Internet Bibliographies

Allows to search two databases for free: about 100,000 full text DoD specifications and standards available in the DoD master repository; 80,000+ digital document images in PDF format and related DoD databases including DSP standardization projects (SD-4), standardization points-of-contact (SD-1), Data Item Descriptions (DIDs), MilSpec Reform management data, and HAZMAT/ODC data (required to register). Also provides online shopping system with access to the complete collection of DoD specifications and standards indexed in ASSIST, managed by DoD Single Stock Point. Users may place orders for documents in either paper or CD-ROM formats.

ANSI is one of the largest standards organizations in the United States and the site links to many related documents and international standard organizations. The site includes membership information, many downloadable documents, and current news.

BSI is one of the largest international standard organizations. The site includes information on standards, catalogs, registration and assessment, and training and consultancy. It links to related documents.

This site searches a collection of more than one million documents from over 460 organizations worldwide. It is searchable by title, document number, nd category. Includes industry, government, military, U.S., international and national standards, specifications and publications.

This database searches worldwide standards and specifications, such as DIN, ISO, BSI, ASTM, NFPA, API, IEC, and ASME. It covers a range of engineering, technical and regulatory databases. Registration is needed. Once registered, searching is by title, number, version, contents, international equivalents and price of any standard from the industrial world.

This is a searchable index of records of federal specifications and standards by title, document number, and FSC. Several lists extracted from this index are available and can be searched by keywords/number.

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies from some 130 countries. The site includes information on standards and world trade, membership and service network, products and contracts, and ISO 9000 and 14000.

Portal for Material Safety Data Sheet Searches (MSDS).

The National Institute of Standards and Technology is an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technology Administration. The site includes information on standards and services, including standards reference materials and programs, and measurement and standards laboratories. The site links to NIST databases.

Online shop for standards, books, training, and software. Searchable by title, keyword/abstract, publisher, document number, author (for books), and ISBN (for books).

ASME conducts technical publishing operations, holds some 30 conferences and 200 professional development courses each year, and sets many industrial and manufacturing standards. The site provides information on codes and standards, conferences and exhibits, membership and benefits, and publications and products.

ASTM is one of the largest voluntary standards developers in the world. The site includes information on news, training courses, services and products, consultants directory, committees, and standards.

Portal for resources on firearms and forensic science including information on specifications and safety and recall. Links are categorized by firearms and ballistics; knives, swords, arms and armor; archery, arbalist, ballista; forensic sciences; associations in forensics; microscopy, imaging; useful links. The site provides information on conferences, meetings, and training.

Selected FAA standards handbooks are available in HTML or WorldView format. Links to FAA standards applicability databases, which contain descriptions of more than 5,000 FAA, military, and commercial standards and specifications used in existing FAA contracts and projects. Searchable by type (information security, internet, e-commerce), keyword, document number, standards body, category, and

The Institution of Electrical Engineers represents the public, professional and educational interest of over 140,000 electrical, electronic and manufacturing engineers world-wide. Activities include publishing, the organization of conferences, the maintenance of technical standards, interaction with government departments and the provision of scientific and technical information services. The site includes information on publishing and services, activities and membership, and consultants directory and conferences.

This database contains 25,000+ full text contracted technical reports on energy beginning January 1996. Topics include physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, and renewable energy. Searchable by title, author, bibliographic information (easy search) and by field and publication date (advanced search).

This dictionary searches more than 7,000 high-tech terms.

Searches information related to particular domains by individual name, company name, domain name, IP address, host or name server. This site also contains links to the forms for individuals or businesses to set up their own domain name.

Features a listing of hundreds of words that are rapidly evolving into the new vocabulary of the technology industry and the Web community.