Internet Bibliographies

BEARFACTS consists of computer-generated narratives for states, counties, and metropolitan statistical areas. The narratives describe an area's personal income using current estimates, growth rates, and a breakdown of the sources of personal income.

Includes links to all censuses of Agriculture from 1840-2007. Current reports include state data, county data, Congressional district data, market value of ag products, and median farm size.

Census.data.gov is a platform to access data from the census. It includes the American Community Survey 1 and 5 year tables, Economic Census, decennial census, county business patterns, non-employer statistics, survey of business owners, and 113th Congressional district summary files. If you have difficulty connecting to the website, try the Explore Census Data advanced search.

This list is provided by the New York State Data Center and links to many of the affiliates throughout the state.

The Data Center provides downloadable and viewable files for population, migration and the current population survey, as well as economic and migration information for New York. Links are provided to PDF versions of the Census Bureau's publications which relate to New York.

This site includes scanned population statistics from the federal census from 1790-2000. Click on year to narrow the search results. For many years the decennial census will be issues one or two years after the census was taken.

The CUNY Center for Urban Research created this census resource which includes interactive maps showing block-level race/ethnicity patterns in 2000 and 2010 in major US cities. 15 major urban regions are mapped (Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco, and Washington D.C.). Block-level coverage for all of New York State, New Jersey and Connecticut is also available. Additional links lead to information from the New York Times, Long Island population change, redistricting implications, and more.

From the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research, the ICPSR maintains the world’s largest archive of digital social science data. More than 7,000 data collections are searchable by topic, series, geography, and investigator, and up to 500 new collections are added every year.

The Missouri Census Data Center offers this great census resource. Numerous census and demographic based search engines and reports are available for users to view.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

This New York State census resource is provided by Cornell University, and offers the latest information for the 2010 census. This data can be sorted by county and school district. This resource also provides census based reports and analysis.

This includes population of states and counties 1790-1990, population in coastal counties 1960-1980, population and housing counts 1790-1990, population of the 100 largest cities 1790-1990, and historical census statistics on the foreign-born population 1850-1990. Click on year to narrow the search results. For many years the decennial census will be issues one or two years after the census was taken.

Statistical Abstract data ranges from the Census Bureau's most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public.

Contains a wide variety of economic, population, agricultural, housing and other data. Many files are available in Adobe Acrobat format, including scanned decennial censuses.

By April 1, 2020, the U.S. Census Bureau will have sent out invitations to participate in the 2020 Census, in an effort to count every person living in the United States. The Division of Library Development's web page includes sites about complete count information; resources from the U.S. Census Bureau, ALA, and NYLA; publications and reports; promotional materials; webinars; resources for educators and partners; and information on newsletters and e-mail lists.