NYS Library Blog

The E-Rate program is an important federal funding program that ensures libraries and schools have affordable access to modern telecommunications and information services. Public libraries and public library systems, not-for-profit special libraries, and reference and research library resources systems are all eligible to participate in the E-Rate program. E-Rate funding helps libraries purchase advanced telecommunications services, Internet connectivity, and internal connections to meet the information needs of New Yorkers. Libraries in New York State annually receive nearly $10 million dollars in E-Rate funding.  

Under FCC’s Learn Without Limits Initiative, there have been some exciting new developments in the E-Rate program which will expand funding opportunities for libraries and schools. These include a three-year cybersecurity pilot program and support for Wi-Fi hotspot lending programs. Both are open to both new and existing E-Rate participants.  

The cybersecurity pilot program is a three-year program designed to gather data on cybersecurity in schools and libraries, and determine if E-Rate funds can be used to better support cybersecurity costs and equipment. There will be a two-part application process, which opens in the fall of 2024. All eligible libraries, schools, and consortia are invited to apply using a new FCC Form 484. Those selected to participate in the pilot program will be asked for more detail information in part two of the application. Selected entities commit to participating through the full three years of the pilot program.  

On July 18, 2024, the FCC approved rules to permit eligible schools and libraries to request E-Rate support for Wi-Fi hotspots and mobile wireless internet services that can be used off-premises. This support will be available starting with the next E-Rate funding year (FY2025).  

Finally, a recent court decision has been making the news- the US Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit ruled that the Universal Service Fund (USF) structure is unconstitutional. This is the mechanism that provides funding for E-Rate and several other federal programs. The decision is likely to be appealed. NYS Library is following all developments in consultation with our E-Rate partners, E-Rate Central and the Schools, Health, and Libraries Broadband Coalition (SHLB). In the meantime, E-Rate funding and administration are not affected and applicants should proceed as usual.  

For more information about the E-Rate program and libraries, please visit the Division of Library Development’s E-Rate and NYS Libraries page. 

The NYS Library will be closed for the July 4 holiday. Don’t forget that you can still access tons of great information on the NYS Library website. Read on for tips and suggestions! 

Contribute to the Historical Record with the Personal History Initiative 

The experiences of all New Yorkers make up the foundation of our state's history. The goal of the NYS Personal History Initiative is to help New Yorkers tell their stories, and the NYS Library’s Manuscripts and Special Collections (MSC) unit encourages all New Yorkers to document their community’s history and experiences. 

You can read more about the Personal History Initiative or jump right in with one of our monthly prompts. The July prompt is summer adventure! 

Share your story!  

Register for an Upcoming Public Program 

Plan your next visit to the NYS Library! Our events calendar is always being updated with both onsite and virtual events from library staff and our trusted partners.  

Explore collections and resources 24/7  

• Search for books and other materials in the NYS Library catalog  
• Explore the Digital Collections  
• Search one of the many NOVELny databases available to all New Yorkers!   

Looking for more information? Check out the full list of NYS Library Electronic Resources.   

Here at the New York State Library, we have myriads of flowers. It all depends on the angle through which you choose to view them.  For instance, we have art books with paintings of flowers. We have photography collections with flowers from all over the world. Then, we have more specialized tomes on topics such as arrangement, gardening, and reproduction. There are flowers through the lens of New York State: past festival brochures, exhaustive accounts of state flora, and much more. Whatever your choice, please enjoy the colorful view of May Flowers at the New York State Library!

Barnhart, R. M. (1983). Peach blossom spring: Gardens and flowers in Chinese paintings. Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

Bayley, K. (1909). Easter lilies: Reverie [score]. Koninsky Music Company. *

Botanical fine art weekly. (1894). Wild flowers of America: flowers of every state in the American union. By a corps of special artists and botanists.  

The book of flowers: Flora and Thalia; or gems of flowers and poetry. (1836). Carey, Lea, and Blanchard. 

Dreier, T. (1918, Jan.). The blue flower: A monthly magazine for lovers of flowers. Gloeckner.

Dunthorne, G. (1938). Flower and fruit prints of the 18th and early 19th centuries, their history, makers and uses, with a catalogue raisonné of the works in which they are found. Author. 

Erickson, R., George, A. S., Marchant, N. G., & Morcombe, M. K. (1973). Flowers and plants of western Australia. A. H. & A. W. Reed. 

Gerdts, W. H. (1983). Down garden paths: The floral environment in American art. Fairleigh Dickinson University Press. 

Goodale, G. L. (1894). The wild flowers of America. Bradlee Whidden. 

Grandville, J. I. (1865). The flowers personified. (N. Cleaveland; Trans.) J. Miller. 

House, H. (1921). Wild flowers of New York. University of the State of New York. *

Line, L., & Hodge, W. H. (1978). The Audubon Society book of wildflowers. Harry N. Abrams, Inc. *

Meeuse, B. (1984). The sex life of flowers. Facts on File.

Mitchell, P. (1973). Great flower painters: Four centuries of floral art. The Overlook Press. 

New York State Department of Commerce. (1981-1983). I love New York spring flower festival. 

Osgood, F. S. L. (1841). The poetry of flowers and flowers of poetry: To which are added, a simple treatise on botany, with familiar examples, and a copious floral dictionary. J. C. Riker. 

Perleberg, H. C. (1938). Fleurs en couleur. Author.  

Pratt, R. (1942). The picture garden book and gardener’s assistant. Howell, Sockin, Publishers, Inc. 

Preininger, M. (1936). Japanese flower arrangement for modern homes. Little, Brown, and Company. 

Prentice, T. M. (1973). Weeds & wildflowers of eastern North America. Peabody Museum of Salem. *

Proctor, J. (1978). Color in plants and flowers. Everest House. *

Pryke, P. (1993). Flowers, flowers!: Inspired arrangements for all occasions. Rizzoli. 

Redouté, P. J. (1982). Lilies, and related flowers. Overlook Press.

Reed, C. A. (1912). Wild flowers of New York. Mohonk Salesrooms. 

Sprague, I. (1887). Flowers of the field and forest: From original water-color drawings after nature. Nims and Knight.

Throop, C. W. (1879). Water color studies taken during two summers in Switzerland, 1877 & 1879 (BD23582). New York State Library Manuscripts and Special Collections, New York State Library. Albany, NY. 

Torrey, J. (1843). A flora of the State of New York: Comprising full descriptions of all the indigenous and naturalized plants hitherto discovered in the state; with remarks on their economical and medicinal properties. Carroll and Cook. 

James Vick’s Sons. (1869). Vick’s illustrated guide for the flower garden and catalogue of seeds. James Vick. 

Willsdon, C. A. P. (2004). In the gardens of Impressionism. Vendome Press. 

Yoshida, T. (2002). Portraits of Himalayan flowers. Timber Press.