Internet Bibliographies

This K-12 education directory provides access to reviewed World Wide Web resources. The site is divided into sections for teachers, students, parents, and librarians, each of which is organized by subject area. The Awesome Library includes reference, technology, community, news, "hot topics," and more. The site is available in twelve languages and also includes an index and a search engine.

The Community Learning Network is designed to assist K-12 teachers to integrate technology into the classroom. CLN contains annotated links to educational sites containing instructional aids and curriculum related sources organized by theme and searchable by keyword. A resource scrapbook allows users to search for instructional technology sites and resources, and a kids' section provides access to activities, software, stories, puzzles, and more.

This site provides information for K-12 educators including lesson plans, clip art images, puzzle and crossword generators, study starters, and more. Also available here is Kathy Schrock's "Guide for Educators," a list of resources which include specific subject areas, search tools, and teacher helpers. A curriculum center contains activities, projects, puzzles and more to support the main areas of the K-12 curriculum. Science Fair Central has detailed ideas for projects, teacher guides, parent tips, a searchable archive of questions and more.

This site focuses on the humanities and offers lesson plans and web site links for such subject areas as arts and culture; literature and language arts; foreign language; and history and social studies. Resources are searchable by grade level as well as subject. Also included on the site are resources for educators such as professional development opportunities, information about grants, historical calendars and a reference shelf with links to standards information, citation information, information about evaluating online sources, and more.

This site, from the U.S. Department of Education, provides a searchable collection of links to educational organizations. Federal, state and regional organizations are included, and the collection is searchable by keyword, by state, and by type of organization.

Education World offers links, original content, videos, discussion boards, articles, research materials, and more in areas such as lesson planning, professional development, administration, technology integration, and school issues as well as specific content areas. The whole site can be searched or browsed by subject, and the site also offers a search engine that searches educational web sites. Interviews with noted educators, Internet scavenger hunts, math cross puzzles, teacher organization strategies, book lists, and behavior management strategies are also available.

Kathy Schrock, a library media specialist and technology administrator, has put together a guide to online educational information. This site includes an annotated list of web resources organized by such subject areas as agricultural education and world languages/regions, as well as a number of Internet search tools. All items are reviewed and annotated by Schrock, with special sites given the Schrockguide Award. The page also includes many teacher resources such as evaluation tools, recommended books and web quest information.

This site provides a new, full text article and a related lesson plan every weekday. The articles are selected for grades 3-12, with lesson plans available for grades 6-12. The selections are age-appropriate current events articles and include supporting activities from the site such as news quizzes, crossword puzzles and the word of the day. Other interactive features for students include "Ask a Reporter" questions, letters to the editor submissions and "Science Q&A". A teachers' section includes a lesson plan archive, a news snapshot of the day, educational news, and a web explorer that provides a guided tour of sites related to current topics in the news.

Organized by subject areas such as arts and literature, preK-2, and library media, PBS Teacher Source offers lesson plans, online activities, and professional development opportunities. Resources include recommended books and links, media literacy information, activities, and monthly interdisciplinary activities. The site also allows the user to personalize materials and provides local educational information and a free weekly electronic newsletter. The site is searchable by keyword, subject, and grade level. Free technology tutorials are offered as well as schedules and information about PBS programs.

Scholastic’s web site offers different sections specifically for parents, children, librarians, administrators, and teachers. Themed book lists for all ages, articles, links, lessons, web quests, teaching strategies, and tools such as graphic organizers and rubric creators are some of the resources available. Online activities are available for preK-12 students.

Created by the US Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences, the What Works Clearinghouse provides databases and reports which review the effectiveness of educational programs, policies, practices, and products. Some topics include Destination Math, CORD Applied Math and Cognitive Tutor.

The Charter School Office within the New York State Education Department makes available a list of approved charter schools in New York State, a summary of charter school law in the New York State Education Department, a copy of the New York Charter Schools Act of 1998, frequently asked questions about charter schools, and a charter school application guide. Other resources include the annual reports to the Governor on the status of charter schools in New York and recent announcements and news regarding charter schools.

The CSDC provides resources, information about workshops, publications, charter school development documents, frequently asked questions, and news updates to those interested in charter schools around the country. Resources cover charter school law, grants, accountability, finances, curriculum, and more.

This web site includes information on starting and running a charter school, state information and contacts, and charter school profiles. A resource review provides a searchable index of information about starting, running, and expanding charter schools and links to the newest information about charter schools. Subscription to two weekly online newsletters is available as well as employment, news, and community forums.

This site provides resources about K-12 distance learning, including an online newsletter, forums about grants, job postings and events, and selected links about distance education. Some subjects covered include virtual school funding, online professional development, the impact of online learning on math scores, and state level online learning policies.

This employment resource allows New York State school districts to post job opening information and allows job candidates to view and apply for jobs. OLAS information is organized by region and also includes school district maps and contact information.

This site contains full text, PDF links to CAAL’s publications, which cover topics such as the roles of adult education and public libraries in adult literacy. It also includes information about the organization's projects, related resources, and links.

Sponsored by the International Literacy Institute (ILI) and the National Center on Adult Literacy (NCAL), this site serves as a gateway to literacy resources on the Internet. Topics addressed include policy, research, technology, innovations, and training. Links to the full text publications by the ILI and NCAL are included as well as descriptions of recent projects. The database is searchable by country or region, topic or theme, or from the perspective of a teacher, policy maker, researcher, or learner.

This resource for adult literacy includes contact information for the various Literacy Volunteer agencies in New York, as well as Literacy NY organizational information and downloadable reports. The Trainer Corp section provides training and workshop information as well as literacy and training links, the Trainer News newsletter, and selected essays on training topics.

LINCS provides activities, assessment measures, publications, current research, fact sheets, and other adult education and literacy related resources. Available programs are broken down by age level such as early childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Also available is America's Literacy Directory, a searchable database of literacy programs across the US.

EngageNY.org is developed and maintained by the New York State Education Department (NYSED) to support the implementation of key aspects of the New York State Board of Regents Reform Agenda. It includes information about the New York State P-12 Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS), Teacher and Leader Effectiveness (TLE), and Data-Driven Instruction (DDI). EngageNY.org provides educators across New York State with real-time, professional learning tools and resources to support educators in reaching the State’s vision for a college and career ready education for all students.

Sponsored by the US Department of Education, the ERIC database contains article citations and full text educational materials from 1966 to the present. Journal articles, reports, documents, and more are included. A thesaurus allows the user to browse the database by subject; keyword searching and personalized features are available as well.

This site, from the New York State Education Department, provides contact information and resources about TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) and equivalency programs. Teacher resources are available as well as links for where older GED records may be requested.

This site provides links to BOCES (Board of Cooperative Educational Services) and to RIC (Regional Information Centers) in New York State.

The Board of Regents site provides monthly meeting minutes, board contact information, policies, reports, publications, and more.

From the New York State Education Department, this site provides PDF and HTML versions of the New York State learning standards, descriptions of the standards, and information about the history of their approval.

This site provides publications, links, legislation and policy information, grant information, certification requirements, and other New York State educational resources for students, teachers, parents and administrators. The latest New York and federal education news is available, as are downloadable versions of State Education forms.

This site provides not only certification information for teachers, but also information on fingerprinting, teaching in New York State, teacher awards, and resources for educators and the public. Links to job banks, college programs, and regulations are available as well.

The searchable index of Regents exams provides full text, PDF links to the tests and scoring keys, organized by subject area.

Publications and news from ACCES-VR (formerly VESID) are provided along with links to other agencies such as the Lifelong Services Network, Early Childhood Direction Centers, Independent Living Centers, Technology Resources for Education, and the Special Education Training and Resource Centers.

Covering licensing procedures for over forty-seven professions, the Office of the Professions also provides program reviews, licensing exams, news, online forms, scholarship opportunities, and more.

With sections for teachers, parents, students and administrators, this site contains federal information about grants, research, policy, programs, and the No Child Left Behind act. The site is searchable and contains reports, resources, annotated links and more about such subjects as assessment, gifted and talented education, the SATs, and private schools.

This site allows searching for public schools, private schools, colleges, and public libraries by city, state, or zip code.

This site, formerly Schwab Learning, includes resources and articles about identification and management of learning differences. Forums for parents and guides to adaptive technologies are included as well as publications on such subjects as self esteem, behavior, reading, family dynamics, and more.

This online database of over 16,500 school districts in the United States is searchable by name, city, county, state, area code, or zip code. Each entry includes contact information, grade span, and the number of students, teachers, and schools in the district.

The National Center for Education Statistics provides this web site, containing an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in the annual Condition of Education report. Reports from 2000-2006 are available. Some topics covered include student performance, educational resources, adult literacy, and graduation rates.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) produces this site which provides international comparisons in educational indicators and assessments. Areas covered include math, reading, science, and adult literacy.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) collects, analyzes, and makes available data related to education in the US and other nations.

Created by the National Center for Education Statistics, this report collects and analyzes data about educational achievement, school populations, instruction, and school environment. Subject areas include reading and writing, math, science, civics, geography, US history, and the arts. National and state level information is available, as well as long term reports about the American education system.

This site, from the New York State Education Department, provides reports, information, and data on New York State schools. The New York State School Report Card is available from this site as well.

Provides access to school district geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education. Sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics.

This tool allows the user to search National Center for Education Statistics tables and charts from Education Statistics Quarterly, The Condition of Education, the National Education Data Resource Center (NEDRC) Postsecondary Tables Library, Digest of Education Statistics, and other publications. Keyword search is available, and the user is able to limit searches by topic and year.

This online resource for artists presents information about the fundamentals of perspective, shading, color, and painting. Instruction and examples are provided for subjects such as linear perspective, acrylic painting, and reflections in round objects. Reviewed links to art sites are also available.

The Artcyclopedia is searchable by artist name, title of work, or museum and is also browsable by artist and by art movement. Art news and articles are available, as are art links.

This site, from the National Arts and Education Information Network, provides standards-based K-12 teaching materials, professional development information, articles, curriculum and assessment ideas, web site reviews, activities, artist profiles, and more. Spotlight features highlight resources that are grouped into theme-based collections.

This site includes art lesson plans, articles, educational resources, printable activities, online kids' art gallery, and a forum for exchanging ideas. A free newsletter is available, as are recipes for homemade art materials. Lesson plans are listed alphabetically and organized by subject.

This site provides writing resources for elementary, secondary, and college level teachers of English and Language Arts. Resources include selected sites of interest to writing teachers, links to writing labs on the World Wide Web, and handouts on writing-related topics. The Writing Lab newsletter's past issues are available also.

This annotated collection of recommended reading covers history, social sciences, the humanities, literature, and science. It is revised every five years by a committee from the Young Adult Library Services Association.

This online collection of study guides covers a wide range of literature including works of science fiction; 19th and 20th century European classics; love poetry; world literature in English from India, Africa, and the Caribbean; and the Bible as Literature.

The focus of this site is the teaching of foreign languages at all levels. It includes foreign language World Wide Web resources, a discussion group for foreign language teachers, the archives of the FL Teach listserv, news, and frequently asked questions.

This database is comprised of information about secondary and college level proficiency exams for foreign languages. The database is a product of the National Capital Language Resource Center and is searchable by language, test level, test use, assessment area, and population.

This site provides a searchable catalog of annotated, language-related Internet resources. Subject areas include web-based translators, linguistics, teacher resources, language lessons, and multilingual resources. Separate lists are provided for language schools, commercial language products, and job listings.

Formerly National Geographic Expeditions, this site features National Geographic maps, the National Geography Standards, activities, standards-based lesson plans, a teacher newsletter, and forums.

A file folder on each of the 50 states provides quick facts and links for more detailed state information. Folders organizing links to local state newspapers, state birds, flags, and songs are also included.

This site contains a selection of full text articles, gifted and talented education news, state and federal policies and forums as well as gifted and talented resources listed by topic. Access to the Educators Guild's resources, newsletters, mailing lists, and more is available.

This site contains separate pages for students, educators, and parents, each of which contains articles, resources, links, forums and blogs, news, reading lists, conference schedules, and more.

This site provides news, publications, and resources about gifted education for parents and educators. State-specific information is included, as is advocacy information, and "hot topics" such as diversity in gifted education and identification of gifted children.

This site provides information about sexuality, sexual health, relationships, nutrition and diet, alcohol and other drugs, stress, and general health information. Questions are submitted anonymously and answered publicly by Columbia University's Health Education Program. Questions and answers are archived and searchable.

Created by the Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media, this site contains searchable information on teen and child health. Special sections are available for parents, teens, and children, each of which contains information, resources, articles, statistics, and more about such topics as fitness, emotional health, infections, and safety.

Provided by the US Department of Health and Human Services, this site includes resources, articles, statistics, reports, and more about substance abuse and addiction. Access to databases containing substance abuse information and resources such as a treatment facility locator, links, and self-help guides are available.

This site offers lesson plans, activities and instructional resources such as online pedometers and assessment ideas. Resources are included for adapted and preschool physical education. Job listings and current research are also provided.

This multimedia collection of digitized documents from the Library of Congress includes photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, maps, and text. The collection is organized into such topics as culture, African American history, maps, advertising, presidents, technology and women's history. The "Learning Page" helps educators use the American Memory collections and provides lesson plans, activities, professional development, and more.

A directory of web sites related to history, organized into such categories as: World War II, prehistory, early modern Europe, oral history, medieval history, and more. Other categories include lesson plans, games, research, and maps. Each web site is annotated and a drop down menu provides navigation.

This site contains contains numerous resources, such as lesson plans, assessments, presentations, discussions, research and more, to help K-12 history and social studies teachers effectively incorporate technology into their courses.

The resources on this site cover many time periods including ancient times, the Middles Ages, the Renaissance, the 17th century, the 18th century, the 19th century, and the 20th century. The collections contain first-hand accounts which are illustrated with vintage photos, and original radio broadcasts.

This site provides online exhibits of historical events which feature essays, timelines, and photos. Resources also include "this month in history" and the "speech of the week."

This site covers World History from ancient to modern times. Graphics, essays, timelines, maps, significant events, and brief biographies of significant people are included.

This site features information about homeschooling laws, assessment, lesson plans, advice on homeschooling teens, support groups, and community networking resources, study guides, curriculum resources, distance learning programs, field trips, and more.

This site contains homeschooling resources and links including a FAQ, forums, articles, a newsletter, and a resource guide covering such subjects as curriculum, adult learning, foreign languages, learning styles, and parental training.

Provided by Drexel University, this site contains math resources, links, lessons plans, teaching strategies, math problems, forums and newsletters, articles, software reviews, and more. A Student Center includes math challenges, math help, techniques and tips, and resources organized by grade level. The Teacher Center includes annotated web site listings, professional development tools, teacher forums, activities, and lesson plans. The Internet Mathematics Library provides an annotated listing of web sites, and a Problems Library provides access to archived problems of the week.

This site provides a glossary of math terms with accompanying equations and graphics, article citations, interactive math problems, and graphics.

This site offers information on music careers, training, resources, financial aid, links, and more.

This site provides music education resources for grades K-12, including articles, links, reviews of instruments, and music advocacy resources.

This site, from the American Astronomical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers, contains resources, links, simulations, images, projects, labs, and teaching materials. Resources are organized by topics such as cosmic time, the solar system, and cosmology and are also searchable.

This site includes online encyclopedias of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, physics, and scientific biography. Entries include definitions, diagrams, formulas, cross references, and related resources. The author is a scientist with advanced degrees in physics and planetary science.

This virtual museum includes exhibits, directions for experiments, web- and podcasts, recommended web sites and an educator newsletter. A digital library includes activities, images, and video and audio files. The Teacher Resource Guides include web resources organized by subject area. The Teacher Institute includes classroom activities, the digital library, and online science activities.

This site contains notes, slides, exam guides, graphing devices, tutorials, and a glossary of general chemistry terms. The "Just Ask Antoine" section provides an archive of general chemistry questions and answers.

Over 1000 free resources are available, which are correlated to state standards. Even more information is available to members of the Association.

This site contains detailed articles, science images, science news, a searchable archive and interactive features about tornadoes, snowflakes, and more. An educational archive organizes information by subject and grade level.

This list of links to disability resources on the web includes databases, resource sites, events, products, services, newsgroups, mailing lists, and more.

This site provides articles, essays, annotated resource lists, forums, and a newsletter about learning disabilities and education. The "LD Online Yellow Pages" allow the user to search for schools, professionals, and products. The Educators section includes information on teaching strategies, issues, resources, and more.

This site includes articles, databases, and resources about disability and rehabilitation information. The site is divided into sections for the public, for researchers, and for NIDRR grantees. Information for the public is organized by topics such as education, advocacy, and traumatic brain injury. Researchers can access three different databases and create bibliographies. NARIC publications such as RehabWire, reSearch and NARIC Information Brochures are also available.

This site provides news, forums, classified ads, grant, and event information. News is organized into categories such as technology, behavior management, assistive technology, and state-specific and Washington, D.C. news. Specific information is provided for educators and families.