The Afro-American Newspaper Company of Baltimore's Web site which presents news from around the nation that is of interest to the African American community, as well as a virtual gallery of contemporary artists, an online community discussion, a Black History museum, and multicultural myths and fables for kids.
United Negro College Fund (UNCF) awards scholarship, internship, fellowship and institutional grants to support students at the undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels. This website also includes a directory of historically black colleges and universities in the United States.
Excellent resource on African American genealogy. Features an e-mail newsletter, genealogy news, book recommendations and links to Web sites on African American cemeteries and African-Native American genealogy.
From MedlinePlus, this website contains information about health issues affecting African Americans, including the latest news, videos, journal articles, and statistics. MedlinePlus is administered by the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine.
This Library of Congress exhibition, The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the Library's incomparable African American collections. The special presentation is not only a highlight of what is on view in this major history exhibition, but also is a glimpse into the Library's vast holdings of African American materials. Both include a wide array of important and rare books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.
For teachers, students and researchers, this website includes links to resources from the National Archives. Resources are organized by topic. Links to outside sources and bibliographies by other institutions, such as the Smithsonian and the Library of Congress, are also provided.
An online reference guide to African American history with an encyclopedia of people, places and events in African American history, Global African history and the history of African Americans in the West. There is a directory of historically black colleges and universities. Full text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 1700s to the present are also available. It is maintained by Quintard Taylor, the Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History at the University of Washington, Seattle.
From the Library of Congress American Memory Project with 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, by African American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
The National Park Service's Web site about its Underground Railroad project. Historic places and educational or interpretive programs associated with the Underground Railroad will become part of a network, eligible to use or display a uniform network logo, receive technical assistance and participate in program workshops.
One of the Research Libraries of the New York Public Library, the Schomburg Center promotes the study of the histories and cultures of people of African descent. This excellent resource includes a digital library of images of 19th century African Americans.
From Columbia College Chicago, this site provides information for researchers, teachers and students, including podcasts, bibliographies and music lists, job listings, and several albums available for free online streaming.