Resources: DEI Toolkit: Relevant Publications

Relevant Publications [12]

Adair, B., B. Filene and L. Koloski (2011). Letting Go? Sharing Historical Authority in a User-Generated World.

Alexander, M. (2010). The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness . Retrieved from: https://newjimcrow.com/

Anderson, Carol. (2017). White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide.

Anti-Defamation League. What is Critical Race Theory and Why Is It In the News So Much? Retrieved from: https://www.adl.org/resources/tools-and-strategies/what-critical- race-theory-and-why-it-news-so- much?psafe_param=1&gclid=Cj0KCQjwiZqhBhCJARIsACHHEH950a_CxA0zAArG0r1L QU5puldQWzrNvY0-CRL5a-phSKU4CNc3ItUaAkb4EALw_wcB

Anti-racism Daily. Retrieved from: https://the-ard.com/

American Library Association. (2021). Resolution to Condemn White Supremacy and Fascism as Antithetical to Library Work . Retrieved from: https://www.ala.org/aboutala/sites/ala.org.aboutala/files/content/Resolution%20to%20C ondemn%20White%20Supremacy%20and%20Fascism%20as%20Antithetical%20to%2 0Library%20Work%20FINAL.pdf

Archivaria. (2016). From Human Rights to Feminist Ethics: Radical Empathy in Archives . Retrieved from: https://archivaria.ca/index.php/archivaria/article/view/13557

Baldwin, J. (1963). The Fire Next Time.

Betsch Cole, and L. Lott, eds. (2019). Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion in Museums.

Blight, D. (2001). Race and Reunion: The Civil War in American Memory.

Brissett, A. (2022). Practicing Social Justice in Libraries. Retrieved from: https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/edit/10.4324/9781003167174/practicing-social-justice-libraries-alyssa-brissett-diana-moronta

Broadley, S. et al. (2019). Change the Subject: A Film. Retrieved from: https://collections.dartmouth.edu/archive/object/change-subject/change-subject-film

Burns, A. (2013). From Storefront to Monument: Tracing the Public History of the Black Museum Movement.

Chan, J. (2020). Beyond Tokenism: The Importance of Staff Diversity in Libraries. Retrieved from: https://bclaconnect.ca/perspectives/2020/11/30/beyond-tokenism-the- importance-of-staff-diversity-in-libraries/

Coates, T. (2015). Between the World and Me.

The Combahee River Collective Statement. (1977). Retrieved from: https://www.blackpast.org/african-american-history/combahee-river-collective- statement-1977/

Cooke, N. et al. (2022). Once More for Those in the Back: Libraries Are Not Neutral. Retrieved from: https://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/industry- news/libraries/article/89576-once-more-for-those-in-the-back-libraries-are-not-neutral.html

Crenshaw, K. (2019). On Intersectionality: Essential Writings.

DiAngelo, R. (2018). White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism.

Davis, A. (2012). The Meaning of Freedom: And Other Difficult Dialogues. DuBois, W. (1920). Darkwater: Voices from Within the Veil.

DuBois, W. (1903). The Souls of Black Folk.

Eckert, C. (2016). Libraries Are Not Neutral. Retrieved from: https://www.slj.com/story/libraries-are-not-neutral-opinion

Foote, K. (2013). Shadowed Ground: America’s Landscapes of Violence and Tragedy (Revised).

Frederick, J. (2021). National Movements for Racial Justice and Academic Library Leadership: Results from the Ithaka S+R US Library Survey 2020 . Retrieved from: https://sr.ithaka.org/publications/national-movements-for-racial-justice-and-academic- library-leadership/

Gainsburg, J. (2020). The Savvy Ally: A Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ Advocate.

Garibay, C. et al. (2020). CCLI National Landscape Study: the State of DEAI Practices in Museums. Cultural Competency Learning Institute . Retrieved from: https://www.informalscience.org/sites/default/files/CCLI_National_Landscape_Study-DEAI_Practices_in_Museums_2020.pdf

Gibson, A. et al. (2017). Libraries on the Frontlines: Neutrality and Social Justice. Retrieved from: https://commons.lib.jmu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1110&context=letfspubs

Gooding-Call, A. (2021). A History of Racism in American Public Libraries. Retrieved from: https://bookriot.com/racism-in-american-public-libraries/

Greenberger, A. (2020). Read Statements from Major U.S. Museums About the George Floyd Protests . Retrieved from: https://www.artnews.com/art-news/news/museums- statements-george-floyd-protests-1202689578/

Gruenewald, T. (2021). Curating America’s Painful Past: Memory, Museums, and the National Imagination.

Gustina, M. (2017). Why Social Justice in the Library? | Outreach + Inreach. Retrieved from: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/why-social-justice-in-the-library-outreach-inreach

Gyasi, Y. (2016). Home Going: A Novel.

Hannah-Jones, N. et al. (2019). The 1619 Project. New York Times Magazine. Retrieved from: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/08/14/magazine/1619- america-slavery.html

hooks, b. (2014). Feminism is for Everybody: Passionate Politics (second edition).

hooks, b. (1994). Teaching to Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom.

Horton, J.O. and L.E. Horton, eds. (2006). Slavery and Public History: The Tough Stuff of American Memory.

Hurston, Z. (1937). Their Eyes Were Watching God. Ignatiev, N. (1995).

The Inclusive Historian’s Handbook. Retrieved from: https://inclusivehistorian.com/

Indian Country Today website. Retrieved from: https://ictnews.org/

Indianz website. Retrieved from: https://www.indianz.com/

Institute of Museum and Library Services (2020). Understanding the Social Wellbeing Impacts of the Nation’s Libraries And Museums. Retrieved from: https://www.imls.gov/sites/default/files/2021-10/swi-report-accessible.pdf

Institute for Museum and Library Services and Partners for Public Good. (2021). Market Analysis and Opportunity Assessment of Museum Capacity Building Programs . Retrieved from: https://www.imls.gov/news/new-report-explores-capacity-building- opportunities-museums

Integrated Digitized Biocollections. (2021). DEI Reading List with Special Emphasis on Natural Sciences and Natural History Museums . Retrieved from: https://www.idigbio.org/content/diversity-equity-and-inclusion-reading-list-special-emphasis-natural-sciences-and-natural

Jana, T. (2019). The Delusion of White Supremacy. Retrieved from: https://tiffanyjana.medium.com/the-delusion-of-white-supremacy-e1a23b72a5ad

Jana, T. et al. (2020). Subtle Acts of Exclusion: How to Understand, Identify and Stop Microaggressions.

Kendi, I. (2019). How to Be An Antiracist.

Kendi, I. (2016). Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America.

Larsen, S. (2017). Diversity in Public Libraries Strategies for Achieving a More Representative Workforce . Retrieved from: https://publiclibrariesonline.org/2017/12/diversity-in-public-libraries-strategies-for- achieving-a-more-representative-workforce/

Levin, A. (2010). Gender, Sexuality and Museums: A Routledge Reader. Lewis, J. (2021). Fierce Love.

Lewis, J. (2020). Together, You Can Redeem the Soul of Our Nation. Retrieved from: https://www.abhmuseum.org/together-you-can-redeem-the-soul-of-our-nation/

Lesbian Herstory Archives. Retrieved from: https://lesbianherstoryarchives.org/

Livingston, R. (2021). The Conversation: How seeking and speaking the truth about racism can radically transform individuals and organizations.

Loewen, J. (2019). Lies Across America: What Our Historic Sites Get Wrong (Revised).

Lonetree, A. (2012). Decolonizing Museums: Representing Native America in National and Tribal Museums.

Lorde, A. (2007). Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches.

MASS Action. (2020). Museums and Anti-Racism: A Deeper Analysis. Retrieved from: https://www.museumaction.org/massaction-blog/2020/10/30/museums-and-anti-racism-a-deeper-analysis

Mass Cultural Partnership. (2019). Look at Art. Get Paid. Retrieved from: http://www.lookatartgetpaid.org/

McGhee, H. (2021). The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together.

McIntosh, P. (1989). White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack. Retrieved from: https://nationalseedproject.org/Key-SEED-Texts/white-privilege-unpacking-the-invisible-knapsack

Miles, T. (2021). All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, A Black Family Keepsake.

Moore, P. et al. (2022). Transforming Inclusion in Museums: The Power of Collaborative Inquiry.

Moraga, C. (1981). This Bridge Called My Back.

National Congress of American Indians website. Retrieved from: https://www.ncai.org/

National Council of Nonprofits. (2023). Why Diversity Equity and Inclusion Matter for Nonprofits . Retrieved from: https://www.councilofnonprofits.org/running- nonprofit/diversity-equity-and-inclusion/why-diversity-equity-and-inclusion- matter?gclid=Cj0KCQjwlPWgBhDHARIsAH2xdNf4DWCkPsjMugGHGDTuhunbEKLw4P_h3USu2ClXn_2oj8d0vwVVaNEaAm38EALw_
wcB

Oberg, M. et al. (2022). Native America: A History (Second Edition). Oluo, I. (2019). So You Want to Talk About Race.

Oud, J. (2019). Systemic Workplace Barriers for Academic Librarians with Disabilities. Retrieved from: https://crl.acrl.org/index.php/crl/article/view/16948/19429

The Peoples’ Institute for Survival and Beyond. Retrieved from: https://pisab.org/

Price, G. (2020). Statements From Libraries and Library Organizations Re: Racism, Black Lives Matter, and Increased Violence. Retrieved from: https://www.infodocket.com/2020/06/01/statements-from-library-organizations-re-racism-and-increased-violence/

Regents Advisory Council on Libraries. (2022). Vision 2022. Retrieved from: https://www.nysl.nysed.gov/libdev/rac/

Rothstein, R. (2017) The Color of Law: The Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America

Saad, L. (2020). Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor. Retrieved from: http://laylafsaad.com/meandwhitesupremacy

Scalzi, J. (2012). Straight White Male: The Lowest Difficulty Setting There is. Retrieved from: https://whatever.scalzi.com/2012/05/15/straight-white-male-the-lowest-difficulty- setting-there-is/

Schomberg, J. (2018). Disability at Work: Libraries, Built to Exclude. Retrieved from: https://cornerstone.lib.mnsu.edu/lib_services_fac_pubs/149/

School Social Work Association of America. (2022). Pronouns: How to Properly Share, Gather and Use Them . Retrieved from: https://www.sswaa.org/post/pronouns-how-to- properly-share-gather-and-use-them

Singleton, G. et al. (2006) Courageous Conversations About Race.

Smith, C. (2021). How the Word is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery in America.

Spiegelman, A. (1980 and 1991). Maus: A Survivor’s Tale and Maus II.

Strand, K. (2019). Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List. Retrieved from: https://www.library.wisc.edu/gwslibrarian/bibliographies/disrupting- whiteness-in-libraries/

Sundstrom, R. (2008). The Browning of America and the Evasion of Social Justice.

Swanson, et al. (2015). Why diversity matters: a roundtable discussion on racial and ethnic diversity in librarianship. In the Library with the Lead Pipe. Retrieved from: http://www.inthelibrarywiththeleadpipe.org/2015/why-diversity-matters-a-roundtable- discussion-on-racial-and-ethnic-diversity-in-librarianship/

Theoharis, J. (2018). A More Beautiful and Terrible History: The Uses and Misuses of Civil Rights History.

Toward Inclusive Excellence. Retrieved from: https://www.choice360.org/toward-inclusive-excellence/

Trouillot, M-R. (2015). Silencing the Past: Power and the Production of History (Revised).

Tulshyan, R. (2022). Inclusion on Purpose: An Intersectional Approach to Creating a Culture of Belonging.

Urban Libraries Council. (2020). ULC Statement on Race and Social Equity. Retrieved from: https://www.urbanlibraries.org/initiatives/racial-equity/statement-on-race-and- social-equity

Wekker, G. (2016). White Innocence.

Wilkerson, I. (2020). Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents.

Wood, E., Tisdale, R., & Jones, T. (Eds.). (2017). Active collections (1st edition). Accompanying website https://www.activecollections.org/

Zeuli, K. (2021). Reckoning with a Reckoning: How Cultural Institutions Can Advance Equity. Retrieved from: https://nonprofitquarterly.org/reckoning-with-a-reckoning-how- cultural-institutions-can-advance- equity/?utm_content=155263383&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter&hss_chann el=tw-61206610

¹² Special thanks to the project team, Ashley Gantt, Amanda Smith, and William Walker on the development of the Relevant Publications, and Tools and Resources lists.