Internet Bibliographies

A not for profit directory of open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

The site for literary and cultural studies: a scholarly, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive guide to humanities research on the Web.

In addition to bibliographic and price information about books, this site includes selected reviews from published sources and Amazon customers. For reviews of books published in the United Kingdom, see Amazon.co.uk.

Full text of selected articles from the current issue, plus a full-text archive of reviews and articles that have appeared in this influential journal since November 1996. Provides an index of contents from 1993 to date. Site has an excellent search engine.

The database contains the full text of more than 50,000 book reviews that have appeared in the New York Times since 1980. The site also gives the full text of the daily book review and selected reviews from the most recent issue of the paper's Sunday Book Review. Other features include author interviews, first chapters of new books, audio of literary readings, bestseller lists, and book forums. Service is free, but first-time visitors must register.

Provides access to the full text of many banned books, information on the history of censorship, and links to organizations concerned with freedom of speech issues.

Forum for discussion and information on free speech issues around the world.

Book reviews, recommended books, and advice on integrating books into subject curricula. Of special interest to teachers.

Includes electronic texts of classic works and also stories and reviews written by children and young adults. Provides lists of recommended books, information on authors, book reviews, advice on writing for children, discussion groups, and well-chosen links to other Web sites.

Topics of interest to bibliophiles: auctions, appraisals, how-to advice, preservation, rare and out-of-print book dealers, mailing lists, and organizations. Includes links to book search sites such as AddAll.com, BookFinder, Advanced Book Exchange,and Alibris.

Poems, biographies, exhibits, readings, calendar of events, and discussion forums.

Texts of prose and poetry written by African American Women in the 19th century.

The Bard in full.

E-texts of literature from Milton through Byron, plus links to major e-text sites.

A SUNY at Buffalo multimedia site of interest to poets and students of poetry. Numerous links to small press publications.

The Web site of Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky's imaginative project to compile a "turn-of-the-millennium archive" of Americans "saying poems they love." The full text of some of these poems are online.

Georgetown University's model site for medieval studies: e-texts, multidisciplinary scholarship, images, discussion forums, and numerous links.

E-texts relating to the medieval period, the renaissance, and the 17th century. A visually arresting, multimedia site.

Includes the full text of more than 10,000 books, a guide to foreign language texts on the Web, and a directory of sites devoted to specific subjects, groups, and genres.

A Tufts University site devoted to classical studies: e-texts of Greek and Roman writers, language aids, images, an online newsletter, and other resources on the art, architecture, and archeology of the ancient world.

E-texts of poems by British and American poets.

A well-edited, online survey of representative poetry by British and American poets.

This list of resources from the writing center at Purdue includes links to organizations and journals of interest to language teachers and language policy developers, as well as a selection of online teaching and reference materials.

This website provides a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools and resources for students, teachers, learners and academics. Topics include ESL forums, articles, teacher handouts and printables, and links and information on English. Topics cover ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.

Extensive list of language-related resources: dictionaries, courses, software, professional organizations, employment opportunities, and translation services.

The MLA Language Map and its Data Center provide information about more than 47,000,000 people in the United States who speak languages other than English at home. It uses census data, including the American Community Survey to provide up to date information.

The World Oral Literature Project at the University of Cambridge gathers literature such as ritual texts, curative chants, epic poems, musical genres, folk tales, creation tales, songs, myths, spells, legends, historical narratives and more. Online collections currently include materials from Paiwan, Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal. The Endangered Language Database includes UNESCO's Atlas of World Languages in Danger, Ethnologue (an encyclopedia of the world's languages) and research on the extinction of languages.

Similar to Philosophy & Literature, with an emphasis on the visual and performing arts.

The aim of this site is to provide "everything you need to be a better journalist."

Links to general sites dealing with minority literatures and multicultural issues. Also includes links to African American, Asian-American, Jewish-American, and Latino/Latina sites.

This State agency funds and supports the activities of nonprofit arts and cultural organizations in New York State. It supports New York State Literary Tree and other programs that promote literature.

Founded by author William Kennedy, the New York State Writers Institute sponsors readings, performances, workshops, and conferences that bring outstanding poets, novelists, dramatists, and nonfiction writers from around the world to the Capital District. The Writers Institute also selects the State Author and the State Poet. Check the Institute's Web site for calendar, programs, and publications. Also on the web site are links to Writers Online magazine and Fence magazine.

The principal learned society in North America for the study of ancient Greek and Roman languages, literatures, and civilizations. While the majority of its members are university and college Classics teachers, members also include scholars in other disciplines, primary and secondary school teachers, and interested lay people. For over a century this community has relied on the Association to produce several series of scholarly books and texts; the journal, Transactions of the American Philological Association.

Web site includes a catalog of MLA publications, job listings, tips on citing Web publications, MLA reports, a list of MLA committees and commissions, and information on the 2000 annual convention, including calls for papers and proposed sessions.

Writers organization that works "to advance literature, to promote a culture of reading, and to defend free expression."

Industry news, book reviews, and directories of publishers and literary agents.

The full text of the PEN American Center's succinct and informative guide for literary translators. Discusses the rights and responsibilities of translators, copyright issues, relations with publishers, and contracts.

Helpful site that includes an English-language dictionary and thesaurus (Merriam Webster), computing dictionary (FOLDOC), and pronouncing dictionary (CMU Pronouncing Dictionary).

This clear, well-organized site includes online "Handouts" on common writing tasks: resumes and cover letters, memos, abstracts, reports, critiques, citations, and graduate school application essays.