Internet Bibliographies

Prepared by a librarian at the University of Pittsburgh, this set of web pages allows viewers to see various personal stories of Native Americans from differing backgrounds. Separate pages exist for general Indian-oriented home pages; information on individual native nations; native organizations and urban Indian centers; tribal colleges, native studies programs, and Indian education; languages; the mascot issue; native media (organizations, journals, newspapers, radio and television, powwows and festivals); native music and arts organizations and individuals (singers, drums, artists, performers, celebrities, actors, actresses, storytellers, authors); and native businesses.

Elaine Cubbins of the University of Arizona has presented these techniques for evaluating American Indian web sites. There are links to sources of books and reference materials as clear explanations of the criteria used to compile these techniques.

This site is constructed primarily to provide information resources to the Native American community and only secondarily to the general community. It is part of the W3 consortium project. Topics covered include cultural resources, indigenous languages, history, archaeology, education, indigenous knowledge in the sciences, legal resources, health, non-profit organizations, art, museums, music, electronic texts by and about Native Americans, bibliographies of material relevant to Native Americans, film and video resources, organizations, activist sites, tribal gaming, Native American media, genealogy, government resources especially for Native Americans, commercial resources, home pages for Native Americans, announcements with Native American related content, job notices, resources for other nations on the Internet, movie stars, and miscellaneous.

Information on career and job opportunities with employers committed to workplace diversity.

This organization seeks to increase the number of tribal and individual American Indian businesses and to develop and expand an Indian private sector that employs Indian labor.

An organization that raises money to fund scholarships and build endowments for tribal colleges.

The tribal colleges have developed this organization in order to promote legislation, support the tribal colleges, and encourage American Indians to participate in higher education.

This organization has been in existence since 1969. Its board is made up of twelve (12) American Indian and Alaska Native individuals from all across the country. It deals with advocacy and legislative issues related to education.

This government organization is devoted to providing quality education opportunities for American Indian people from early childhood throughout life.

This society encourages both education and career development in the sciences for Native American and Latino students.

This website contains both scholarly and journalistic articles on subject areas of great importance to Native Americans.

These statistics are issued by the Bureau of Justice Statistics, which measures victimization, law enforcement, courts, corrections, the Criminal Justice Data Improvement Program, and related links and information experienced by American Indians.

This bureau provides information on education, federally recognized tribes, history, legislation, tourism, and other areas in which the federal government is involved. Frequently asked questions are answered on this site.

The FCC's website has information on tribal telecommunication initiatives including a newsletter, a brochure, booklet, and fact sheet.

This agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.

AISES provides resources for American Indian high school and higher education students with an interest in science and technology.

A list of the United States and Native American treaties and statutes of the United States which can be searched or browsed by century or tribe.

The Bancroft Library's companion to their exhibit of rare books, photographs, illustrations, and other archival and manuscript materials.

This website contains links to a variety of Native American literature available online.

The National Congress of American Indians is an organization which works for the security and protection of treaty and sovereign rights for American Indian and Alaska Native peoples.

With a collection spanning more than 10,000 years, the Smithsonian museum is dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, language, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans.

The University of Oklahoma Law Library and the National Indian Law Library provide online versions of tribal codes, constitutions, and other legal documents of Native American tribes.

Contains information and links for specific languages, preservation of specific languages, language family and regional sites, general Native American language sites, books, and endangered languages discussion.

This web site has resources for indigenous cultures around the world. Some of the database categories include art and literature, business and economy, genealogy, history, languages and linguistics, law and legal issues, libraries and collections, news and media, reference materials, and society and culture.

This site is dedicated to disconnecting the term "primitive" from perceptions of Native American technology and art through education. Original articles with graphics and photographs focus on the Eastern Woodlands. Some examples of topics include beadwork, clay and pottery, games and toys, stonework and tools, and weaving.

This is a national Native American youth leadership organization designed to help young people make positive differences in their tribes, villages and communities.

This is a local resource web site for the Mohawk-Akwesasne community of northern New York and the southern region of Quebec province, Canada.

Ganondagan is a historic site of a 17th century Seneca town.

This museum in Cobleskill, NY, provides information about Iroquois culture and history.

This web site provides information on tourism, business, history, and political structures of the Mohawks of Kahnawake.

This site contains a history of the Oneida nation and a description of the Oneida land claim.

This is a nonprofit organization based on Six Nations of the Grand River in Ontario, Canada that was established to help preserve and nurture the Iroquoian languages and songs.

The homepage of the Seneca Nation of Indians has information on their culture, history, genealogy, and reservations.

This web site provides history and current information on the Tyendinaga Mohawks who originally lived in the Mohawk Valley and who are now located in Ontario, Canada. This site is also the home of the First Nations Technical Institute, an education and training facility.