Internet Bibliographies

The dictionary, which has over 28,000 entries, can be searched by birth years, death years, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, achievements, and more. Search examples are provided.

This site provides searchable information taken from The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia. It also includes information presented in the A&E television series Biography. Links to related Web sites for individuals cited in the biography are provided.

Lists information about the inventions and inventors.

Biographical information about Nobel Laureates.

Gives biographical information; years of service and other political offices held; a brief and an extended bibliography; and references to collections which contain the papers or other information on the subject of the biography.

The database contains information taken from the Biographical Directory of the American Congress (retitled Biographical Directory of the United States Congress) about individuals who have served in the U.S. House or Senate, as Vice President, or in the Continental Congress. The Political Graveyard database can be searched by date of death, circumstances of death, sex, race, age, religion, elected office, awards received, and other distinctive features.

Includes information from the books The Living White House, The White House: An Historical Guide, The Presidents of the United States, and The First Ladies, which are published by the White House Historical Association. Brief biographical information, photographs, and links to related Web sites are provided.

Maintained by students in mathematics classes at Agnes Scott College, in Atlanta, Georgia, to show the achievements of women in the field of mathematics. Most entries include biographical essays or comments; some also include photographs.

This project by New York Public Library contains the full text of biographical and autobiographical materials related to African American women writers of the 19th century. Approximately 52 sources are included.

The White House Historical Association has published The First Ladies which provides extensive biographical information. It also includes references to supplementary manuscript and print sources.

Begun in 1969, the National Women's Hall of Fame provides brief information about its inductees. There is also a search engine to locate individual biographies.