Internet Bibliographies

The Andover, NY Public Library has digitized their local newspapers. The newspapers are listed by decade and cover 1869-1969. The website does not include a list of the digitized newspapers. If the link doesn't work, go to http://www.andoverfreelibrary.org and click on the link at the top of the page that says Newspaper Archive.

The Brooklyn Public Library has digitized the Brooklyn Daily Eagle from October 26, 1841 to 1955.

The Cazenovia Public Library has digitized many Madison and neighboring county newspapers including American Legion Scrapbook, the Cazenovia Republican, Chittenango Phenix, Free School Clarion, Observer and Recorder, Madison County Journal, Madison County Whig, Madison County Eagle, Madison Observer, Republican Monitor, Saratoga Register, and the Utica Standard. Dates covered include 1800-2013 (dates vary by title).

The Wisconsin Historical Society has digitized Freedom's Journal, the first African American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. The Journal was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829.

Indexes the Independent Republican from the 1830's to 1996.

This site includes the Bronxville Review (1909, 1916), Kingston Daily Freeman (1895, 1903-1912), Left of Center (1988-1992), Miscellany News (1914-2013), the Newburgh Telegraph (1831-1835, 1838-1839, 1841), the Rockland County Journal 1850-1900, the Rockland County Messenger (1848, 1851-1855, 1857-1868), Rockland County Times (1894; 1902-1904), Unscrewed (1976-1989), Vassar Miscellany Weekly (1872-1915), Vassar Chronicle (1944-1978), Vassar Spectator (1983-1993) and Womanspeak (1983-1992).

List of New York State newspapers, magazines and college newspapers. For each section, titles are listed by town

New York State Historical Newspapers provides indexed access to selected historical newspapers from Albany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Clinton, Delaware Erie, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Monroe, Nassau Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Putnam, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Schenectady, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wyoming, and Yates counties. Newspapers include the Adirondack Record-Elizabethtown Post (1917-1971), Clarkson Integrator (1920-2007), Essex County Republican (1844-1973), Glens Falls Republican ((1843-1905) , Lake Placid News (1914-2008), Malone Farmer (1900-1936), Plattsburgh Republican (1866-1931), Potsdam Courier-Freeman (1861-1989), Pulaski Democrat (1834-1990), Saranac Lake Adirondack Daily Enterprise (1948-2007), Ticonderoga Sentinel (1874-1950), Tupper Lake Free Press and Herald (1911-2005), The Watertown Herald (1886-1918), and many more.

This site identifies, describes, preserves, and makes available to researchers the significant newspapers in all communities in New York State since the first publication in 1725. It features information on NYS Newspaper Microfilm at the State Library and around New York State, a research guide, and more.

A general overview of the New York State Library newspaper subscriptions is provided here.

Type a word in the search box and you will be taken to a screen where you can search for articles back to 1851. Articles between 1923 and 1986 are available for a fee. These articles can be requested on interlibrary loan which is done through your local library.

Links to New York State newspapers.

This database includes historical newspapers from Albany, Amsterdam, Auburn, Baldwinsville, Binghamton, Boonville, Carthage, Cato, Catskill, Chatham, Clayton, Cooperstown, Elmira, Fulton, Ithaca, Kingston, Lyons, Moravia, New York City, Ogdensburg, Oswego, Richfield Springs, Rochester, Schenectady, Skaneateles, Sodus, Syracuse, Utica, Warwick, Watertown, and many more.

Links to New York State newspapers, in alphabetical order by title.

Searchable archive of the Syracuse Post Standard from 1809 to 2010.

Links to New York State newspapers.

The Rochester Newspaper Index is a project of the Rochester Public Library. The database consists of references to articles that appeared in the Rochester newspapers during the period 1818-1897. The indexing was done in two time periods: 1818 – 1850 and 1851 – 1897. The newspapers are the Liberal Advocate, Monroe Republican, Rochester Daily Advertiser, Rochester Daily Advertiser and Telegraph, Rochester Daily Democrat, Rochester Daily Sun, Rochester Daily Telegraph, Rochester Daily Union, Rochester Gem and Ladies Amulet, Rochester Observer, Rochester Republican, Rochester Telegraph, Working Man’s Advocate, and the Union and Advertiser.

The following Suffolk county newspapers have been digitized by the Southworth Library Association, Communicator, Dryden Echo, Dryden Herald, Dryden News, Dryden Weekly Herald, Dryden Weekly News, Groton Journal, Journal and Courier, Rumsey's Companion and Rural News. Dates covered are 1856-1867.

The following Suffolk county newspapers have been digitized: The Corrector 1822-1911 (Sag Harbor), The Long Island Traveler 1872-1898 (Cutchogue, Southold), The Long Islander 1839-1974 (Huntington), The Mid Island Mail 1935-1941 (Medford Station), The Patchogue Advance 1926-1948, The Port Jefferson Echo (1892-1931), Sag Harbor Express 1885-1898 and The South Side Signal 1869-1879 (Babylon).

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Search for text in articles, headlines, bylines, by U.S. region or Canada.

ABYZ News Links is an international directory of news media sources, including newspapers, TV, radio and magazines. Sources are organized geographically and described by media type, language and subject and there is an extensive list of New York News Media.

Highlights past, present and future newspaper digitization efforts, with links to international and U.S. collections.

From The Library of Congress, this site links to newspaper archives and indexes, mentioning their approximate dates and if full text articles are available. There are links to several international archives as well.

The Association of Alternative Newsmedia (AAN) is a group of 128 alternative news organizations covering every major metropolitan area and other less-populated regions of North America. The website is updated throughout the week with the latest news from these diverse sources.

Editor & Publisher covers all aspects of the newspaper industry, including business, newsroom, advertising, circulation, marketing, technology, online and syndicates. Non-subscribers can access online news, search the archives, sign up for newsletters and browse job listings.

New York News Publishers Association is a non-profit trade association representing the daily, weekly, and online newspapers of New York State. Its website includes information on the Newspapers in Education (NiE) project, in which school textbooks and teaching materials are supplemented with the use of the local newspaper. Free NiE materials (teaching guides, student study guides and more) and a free monthly electronic newsletter are available.

The Newspaper Association of American (NAA) is a non-profit organization representing more than 2,000 newspapers in the U.S. and Canada that focuses on the major issues affecting today’s newspaper industry. Online resources include newspaper usage studies, along with circulation, readership and advertising data.