Internet Bibliographies

Governmental unit responsible for patents, trademarks and copyright in Canada. Searchable patent and trademark databases.

The search page allows free searching of EP (European), WIPO (World Intellectual Property Association), Japanese (PAJ) and "worldwide" patent documents. Provides full text images of the documents as PDF files. You can use Espacenet to search for older US patents by inventor name.

The official web site for the Japan Patent Office. It offers search tools for patents, designs, and trademarks.

Good starting place for basic information about trademarks. Information on how to apply for a trademark and downloadable trademark forms. Free searchable trademark database with images. Online design search code manual and "Acceptable Identification of Goods and Services Manual." Contact numbers to receive free trademark information packet.

Online version of magazine with articles written by successful inventors on such topics as marketing and business planning, avoiding scams, and trade shows. Links to inventor associations.

Recognized as a leader in self-help legal information, this site has detailed sections on steps to processing your own patent application.

An "organization for patent search professionals." Promotes improvement, retrieval, and dissemination of patent information. Education opportunities, discussion list, employment.

Good starting place for basic information about patents. Information on how to apply for a patent and downloadable patent forms. Free searchable patent full-text database with full-page images. Independent inventors' resources, patent assistance center, links to patent depository libraries, and kids' pages. Related Web sites and links to other countries' intellectual property offices.

Online information on steps to starting, financing and expanding your own business. Description of SBA programs reaching out to small, low income, and minority owned businesses, as well as local SBA offices. Links to their technology transfer program and procurement opportunities. "Great Business Hotlinks" to patent, trademark and copyright information.

Links to state trademark agencies throughout the country.

Registration form and instructions can be found at the NYS Department. of State, Division of Corporations.

Recognized as a leader in self-help legal information resources, has extensive information on trademark registration and conducting a trademark search.

Good starting place for basic information about trademarks. Information on how to apply for a trademark and downloadable trademark forms. Free searchable trademark database with images. Online design search code manual and "Acceptable Identification of Goods and Services Manual." Contact numbers to receive free trademark information packet.

This chart from the Legal Information Institute of Cornell University provides a clear outline of what type of published work received how long of a copyright period they have and when each work would enter the public domain.

The United States Copyright Office is part of the Library of Congress. It registers copyrights, and provides public education on copyrights.