Internet Bibliographies

Weekly job announcements in academia from the print edition of The Chronicle of Higher Education, plus job-market news, advice, links to other job-market resources, and a list of books for the academic job seeker.

A service of the U. S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy. The site is a consulting service, providing information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities. It also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act and other related legislation. The site has many resources to help assist in the hiring, retraining, retention, or advancement of persons with disabilities through job accommodations.

Provides a very comprehensive listing of useful Internet-accessible job-search resources and services on the Web. Provides information about job sites by location; specialized job sites by industry, profession, and job-type; and other resources such as commercial services, job fairs, resume banks, university career resource centers.

Employment listings for kindergarten through high school positions at public, private, and vocational schools.

Designed by the New York State Department of Labor for middle and high school students. Provides information on almost one thousand occupations, including job descriptions, work activities, required skills, education needed, suggested school programs, wages, and job outlook.

Offers career information on a number of professions in management, sales, construction, transportation, professional and technical jobs, as well as a career guide to industries, etc. It also includes job opportunities in the armed forces. Revised every two years, it provides information on what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations, etc.

Extensive information about salaries by job title and geographic location. Includes numerous other career links, articles, advice, resources and related reading links. Salary wizard offers comparisons between jobs in different U.S. locations.

Listings include jobs for recent graduates and students. There are separate sections for summer and seasonal jobs and international employment opportunities, as well as a national database of internships.

Public service web site for the academic job hunter which provides links to faculty, staff, and administrative employment opportunities and announcements from colleges and universities around the world, and from professional associations.

Indeed.com is a search engine for jobs, allowing job seekers to find jobs posted on thousands of company career sites and job boards. Indeed allows limiting to a geographic area, as well as the creation of an individual account.

A well known job search aggregator, Juju allows users to search or browse links to millions of job postings across the country. Juju is also an excellent resource for local job postings.

A well-established and popular employment web site. Includes career center (which provides resume tips, salary information, and career advice), job searches by profession and by geographic location (USA or international), job postings, personal career account, and more.

A site providing resources to job seekers (for education and certification, career guidance, company and industry research, relocation and salary information, etc.) and employers (recruitment, pricing, statistics, best practices, etc.).

Part of America's JobBank, this site focuses on jobs in the New York City area. Drop down menus lead to job leads in Upstate New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey. Other features of the web site include links to career fairs, company profiles and internships.

This resource includes local and nationwide job postings which can be sorted by location, title, company, etc. This site also includes tips and hints on job searching, interviewing, and creating a good resume.

Information on federal laws prohibiting job discrimination. It includes text of the laws, regulations, policy guidance, statistics, how to file a charge of employment discrimination, and the use of mediation to resolve complaints.

Provides guidance and information for adults, youth, dislocated workers, and workforce development professionals about available Employment and Training Administration (ETA) services (labor exchange, unemployment insurance, senior employment program, disaster unemployment aid, extended benefits, trade readjustment allowances, and more) and training for the labor market. Also includes information useful for employers (tax credits and hiring incentives, assistance with plant closures and downsizing, legislation texts, ETA grants and contracts, and more).

This site contains information about all facets of military careers. It describes the different branches of the service and training needed.

Links to agencies under the purview of the Department of Labor includes laws, statutes, and regulations administered and enforced by the agencies; statistics and data, including Bureau of Labor Statistics and OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) data; America's Job Bank; and current press releases.

The U.S. Government’s official Web site for current job openings and information on how to apply for federal jobs including an online application.

Test booklets include Administrative Supervision and Supervision II, Arithmetic Reasoning, Educating and Interacting with the Public, How to Take an Oral Exam, Keyboarding Practices, and Improving Your Test-Taking Skills.

This list includes test guides for the caseworker series, entry level account/audit clerical series, entry level clerical series, entry level police officer, firefighter series, investigator series, public health technician, and more.

The New York State Governor's Office of Employee Relations lists many employee programs including career mobility, dependent care, health benefits, and more. A link to StateJobsNY provides postings of civil service jobs available for state employees.

A searchable site which includes listings of employers, New York companies, government jobs, and additional information of interest to job seekers (housing, newspapers, colleges, and more).

Provides information on jobs in New York State government including opportunities, salaries, titles, and civil service examinations. Also contains listings of current openings in government throughout the state, various employment programs and benefits, as well as applications for examinations. State test guides are available online, as are local examination test guides.

Provides information about employment opportunities at DOH throughout the state available to the general public. DOH job announcements list minimum qualifications, salary range, location, and filing deadlines for positions to be filled.

Includes New York’s Job Bank and links to many other job listings sites in the state. This site also contains facts and figures on employment and unemployment rates and wages, unemployment insurance information for employers and employees, and information on health and safety laws affecting employers and employees.

The State Recruitment Resources Center provides information for persons with disabilities and veterans who are looking for employment opportunities with New York State. A job seeker guide giving detailed information about the application process is included.