Internet Bibliographies

Compiled by the State Library, this site lists all public libraries in New York State by county. If the library has a web site, a link is provided.

Empire State Library Network (ESLN) is comprised of the nine Reference and Research Library Resources Councils in New York State. ESLN's structure allows libraries and archives of all types and sizes to participate in a statewide platform for shared services and collaborations.

This site contains information about collections and services of the Library of Congress including legislative information, United States history and culture, and world culture and resources. The site is updated regularly.

The National Library Service administers a free library program of braille and recorded materials circulated to eligible borrowers through a network of cooperating libraries. This site includes a list of regional libraries where you can search for available braille and audio books.

Approximately 1,350 Federal depository libraries, located throughout the United States and its territories, provide free public access to a wide variety of Federal government information in both print and electronic formats.

This association is dedicated to college and research libraries located in Eastern New York. The site lists information on becoming a member, current news, conferences, documents, and related library web sites.

This association is dedicated to college and research libraries in the greater New York Metropolitan area. The site lists information on becoming a member, current news, conferences, documents, and related library web sites.

Long Island School Media Association is a professional organization of school library media specialists. This organization provides information for professionals pertaining to programs related to Long Island and library media specialists. The site contains current news and important dates, as well as related library links.

The New York Library Association helps to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in New York State. The site contains information pertaining to committees, roundtables, legislation, conferences, workshops, job information, and scholarships.

This Medical Library Association serves New Jersey and New York counties south of Albany, including Sullivan, Ulster, and Dutchess. The site includes information pertaining to membership, education, networking and much more.

The association was formed for library support staff working in New York State. The web site contains information on conferences, scholarships, registering for the list serve, and the association's history and newsletters.

This email discussion list gives up to the minute information about library developments in New York State, news from NYLA and the New York State Library as well as networking with your colleagues. The site includes information on how to sign up for the discussion list.

SLSA maintains a list of their representatives by New York region. Important library and information resources are provided to public and nonpublic schools throughout New York State. The site includes information related to meetings, forms and documents, as well as professional organizations.

This Association is for the State University of New York librarians. The web page includes information about services, committees, SUNY related sites, and helpful web pages.

This chapter was founded in 1964. The purpose of the chapter is to promote librarianship in the area of health science. The site contains information pertaining to scholarships, conferences, monthly newsletter, and helpful links.

This association was formed in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of law librarianship and to provide leadership in the field of legal information. The website includes information about the organization, links to its chapters, and job hotline.

AASL is a Division of the American Library Association. This association is specialized for school librarians to help them in areas of change, leadership, teaching and learning. The web site contains information pertaining to grants/scholarships, career development, continuing education, and some publications and journals.

The American Library Association (ALA) deals with news, announcements, education, employment, as well as events and conference materials for America's libraries. The ALA monthly magazine American Libraries is currently available on-line and contains up-to-date weekly information. Special reports and archival materials are also available.

This association helps represent state library agencies, specialized library agencies, multitype library cooperatives, and independent librarians. ASCLA is a Division of the American Library Association. The web page contains information about current events, publications, membership, awards and issues, and policies dealing with the association.

This association deals with the international aspect of libraries and their institutions. The site lists current announcements as well as activities, publications, electronic collections, and news about membership and the annual conference.

MLANET is a nonprofit organization (part of the Medical Library Association) that helps to educate institutions and individuals in the health sciences. This association helps professionals who work in the health sciences to stay informed and up-to-date on the most current information. The site lists the "Top Ten" useful web sites, some publications, career information, networking, and helpful resources.

OCLC provides services to libraries around the world. The Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) is a nonprofit membership organization which serves libraries all over the United States as well as other countries. The main mission of this organization is to help libraries access information and to help them reduce costs while offering services for libraries and their users. The site offers information pertaining to the history, membership, annual reports and finance, events and conferences.

This was established to administer universal service for schools and libraries. The site provides information in reference, headlines, contact information, and frequently asked questions.