Internet Bibliographies

As a Federal Depository Library, the New York State Library maintains copies of a wide variety of U.S. documents and publications.

A patent for an invention, design or plant in the United States is the grant of a property right to the inventor or designer issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Provides free electronic access to the official, published version of important information products produced by the Federal Government, such as the Federal Register, the Congressional Record, and Commerce Business Daily.

Portal to U.S. Government

A list of Federal agencies on the Internet

Part of the United States Department of Commerce, the Census Bureau web site is searchable, and contains statistical information on people, business, geography (including maps), and other subjects.

Information about past and present members of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

This site serves as the educational component of GPO Access, the Government Printing Office's service to provide the official online version of legislative and regulatory information. The site's resources teach how the U.S. government works and how to use the primary source materials of GPO Access. Ben's Guide also serves as a locator service for U.S. Government Web sites developed for kids. The site guide is Ben Franklin.

Maintained by the Library of Congress, this page lists online sources of Federal government information.

This site compiles consumer information from several different federal agencies in one place.

Contains full text versions of hundreds of federal consumer publications.

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress' rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers millions of digital items - text, images and audio files - from the Library's vast historical collections.

The U.S. Department of Education's database of education literature.

The Government Printing Office's gateway to Federal publications and documents.

The National Library of Medicine's free search service to over 16 million citations on the Medline and Pre-Medline databases.

From the US Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), as part of their mission to advance science and sustain technological creativity by making R&D findings available and useful to Department of Energy (DOE) researchers and the American people.

Department of Energy (DOE) full-text report literature