The Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation

Albany Army Relief Association. (1861-1869). Minute book, 1861-1869. [Portrait of Emily Weed Barnes]. (Manuscript, BD13614), New York State   Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122629680

Albany Army Relief Association. (1854). Army Relief Bazaar, Albany, in aid of the United States Sanitary Commission (Broadside, BRO0016+). New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/NY1505379

Albany Army Relief Bazaar. (1864). The Canteen. New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special  Collections, Albany, NY.

Albany Army Relief Bazaar. (1864, February 22). The Canteen. New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY. https://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ep/pdfs/canteennewsletter.pdf

[Albany Army Relief Bazaar collection, 1864]. (1864). Albany Army Relief Bazaar collection, 1864 (BD23263). New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY.

[Albany Army Relief Bazaar collection, 1864]. (1864). Raffle ticket for Lincoln's original draft of the Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation (Manuscript, BD23263). New York State Education Department, New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY. https://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ep/pdfs/lotteryticket.pdf

Barnes, W. (1904). Semi-centennial of the Republican Party : proceedings at the celebration at Saratoga Springs, September 14, 1904 : speeches by Frederick W. Seward. J.B. Lyon.

Bryant, W.C. (1864). Letters, 1864 (V22980). New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/105087592

Consider the Source New York, Archives Partnership Trust. (n.d.). 19th Century African American voting rights, chronological reasoning and causation. Consider the Source New York. https://considerthesourceny.org/activity/19th-century-african-american-voting-rights

Consider the Source New York, Archives Partnership Trust.  (n.d.). Consider the source New York: teaching with historical records homepage. Consider the Source New York. https://considerthesourceny.org

Consider the Source New York, Archives Partnership Trust. (n.d.). Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., commemoration, and the enduring legacy of the Emancipation Proclamation, chronological reasoning and causation. Consider the Source New York. https://considerthesourceny.org/activity/dr-martin-luther-king-jr-commemoration-and-enduring-legacy-emancipation-proclamation

Consider the Source New York, Archives Partnership Trust. (n.d.). Martin Luther King, Jr.'s speech to the New York State Civil War Centennial Commission, chronological reasoning and causation. Consider the Source New York. https://considerthesourceny.org/complete/martin-luther-king-jrs-speech-new-york-state-civil-war-centennial-commission

Consider the Source New York, Archives Partnership Trust.  (n.d.). Understanding the significance of the Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation today. Consider the Source New York. https://considerthesourceny.org/activity/understanding-significance-preliminary-emancipation-proclamation-today

Consider the Source New York, Archives Partnership Trust.  (n.d.). Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation 1862, interpreting the evidence. Consider the Source New York.  https://considerthesourceny.org/complete/emancipation-proclamation-pages-3-and-4-1863

Ebert, L., Holzer, H. Duncan, E., & Mercer, P. (2010). The preliminary Emancipation Proclamation and related documents from the collections of the New York State Library [electronic resource] : with an essay by Harold Holzer. New York State Library. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/668455617

HathiTrust Digital Library. (2008). The HathiTrust Digital Library homepage. The HathiTrust Digital Library. https://www.hathitrust.org/

HathiTrust Digital Library. (2024). Laws of New York State passed at the sessions of the Legislature. The HathiTrust Digital Library. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/003020495

HathiTrust Digital Library. (2024). Laws of 1865, chapter 598, 88th session. The HathiTrust Digital Library. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=nyp.33433090742218&seq=1249&q1=emancipation+proclamation&start=1

HathiTrust Digital Library. (2024). Laws of the State of New York passed at the eighty-eighth session of the Legislature, 1865. The HathiTrust Digital Library. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=nyp.33433090742218&seq=3

Holzer, H. (2010). The second Declaration of Independence: Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation. In the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation and related documents from the collections of the New York State Library: with an essay by Harold Holzer (pp. 1-11). New York State Library https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/668455617

King. M.L., Jr. (1962). Address of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. [typescript]. New York State Archives, New York Civil War Commission, office files, 1961-1964 (Series A1444-78, Box 1, September 12 1962 speech). New York State Education Department, New York State Archives, Albany, NY. https://considerthesourceny.org/document/address-reverend-dr-martin-luther-king-jr

King, M.L., Jr. (1962, September 12). Address to the New York State Civil War Centennial Commission [Speech audio recording]. New York State Museum. https://youtu.be/k7t35qDYHgc?si=Yjr-EvhnW_F-jvRh

Laws of the State of New York passed at the eighty-eighth session of the legislature, chapter 598 (1865). HathiTrust Digital Library. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/003020495

Lemack, J. (2012). The incomplete celebration. The New York Archives Magazine, Archives Partnership Trust, Fall 2012, 33-36. https://considerthesource.s3.amazonaws.com/8617/0611/8741/The_Incomplete_Celebration.pdf

Lincoln, A. (1822). Preliminary emancipation proclamation : by the President of the United States of America a proclamation, September 22, 1862. (Manuscript, VC01). New York State Education Department, New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY. https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/122573696

Mercer, P. (2010). With the President's permission"...how New York acquired the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation.  In the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation and related documents from the collections of the New York State Library: win an essay by Harold Holzer (pp. 1-14). https://purl.nysed.gov/nysl/668455617

Merserve, F.H. comp. (1913). Historical portraits; a collection of photographs printed directly from the original negatives. New York: privately printed for the New York State Library. New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections.

New York State Library. (n.d.). Audio transcription of the Emancipation Proclamation [Speech audio recording]. New York State Library. https://nyslibrary.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=75099387

New York State Library. (2024, January 16). New York State Library homepage. New York State Education Department. New York State Library. https://www.nysl.nysed.gov/

New York State Library. (2024). The Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation. New York State Education Department. New York State Library. https://nyslibrary.libguides.com/pep/pepnysl

New York State Library Personal History Initiative. (n.d.). Celebrate Black history month NYS personal history challenge. New York State Education Department. New York State Library. https://nyslibrary.libwizard.com/f/NYSPersonalHistoryChallenge_BlackHistoryMonth

New York State Museum. (2024). Address to the New York State Civil War Centennial Commission webpage. New York State Education Department. New York State Museum. https://www.nysm.nysed.gov/mlk-1962-address

New York State Museum. (2024). Educator's guide to Dr. King's 1962 speech webpage. New York State Education Department. New York State Museum. https://nysm.nysed.gov/address-new-york-state-civil-war-centennial-commission/educators-guide

New York State Museum. (2024). Black history month. New York State Education Department. New York State Museum. https://www.nysm.nysed.gov/black-history-month

New York State Museum. (2020). The first step to freedom: the Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation educator's guide, New York State Museum. New York State Education Department. New York State Museum. https://www.nysm.nysed.gov/sites/default/files/ep_teachers-guide_final_links_a_1.pdf

New York State Museum. (2024). Fifteenth Amendment: Educational activities. New York State Education Department, New York State Museum. https://www.nysm.nysed.gov/fifteenth-amendment

New York State Museum. (n.d.) An irrepressible conflict: the Empire State in the Civil War. New York State Education Department. New York State Museum. https://exhibitions.nysm.nysed.gov/civilwar/

New York State Museum. (2024). New York State Museum homepage. New York State Education Department. New York State Museum. https://www.nysm.nysed.gov 

PBS Learning Media for Teachers. (2024). Black culture & history. PBS Learning Media, classroom resources folder. https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/shared/1165858/6349247/

PBS Learning Media for Teachers. (2024). The Civil War, Emancipation and Reconstruction. PBS Learning Media, classroom resources folder. https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/shared/1165858/6351759/

PBS Learning Media for Teachers. (2024). PBS Learning Media for Teachers, New York homepage. PBS Learning Media. https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/

PBS Learning Media for Teachers. (2024). The road to emancipation | Looking for Lincoln. PBS Learning Media. https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/bf10.soc.7-8.divreun.breaksout.emancip/the-road-to-emancipation/

Seward, F.W. (1864-1906). Collection 1864-1906. (14977). New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY.

Seward, F. W. (1864, January 4). Letter from F.W. Seward to Emily Barnes, dated January 4, 1864. (14977). New York State Education Department. New York State Library, Manuscripts and Special Collections, Albany, NY.  https://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ep/pdfs/sewardletter.pdf