity of material related to the impeachment of Governor William Sulzer in 1913. A scrapbook, in Box 3, contains:

• clippings from New York State newspapers, at least two of which are in German, about the impeachment case;
• correspondence between lawyers on the case, and between the lawyers and Governor Sulzer; and
• typescript copies of telegrams in support of Governor Sulzer that were sent to him in August 1913.

Box 2 contains a copy of the Court of Impeachment Testimony, which contains the arguments, witnesses, and exhibits from the trial.

William Sulzer Scapbooks Collection (SC14320): This collection consists of scrapbooks containing original letters, printed speeches, news clippings, campaign literature and other memorabilia related primarily to Sulzer's career in New York State politics and government.  The exact date of compilation is not known, but the content of the volumes altogether range in date from about 1903 to 1938.

Public Papers of William Sulzer, Governor (January 1 to October 17, 1913): This volume, available online through the NYS Library's Digital Collections, contains the published papers from Sulzer's term as governor, including proclamations, messages to the Legislature, veto messages and memoranda, memoranda on legislative bills approved, emergency messages, appointments, designations, special terms of court, removal proceedings and investigations, and pardons, commutations, reprieves and requisitions.

Papers of Martin Henry Glynn, 1913-1924 (SC21255): The Glynn papers contain an assortment of manuscript and printed material (1913-1924) related primarily to Glynn's political career as well as his role as editor and publisher of the Albany Times Union. Glynn became governor after Sulzer was impeached.

For related materials search on "sulzer impeachment" in the New York State Library's online catalog.